Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riversprings Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 566 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

My child is in the 6th grade at Riversprings. The curriculum at the school really seems to be more challenging than nearby counties. My child has really learned a lot this year and has learned more responsibility and the importance of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Not at all happy with this school. They seem to be under the impression that they own the student's, and have every right to but their nose's into every aspect of your life. The teacher's are horrible, lazy, and are not willing to go the extra mile if a student is struggling. My child (8th) grade, was told that he "owe's them" passing grades, that he will not amount to anything in the future but a McDonalds crew member. Evidently, this school and the faculty have never heard of No child left behind. He has asked for help understanding certain areas, and been refused on several lessons. On the rare times they decide to return a phone call, they do so with an attitude! I can not wait until my son leaves this poor exscuse of a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

River Springs Middle School Our grandson is scheduled to start this fall (2013). We are excited to see his educational growth and are looking forward to a positive environment ay RSMS.


Posted July 12, 2013

I am a student at this school and I love it here. All of the teachers at River Springs try their best to help students learn and understand what they are teaching. If a student or group of students doesn't understand something that is being taught the teachers will try several different techniques of teaching until it is finally understood. If a student still needs extra help there are opportunities for after school tutoring ,which believe me really helps. All of the teachers that I have met so far are very nice though some are a bit stricter than others. During class you are always allowed to take notes which can be used to study for tests and exams which in most cases helps a lot. My over all favorite part of this school though is how they always have different fun activities like dances and field days at different parts of the year that allow us to socialize with different people in our grade level.


Posted December 10, 2012

I had a sixth grader here and all I have seen so far is a disappointment. Lack of communication from teachers and principal. In fact calls are not returned for days and I hear the same from other parents. A lack of leadership from Mr. Walker. This school provides no assistance with transition or normal problems. Thankfully we have not had any serious problems but I fear how this lackluster administration would handle them. Also this is the first school I have ever dealt with that does not want parents to come to the school and will not allow you in to the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I have a 6th grader and am a little disappointed, ant fields all over the football practice field, no updates by email or on the board of half days or open house. Some parents got invites while others don't. Seperate kids by teams and most of the coaches don't take 6th graders from a 'different' team. Seems like a lot of laziness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

This school faculty and staff are nice and will help you with pretty much anything. The school is very well kept and very clean. Being a student there I feel really lucky and wouldn't want to go to another school. Every student that attends this school pretty much feels the same way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

This is a great school. The Principal and his staff are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

I'm sorry, but I can't give this school a glowing report. I am the parent of a disabled child and I have not found either this school, or the district, genuinely cooperative in helping my child. I/we, have had to struggle hard for acceptance; compassion and understanding have been hard things to find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

Great teachers, and administration.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

I am a 7th grader at this school and I like the people...
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

Im a student going into 7th grade at this school my 6th grade year was awsome.Every one in the school works so hard to help us do the best we can
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2007

My son has spent his six grade year here so far and really enjoys the Riversprings academic program! All his teachers have been tremendous and respond to any concerns promptly. Thank you Ms. Weber, Ms. Lassiter and Ms. Ahrandt for all your support and hard work! Have a nice rest this summer, you deserve it! My only gripe is that I don't like how the soccer choices were made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

The academic programs that I've experienced through my sons 6 th grade program are excellent! My son has an opportunity to participate in a music and sports program. I am very happy with his experience so far. The level of parent involvement is open and parents are welcome to visit and meet the principal for any concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

This school is fun and entertaining for children-it has nice teachers with effective teaching methods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

Riversprings Middle School is a great enviroment. Students feel welcome and free to ask teachers about any problem they have. The Homework Hotline is very helpful to many students when they need there homework assigments. This is a A average school acording to the FCAT Grading Scale. I must commend the faculty and staff for keeping this up. Also to thank the students and staff for keeping this school clean and organized. Keep up the good work! Also remember there is no limit to what you can do, and go bears!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2003

Congratulations to Mrs. Leimer and the Riversprings Band for making a difference and making it to the Symphonic Band Disney Performance At the Magic Kingdom in May. As a parent I am so proud of my child along with all the other children and Mrs. Leimer for such an accomplishment. Under the direction of Mrs. Leimer the children have truly gotten to experience things never offered to them before and are really growing as talented individuals. Thank you Mrs. Leimer for making a difference in the Riversprings Middle School Band. Thank you Mr. Walker for hiring such a terrific band director!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2003

I feel like that the teachers who work at Riversprings Middle School are there because they truely care about the students. They not only see who the children are today but, they see what each child is capable of becoming and they offer all the encouragement that they can. All of the teachers are easy to work with and really make you feel like you are needed as the parent in everything that concerns your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2003

Riverspring is a school of encouragement for each student to want to achieve. The teachers want the student to succeed and go the extra mile to see that it happens.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

193 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Black 10%
Hispanic 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%71%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Spring Creek Highway
Crawfordville, FL 32327
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 926-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wakulla Christian School
Crawfordville, FL


Wakulla Virtual Franchise
Crawfordville, FL



Wakulla Middle School
Crawfordville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT