Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Davidson Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 919 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 10, 2012

This school had the best years of my life! The staff and students are awesome and welcoming!There are many activities for students to get involved in. The teachers are really there for their students! Parents and students i recommend this school!


Posted December 17, 2011

My son & daughter both attended Davidson, both loved it! The teachers are awesome, they really care about their students! The staff is good, too, but the students are the best! We ran a stuffed animal/teddy bear drive this year, & my daughter asked the students to bring-in donations for the 52 terminally ill children @ Sacred Heart in Pensacola, within 5 school days, the teachers/staff/students had brought-in/donated over 200 new teddies! After we picked-them-up, we witnessed several more students putting together boxes of food to feed the less fortunate in our area for Christmas...simply amazing! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Its a good school and Ive had such a fun time here. The only thing is that some of the people that work in the office a really grumpy and disrespectful. Also during lunch I only have five minutes to eat sometimes, and the teachers running the lunch consantly yell at kids, even when they are not doing aything!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2009

I love Davidson. Im about to enter my eighth grade year and just have to say that the school is amazing. The teachers are great, the students stay out of trouble (well, as much as you can expect), and its just all around a very nice school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2009

When I first moved to Florida, I had to go to Lewis Middle School. I soon then had to move to Crestview and attend Davidson. When it was my first day, I just fell in love with that school! Everything is so organized and clean and everyone is so kind and respectful! It's a very great school to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2007

This is my first year at Davidson. I had recently moved school systems, and I was overwelmed with worries such as what the teachers and students would be like there. After my first day, however, all of those worries drifted away. Everything there is great, the students, the teachers, everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2007

My daughter attended Davidson in 6th & 7th grade and has loved every minute of it. The school is very encouraging to kids and has great teachers. There is good communication with teachers if you want it and some will send lesson plans weekly if you sign up. Of course the continuous access to on line grades which are always up to date is great. Several classes offer after school tuition if you wish to attend. The music dept is great, many extracurricular activities offered and after school instrument tuition is offered. Band director is wonderful. This school has completely boosted my daughters self confidence and helped her to develop into a well rounded student. My only regret is having to leave before she attended 8th grade. Keep up the great work Davidson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2006

i love davidson ihave been going there 6th-8th and im in my 8th grade year now i love it! i cant wait till high school but i will miss davidson so much i love most the teachers there but some i dont like, but youll get that at every school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2006

I was impressed with the school at first look. I think most of the teachers are wonderful. Simple solutions seem to be overlooked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

I think that this is a great school! I have been going to this school for 1 1/2 years and I have already learned so much. Please keep this school running, because I really don't want to go to Richbourg.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2006

I loved being at Davidson, it was a great experience. Although I moved before being able to finish my 8th grade year I was there since 6th grade. The teachers are wonderful, the principle was very understanding, and the students were very nice! I wish I could've finished my schooling there, I miss everybody! Davidsom is an A+ school and hopefully it will remain that way for years to come. And maybe Mr. Holstead wont have to deal with too many 'huligans' as much as he did when I was there. Good luck!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 28, 2006

Outstanding teachers - highly dedicated. Willing to do what it takes to help a kid learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

An outstanding school! Teachers genuinely care and are willing to do what it takes to help students. Students not beaten to death with FCAT prep and threats/warnings about FCAT failure. Only drawback is discipline - sporadic, not equally applied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

Quality academic programs; a lot of activities for students to be involved in; great parent involvement and support
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 24, 2004

Awesome schhol. The teachers really care about the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The majority of my child's teachers were very warm and nurturing. Unfortunatly for the good teachers people tend to only speak out about the bad teachers. In three years, my child had one or two teachers who missed their calling, but the rest of them were great. The only complaint my daughter had was the rules that were not enforced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2003

My child went to Davidson for 6th - 8th grade and had a wonderful learning experience there. The teachers were caring and helpful to my child. I would highly recommend the school to any child or parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2003

My child needed additional assistance on FCAT Math. He was assigned to stay after school on a certain day of the week. The first week, he sat outside the door of the specified room the whole hour until his grandmother came to pick him up. No one questioned why he was there. When I went in the next morning and asked about it, I was told the day had been changed to another day. The next week, he went to the specified room on the that day. His name was not on 'the list' so he was sent to a detention classroom for the duration of his time on that day. Needless to say, I prepared for FCAT after work each day-not the faculty at Davidson. I did not see any individualized attention in any way except for his math teacher, who announced to his class that they scored so low on last year's FCAT, they were likely to fail this year. She beat them over the head with this a few times during the year. It helped to keep their confidence levels high! Even though I attempted to build him up, nothing I could say could make him forget the hurtful words of his teacher.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

305 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

305 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

254 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

291 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 75%
Black 11%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 40%57%61%
Master's degree 56%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. ELIZABETH WALTHALL
Fax number
  • (850) 683-7523

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6261 Old Bethel Road
Crestview, FL 32536
Phone: (850) 683-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Richbourg School
Crestview, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT