Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cutler Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 768 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, July 21, 2014

Many parents are unhappy with what is going on in the school and what are the principal and her staff are willing to do if you complain. Parent if you go to other parent complaining of what happens to your children in the class or school. You'll get tagged as a madman without a doubt. Some teachers, some members of the staff and the Principal will take it out on your children. if you stay silent, then you are violating your own conscience. By leaving true full review you will take this poorly school to light. One review makes the difference . A person make a difference, that person is you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2014

Ms. Wright has a lot to learn, and she could start by listening to the parents. We want teacher, not bullies, that the principal protects. Its hit and miss with the staff. There is no transparency in the staff and its operations. Ms. wright lacks follow through when addressing parent concerns, and does a great job of protecting herself and her staff. The gate is usually left open inn a certain location, so anyone can walk right into the school! Ask for a transfer if this is your child's school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2014

Parent don't be tempted by the reviews. Some teachers and staff are excellent and they work very hard but some are very mean, unorganized.....but the principal protect them. stop discrimination Thank you and pick the right school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

Cutler Ridge has it right- teach core subjects in a fun and interesting manner and they will learn;) my child took her 3rd grade FCAT and got 100% as a result of preparation by her teacher and principal- I am impressed and very thankful...Mrs. Wright is doing it right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

This school is incredible i would go back there but since i am moving on to 6th grade i cannot. The teachers know what they are teaching and know it well.There is only one bad teacher that i have experienced but besides that you can trust that school to take care of your child and get him/her ready for the following year. The staff is amazing and very friendly with students. In mhy opinion the school is rated 5 out of 5 stars. I am a former student going to Herbert A. Ammons MS and I know that the teachers that i had taught me well. Thank YOU. i am a student trust this review.


Posted July 29, 2013

Cutler ridge school is great but from what I have seen and heard and experienced is that there are to many bullies even though you are not sosomebodys friend doesn't mean you have to be mean to them or bully them I know from experience believe it or not most of you may know me its me everybody Amanda O'Connor yes I have been bullied from being the teachers pet and being perfect but that is not true just because someone does something right doesn't mean that they are perfect is nobody is thank you for looking at my post


Posted January 14, 2013

This is my daughter's first year at CRE and from the principal to the after care teacher's it was well worth an out of area transfer. This elementary school has one of the only full day gifted programs even close to where we live. Curriculum outstanding! Gifted teachers amazing! Aftercare safe and fun- the best of all worlds...I only wish we left private school sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

As a former student, I thoroughly enjoyed my seven years spent at Cutler Ridge Elementary. I spent my Pre-K through 5th grade years at Cutler Ridge, and felt that each year was even better than the last. The teachers are engaging and make it easy for students to want to learn. I was in both regular classes (Up until 3rd) and then moved to Gifted during the last two years. Now, as I am nearing high school( I am currently in grade 8), I am finding myself wanting to go back and see my former teachers as well as the After School Care staff as well. I made so many friends with the teachers and staff. I give the school a 5 out of 5.


Posted March 8, 2012

To the latest posting. Your use of grammar leads me to believe that whoever you talked to was correct. You are a dummy. Maybe you should attend the classes along with your child.


Posted April 19, 2011

OH""" HORRIBLE,,,HORRIBLE CUSTOMER ATTENTION,,,JUST CALLED TO ASK FOR SOME INFORMATION RELATING TO REGISTER MY CHILD ON THAT SCHOOL,,,AND THE PERSON MAY ME FEEL LIKE A DUMMY,,CERTANTLY THAT PERSON SHOULD NOT BE WORKING THERE..


Posted May 2, 2010

This school is very dedicated to the students and keeps parents informed at all times.


Posted April 30, 2010

Is one great school and my grandson's teacher is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I was completely thrilled with my daughters teacher in k. She was a great teacher that I know excelled my child to a new level for the upcoming year. I could not be more happy with cutler ridge elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

I am satisfied with the overall education my child received in Pre-K. I am not happy with the communication the school has with its parents. Many of the activities that my child or I could have participated in were not communicated to me in time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Cutler Ridge Elementary has the best group of Gifted teachers. They are creative, professional, and caring individuals. They enrich the lives of the students in their classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

This is a great school,the academic programs are awesome. The only problem is they only have one gifted teacher per grade level and unfortunetly if your child or you are to have a problem with the teacher,your both stuck or left with no choice but, to transfer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

Cutler Ridge Elementary is a good school. It is in a great area and the teachers give close attention. The grades are average and could improve a little. They also have alot of activites for the child to join. All in all I would rate the school a C+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

speaking on the fourth grade... the teachers are great, really take their personal time with the kids and care about learning... very easy to contact/speak with
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

This is a awesome school! Great teachers that really care and in a great neighborhood. This school has been an A school many times. Best in area! Also has a great program for kids with learning disablities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

It's a great school with lots of activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

143 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 62%
Black 20%
White 13%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. ADRIENNE L WRIGHT-MULLINGS
Fax number
  • (305) 232-6740

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20210 Coral Sea Road
Cutler Bay, FL 33189
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 235-4611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Bee Academy
Miami, FL


The Bee Academy
Miami, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT