Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy At The Farm

Charter | K-8 | 419 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 11, 2011

I have decided to pull my children out of this school after being there over 3 years. It has been declining since the start. If you are not part of the "family" run facility then you and your children are dirt. The focus has shifted from the children to money. Every week they are asking for money for something. If I had money I would have sent them to a private school. They lie about placing your children academically where they belong and hold them back in some way. I am not the only parent who feels that way. Example there were split grade levels a few years ago..example 5/6 grade. So the children in 5th grade who were advanced learned from the 6th grade books. The next year those same students got the "joy" of learning everything again from the SAME books. They were supposed to take out those students and give them more to do, individual instruction, etc. But NEVER DID. And then there is what they did with academically with my disabled child...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

Inefficien, bias, and unsatisfactory. I am not happy with this school. I went to this school for two years and was pulled out because it was so bad. Every single person that I know who attended AATF says it was a horrible school. Everyone hated it. You don't just need to listen to the parents, actually listen to the students who went there and had to experience it. I would not be able to have excelled the way I now do in school if I had not been pulled out. The teachers are inconsiderate as well. One of my teachers (math) used the word "stupid" to describe me to my parents, in front of me! What a coincidence that I entered 7th grade and skipping grade level math and moving to 8th grade math. I am now a high school student in Honors and AP classes, as well as a recipient of the Academic Scholars Award. Because of AATF? I think not. Only because I was pulled out.


Posted April 13, 2010

The Academy has great teachers who keep the children the priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Their attentiveness to the children and thier success is bar none. They delivered for my child far beyond my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Our grandchildren attend the Academy. We feel, along with their parents, that they are getting a quality education.


Posted October 21, 2009

Academy at the Farm supports children with learning disabilities and children with autism. The teachers and support staff invest hours beyond their normal work day, including weekends, to prepare lesson plans and an environment that is conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

great school and great kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Best school in the nation!!! Fully qualified teachers that instill great values in our kids! A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

The Academy fosters not only great academic ethics it also teaches the students to treat everyonewith kindness. The special needs students are always treated with great respect and love by the staff and student body. Even after students move on to high school, that continues to be present.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

They are very involved with the communities that they serve. In addition, it's all about the students. Everyone working there is committed to excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Academy at the Farm is more than just a school, it is a way of life. We are an inclusive school where ESE students are mainstreamed into every classroom- from kindergarten through middle school. Academy at the Farm is one big family where no child is left behind or made to feel 'different'. Each and every child is given the opportunity to do their best and praised each step of the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Why do you love Academy at the Farm? We know several children in school receiving a good education at the Farm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Students are allowed to progress in areas that they excel in while still staying with their age group. For example a 2nd grade student attending 3rd grade math glass.


Posted October 19, 2009

We love Academy at the Farm for their excellence in education standards, the caring teachers and staff who work very hard to ensure our childrens education and safety are top priority. The devotion and energy is beyond the standards of even the most elite schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

It is so close knit, it's like a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

All of the teachers and staff do an excellent job with the children. Dr. Rom (the principal) sets an amazing example as the leader of the school. You can see that hey truly cares about each and every child. I looked at tons of schools before I decided on Academy at the Farm, and I am very pleased with my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

They provide an outstanding education to future leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Our kids are enjoying every aspect of their educational experience at Academy at the Farm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

AATF is a small charter school with around 400 students set in a wonderful natural setting where the students come first. The teachers are more than dedicated. My family feels truly blessed that our child is able to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

What a tremendous school where the Director, teachers & faculty do more than teacher...they put the children & their education above all else & make daily sacrifices to ensure the very best for our kids... We couldn't ask for a better learning & life experience for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 83%
Hispanic 11%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 46%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/AN/A
Female 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 86%63%61%
Master's degree 14%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9500 Alex Lange Way
Dade City, FL 33525
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 588-9737

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT