Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nova High School

Public | 9-12 | 2148 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

my son went to nova first thru 12 and the teachers were awesome all thru his whole school but the higher he got the worse decipline my child received. The administration in high school was good but when they get to 12 they just send them thru, I believe its just to get the money for the school. The higher admin has no concern for the parents and definayely not symothic to issues. Ms Erie is #1 in the admin and believe she needs to be higher authority because she is always there to help when a problem occurs. I would say this school is over rated by all means. They look out for themselves and not the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

My two kids attended nova. The first one did O.k. but the few classes that were no honors or A.P. teachers were terrible. The youngest one is tired and disappointed in the school. Principal seems more worry about discipline than anything else and school grades and ranking have been dropping during the last five years.... Cannot wait until the end of the school year to take my child out of that school. Social environment is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this school... It seems they only want to cater to tthose students who are taking Honors or AP classes and the rest are left to their luck. My son went to that school for the first year, last year and he used to tell me, ,mom, Nova is not what you think it is. The kids are disrespectful, they don't listen to the teachers, they are rude and loud in the corridors, they don't even know the subjects well he was shocked it is an A school and I have come to realize they are separated by classes and ranks, and if you take only regular classes MOST not ALL of the teachers really don't take the time to communicate with the parents. I had many emails not answered and this was usually from one of the worse classes he had where the students were the worse, Algebra I, which leads me to believe that which I stated before,,, tthey probably discriminate against a regular student vs an advanced student and that is wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Nova. Still remains the top public school in the county. With programs for the top kids like debate, and athletics and pullout tutoring, Nova is full of opportunities for kids if parents take advantage.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2010

My kids go there and the staff and teachers are caring and great!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

My children's names were the last on the 'list', this is before the lottery began. They are going to graduate this year and I know that the Nova diploma means everything to them. They realize that Nova brings value to that diploma.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

It's not a bad school, but it's not what it's cracked up to be. I had two children attend this school. During those years, I found two things to be unacceptable: - One daughter skipped classes, I found out after she graduated. Never did I get a phone call regarding this. I would have wanted to know about this behavior and it would have been stopped. - At one point, my other daughter needed to drop an A.P. class, as she was way overloaded. The counselors and teacher did not want her to do so and were rather vocal about it ('Come on, my daughter takes five A.P.'s' said one to her when I was in the room.) I had to pull parent rank and say, 'Look, I trust my kid. If she says she's overloaded, I believe her.' I didn't like my child being browbeaten for selfish reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

Nova High School certainly lacks in teacher assistance. The students have so much expected of them. Being a single mother, I am at home and able to assist my son with the loads of pointless projects. I recieve no returned e-mails or phone calls from any of the teachers. Overall, I am extremely dissatisfied as this school brings shame to the the state of Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

As a mother, I was thoroughly disappointed in this school as a whole. My daughter, who although excelled, had to put forth more effort than was needed, thanks to the lack of help, or should I say no help from the teachers. Also, their debate team does not seem to mind taking all the extra 'advantages', yet still loses to Pine View, where all my children now go, and have a wonderful learning and cultural experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

I am a Former Nova Parent...last child grduated last year. Both of our children are in college and doing very well. They were well prepared and the quality of education was great, but like anything else your child has to be willing to work hard to get he most out of it. Nova's AP classes really prepare kids for the colege work load.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

Im a junior in nova high school class of 10 yes we done it and with help of our principal john lacasse and ms erie.. Nova is the best school in broward and the oonly issue at nova is that the luch we should be allowed to eat off campus weve earned this oppurtinity being a 4year a school and ranked in the top 200 in the nation as well allow us as students the right to use cell phones in lunch.. Im happy to say i attend nova high school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

As a graduate of the Nova Schools, as well as a parent of two graduates of Nova, I couldn't be more pleased with the quality of education we all received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

This is a wonderful school for kids that want a good edgucation. It's an 'A' school for the past 5 years
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

This School is very cool to be at and It is very clan and educational.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2008

Nova is like any other school. They focus on the Fcat and have a way of teaching us students to do our best. That if we would like to succeed we must do our best and try hard!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2008

Nova High School has a good range of sports and clubs for students. The only downside would be the large class sizes. Because of the fact that the High School and Middle School are one big structure and are connected, there is always a large number of students at all times which keeps some students from getting the attention or discipline they need. There is also often a shortage of lockers and books which results in students carrying books back and forth everyday. It is true that the administration can be overbearing and suspends the wrong students while not suspending the ones that are actually doing the wrong things, but the opportunities to join extracurricular activities is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

I would like to get my daughter in your high school, she attended summer and fall science courses at Nova elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

I am a former student. I attended Nova from elementary school and graduated in 2005. I am now a junior in college. I believe Nova did prepare me academically for higher education. I took 5 AP classes there, which were all challenging and prepared me for college material. I loved the school because it started later in the day and the diversity allowed me to gain life long friends from all backgrounds. I was not a trouble maker, I was a honor student with good grades. However, on rare ocassions I was punished, due to Nova's unfair administration.


Posted November 17, 2007

i have attended nova all my life and i have am extremly happy with the education i have recived. Nova is a well rounded and diverse school which prideds its slef on being an A school for the past 3 years. Nova is a very safe school as well, we rarley have any fights or problem and i always feel safe. Nova High is a great school and alot of fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2007

I've attended Nova for all four of my high school years and graduated in the class of 2007. With that being said I feel I know Nova, the students and staff, and I feel that Nova is a great place for your child to attend as long as they stay out of trouble. The administration has a very heavy hand and in most situations they will hear both sides but there minds will already be made up about how your child will be disciplined. Some of there methods to get students to class such as hallsweeps (When the tardy bell rings if you're in the halls you receive a Saturday detention regardless of the reason)are a bit extreme but at the same time I was always running to my class and you believe me when I say I was almost always on time. So in all great school hard administration.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

506 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

558 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

561 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

542 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

580 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

469 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 46%
White 24%
Hispanic 22%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 95%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%53%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN R LACASSE
Fax number
  • (754) 323-1780

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3600 College Avenue
Davie, FL 33314
Phone: (754) 323-1650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ncc Academy
Davie, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT