Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Antonio Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 672 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2014

My son attended SAES this past year and I was extremely satisfied with his teacher, all of the staff, and especially the principal. Everyone I met at this school was genuinely friendly. I was so pleased with his education this year and am looking forward to another great year! I highly recommend SAES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2014

My granddaughter attends this school unfortunately. She attended kindergarten and just completed 2nd grade. The teaching staff in both grades is lacking. There is no parent/teacher communication and tests and quizzes are given irratically.. The children are told they will have a test or spelling bee on Thursday to find out that no test ever comes. This happens weekly. They do however stress the children out when comes time for the state testing. My granddaughter spent a week in tears every day because her teacher told her if she didn't do well on this test, she would not advance to 3rd grade. Shame on them. I might also add, a little organization prior, would keep these students on task and learning at an advanced level of expectation. In summary: Organization, communication, testing, etc. would make this a better experience for my granddaughter and her mother.


Posted April 2, 2014

My school does'nt leave any child behind. The staff and teachers come together to meet and see how or what they can do to improve childs progress. I feel proud to say my children go to San Antonio elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

San Antonio Elementary School, in my opinion, is the best elementary school in the area. My great grandchildren love attending there. The teachers are able to bring the best out in the students without causing stress. The students want to learn and achieve. The atmosphere is relaxed yet disciplined. Students know what is expected of them and they rise to those expectations. The teachers and the principal are approachable and happily will work with the parents and the students to solve any problems that may arise. Parent participation is very high for any event. The educational standards are exceptional. I would recommend SAES to any parent who is looking for a school that is able to fulfill the goals of a quality education for all of the students that attend.


Posted April 9, 2011

I am a former student of this school. This school has to be the best elementary school in Pasco County. I attended from Pre K through 5th, Excluding 4th grade. At that time I was pulled out to try out the "new and promising" Academy at The Farm. My parents were were so displeased by it that they moved me back to San Ann for 5th because of it's high expectations for students. This school has an outstanding education program that challenges the students to be the best they can be. I attend Pasco High School along with about 80% of the San Antonio 5th grade class of 2004-2005. Of those SAES students I still attend school with, about 75% of them are enrolled in Honors, AP, and Dual Enrollment classes. It is because of the high quality education provided at San Ann that so many of us have been able to excel and be outstanding students. Without SAES, many of us would not make the Honor Roll EVERY SINGLE quarter and receive Academic Scholar Awards EVERY SINGLE YEAR. This is Pasco County elementary education- better yet Florida education- at its absolute finest!


Posted April 12, 2010

I agree with the other negative reviewer regarding Principal leadership. I would also add the Vice Principal in lacking leadership skills. The administration needs to improve relations with students and parents. This is a common complaint among several parents of children at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

As an employee of the school and a former student, I have experienced both sides of the story. San Antonio Elementary is the best elementary school in Pasco County hands down. The only reason parents may feel like the communication is lacking would be because they make no effort to communicate. They think that all they have to do is sit around and everything thing will be done for them. Our leadership is amazing. We have a wonderful administrative staff, an excellent teachers, and the rest of our staff is terrific. Everyday we have people wanting to transfer to San Ann because it is such a great school. If there are any parents that have problems with this school, they should ask themselves what they aren't doing rather than what we aren't doing. I love San Antonio Elementary School and hope to have my kids going there one day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

Principal leadership is lacking. Little to no communication exists between the office and parents pertaining to important issues concerning our children. The website is rarely updated, no hardcopies go out and no phone calls are made unless initiated by the county. Outside of controlling where parents can and can not park, it would appear there is very little leadership qualities. The teachers and staff seem to be above average, showing concern for the children, yet one has to question the curriculum. Regardless of the quality of the teachers, they can only excel to a certain point if the leadership is limited. If this school should have a $7,000,000 budget, why are parents always asked for more money? If it were a private school, those children would have the best education in the country. The lack of effeciency and abundance of waste is neverending -
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

San Antonio Elementary provides a quality education for my child. It is evident that the administrators, faculty and staff genuinely care about each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 29%
Black 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%63%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32416 Darby Road
Dade City, FL 33525
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 524-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Academy At The Farm
Dade City, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT