Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nova Blanche Forman Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 769 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

My daughter just graduated from 1st Grade, she was in Mrs. Stewart class. This teacher is amazing! I wish there were more teachers like her in this world. She is genuine, very attentive to the kids and their needs. Mrs. Stewart is very honest and will always keep in touch with the parents on your child's progress. I learned Mrs. Stewart is very well received by her past pupils and current ones. Kids are constantly giving her a hug and say hello to her. I wish my child could have Mrs. Stewart every year :). Thank you to teachers like her for making learning fun and comforting to the parents to know their child is getting a good education. Principal McCanna is excellent, he is very friendly and cordial. Thank you Nova Blanche!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

Nova Blanche is an excellent school. Great Principal, teachers, staff and excellent aftercare. I am blessed to have my son in this school. Great innovative programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

Nova Blanche Forman Elementary has been an amazing school. Both my daughters attended this school from K-5. My youngest just graduated this year. Every teacher that either of my girls have had (that is 11 in total) ALWAYS have been 100% invested in their progress. Any staff member I have come into contact with was beyond helpful and nice.The Principal, Mr. McCanna, knows by daughters by name (and not because they are ever in trouble or exceptional students) - he just truly cares about his job and his kids. I feel very fortunate to have had my girls attend such an amazing and wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

My son has just started 2nd grade and so far I couldn't be happier. His teacher last year sparked a fire in him at a critical time when he was just starting to read on his own. He has since read several chapter books over the summer. The school staff is excellent from the principal right down to the cafeteria workers. Everyone is friendly and seems to enjoy being there. Just recently I had a episode where a older kid picked on my son on the school us in the way home. It happened on the first day of school. I immediately called the school and the principal Mr. Mckanna answered the phone himself. The next day the child was transferred to another bus. They have a no tolerance policy for bullying. I feel lucky to have my child at Nova Blanche. It is not an easy school to get in, and he will probably be in the Nova system all the way thru high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

I was student there. They put there students first. They have laptaps, ipods,ipads. Also activ boards. There are a green school they put all homework on the teacher e-mail so we can take it anytime in case we forget to write it down. They have Fcat camp for two weeks before the Fcat to help us do better on are test. The food is very good they ladies in the lunchroom are very nice. The front office ladies are very helpful when I need information.


Posted August 12, 2010

This School put the students first all the time they help them get ready for college at a young age and thats what i like because are childern need to go to college to have a better life ahead of them. they aare very caring people and they love every child as there own.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

I have a child who attended Eisenhower up to Nova High years ago and now have a child in the 5th grade at Blanche. While I prefer Nova-E, I believe Nova-B is great. My only criticism is that I feel that my child was not appropriately placed in one of his grades.I made 3 unsucessful requests for change in classroom. Since then however, I believe my child was placed w/the right teacher. The teacher and I communicate and we work together to ensure my child's success as a student and citizen. PTA meeting times favor the stay-at-home mom so that excludes me. However, I am in touch/informed through e-mails. My chief concern is academic and I have no complaints. At Blanche, any child can soar as high as he/she is capable and is not limited to the ability of the class as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Currently I have a child enrolled in 4th grade and another who has completed K-5th & has moved on to Nova Middle. Both of my children are in the gifted class. Awesome principal-his door is always open, excellent teachers who genuinely love their jobs & this school offers so many extras from Art & Math nights to the talent show & the free FCAT workshops. Only disappointment is that more of the parents do not attend the PTA & SAC meetings and the free functions that the school offers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

extremely disappointed in the principal and lack of urgency and lack of leadership in bullying prevention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

I feel good to know that my children are at Nova Blanche. My children enjoy going to school daily and I am assured that they are in a safe environment.The teachers, the principal,the resource officer, teachers aides are super.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

I had a wonderful experience this year with the teachers and staff. Thank You for taking the time to address my concerns.I have enrolled my son in private and public school and I finally found a school with great parental evolvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

It's an elementary school with a wonderful PTA. They are an involved PTA that cares for all students. Good chess and math club programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

The academic program is innovative. The parent involvement is ok. I 5rate this school a four out of 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

Good academic program. Average parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

As a parent of a special 3rd grader I would recomend this school to anyone with childrn who have learning disabilities or regular students. The staff is attentive and helpful to the parent and the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

As a parent of a second grader and a 8th grader who attended Nova Blanche, I am extremely pleased with the quality and degree of professionnalism of all the teachers at Blanche. The personnal attention given to each child is of great quality and extremely important at Blanche. I feel very fortunate that my older daughter was lucky enough to be accepted to this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name. She is a great example of a leader and I will miss seeing her everyday as my daughter graduates this year. Thank you for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world! '
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

as a parent of a child in 2nd grade and another a 'graduate' of Blanche-I have always felt that my children received a better education than they would have in most private schools.The teachers are very focused on the individual student's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 46%
White 23%
Hispanic 21%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 46%53%61%
Master's degree 54%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. CHARLES MCCANNA
Fax number
  • (754) 323-6640

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3521 Davie Road
Davie, FL 33314
Phone: (754) 323-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT