Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,150 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nova High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
The teachers my daughter has encountered are either way to picky about homework and care about what is written how its written, the condition of the paper its written on, The writing utensil used and ect rather that the actual work. Or they don't give homework very much and don't explain lessons well. But one or two of them are good teachers for example the AP human teacher is very good

Nova High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
No complains on homework. they give enough not to much not to little for homework a good amount.


Nova High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
they refuse to take u out of a class while out are in it that you feel you cant handle and if it ruins ur GPA ur problem.

Nova High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
The school forces student to respect authority to the point that they might fear it.

Nova High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
the school does not care about students if you are in AP classes and you can not handle it they will not remove you. They care about the money they get from the state, and they enjoy there horrible methods of getting children in trouble in my opinion


Nova High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
The school is not fair to any of its students, and treats the honers students better than the rest. The school also according to paraphrase the principle at the new to nova student parents assembly in 2015 " The parents are the advocates for their children, and what the kids complain about does not matter the word of a teacher taken over that of a student"

Nova High School 1

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
this school is horrible if one child in one grade misbehaves the whole school gets punished, this year during lunch there was a food fight in the outside lunching area the school decided that everyone was going to sit in the cafeteria over 600 students squished together like sardines in a can. The children were so squished that they could barely finish their lunches. they then threatened to force the students to stay in this horrible position for over a month and human beings can only survive without food for 40 days about. On top of that they would not let students out of the cafeteria not for a bathroom break, or anything else. My Daughter's friend has braces and after lunch her orthodontist said she must brush her teeth, when she asked the lunch monitor if she could he said no, not until the last 5 minutes when they let everyone out of the lunch room. They then implemented hall sweeps after these treacherous lunches. If u are not acquainted with the term its when u have a certain amount of time to get to class and if u don't make it you get a Saturday detention. At Nova they enforce cruel punishment on students that behave relatively better that students at other high schools. Not to mention the teachers at other schools according to my daughter helped her understand everything better than at nova, the only difference between nova and other schools are that it has more electives, and AP classes.

Nova High School 3

Posted November 29, 2015
- a community member
At the beginning I was very happy for my kids to attend nova. I had heard so many great things from other people. All the elementary at Eisenhower, it was great but when she reached 6th grade, it was totally different. I feel like my child is attending a regular public school. This is my first time ever having a problem with a teacher. Her teacher spoke to me on the phone and practically told me how to email her,what not to say ,and when to say it. This teacher was so rude that I had to call a conference. Even after the conference and during the teacher was very rude. She requested for a quiet ,Intelligent student to be removed out of her class. I felt so hurt by nova and their administration. My daughter is only in 6th grade and this is the start she receives from a supposed to be great school. I felt they accommodated the teacher and not the student or parent. I have never experienced this before. They eventually removed my daughter because the teacher asked to another class. I can't believe this school. I am very disappointed in Nova Middle school.


Nova High School 1

Posted September 11, 2015
- a community member
A school littered with simple minded and out of touch bone heads, with the one thought of becoming wannabe sport stars. This school is nothing more than a recycled wasteland and is ready to fall apart all of the way through to it's core. This school looks like the after math of a Bubonic plague that hit the side of a dump truck. I had to self-teach myself all of my past subjects, because no one knew how to behave and this would always disrupt my learning experience from this supposedly sophisticated school. The classroom would turn into the zoo of all animals with down syndrome and everyone I saw around me, except the ones that actually cared could fit into every category that of a zoo animal. Take it from me I have been through the nova system for 10 years now and nothing will ever change, if you send your child here or you want to attend this school DO NOT it will be the biggest mistake you will ever make.

Nova High School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has attended Nova since kindergarten and is starting her junior year. She has had teachers that have made a lifelong impact and others we wish to forget. Her NJROTC and Engineering instructors are excellent and her core teachers which are a mix of regular, honors & A/P for the most part have all been stellar. My concerns are taken seriously by her guidance counselor & A/P & I make sure to attend the SAC meetings and am a part of the booster clubs to support my child and be involved. I have no complaints and my children < I also have a freshman> are much better off at Nova than they would be at my neighborhood high school.

Nearby schools

Nova High School
3600 College Avenue, Davie, FL  33314
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. (754) 323-1650
Last modified Nova High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top