Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

University School of Nova South

Private | PK-12 | 1473 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Davie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $76,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2007

My son has been a student at University School for 4 years now. I'm glad this school doesn't cater so much to sports as it does to academics. This school offers him a safe environment. They will not tolerate children that will bully others and will deal with that fast. A great school with very involved parents and teachers that have minimum of a masters degree in their field of study.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

I am a student at this school and i just started this year with being in public school all of my life. I have to say it is extreamly difficult to make friends, but the academics are really good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2006

Excellent elementary academic school. Each student is taught at their own level normally 1-2 years above norm. My daughter has been attending going on 5 years since Kindergarten. The teachers are educated with higher degrees and experienced. Character building is an emphasis in the lower school. I have been very pleased with the teachers. This year, the after school pick up time changed to latest 5:30pm not allowing any time for working parents without nannies. The school also could use more activities/show were parents could be more involved and socialize. Well put together education but expensive for many families. Parents can be clique and pretentious at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2005

I have three children one in the elementary,one in middle school and one in High School. I found the school to be a nurturing,challenging,protective,enthusiastic environment. They really mean zero drug tolerance. It does not matter who your parents are if you are caught with drugs or alcohol you are out of the school the very same day. The student know it. The discipline problem is just not there because if your child is a problem he won't be at the school for long hence less more time for teachers to focus on academics. I have been happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Academic programs are excellent the arts and sports are becoming better. When we first came here three years ago they needed alot of help. The school is on the right track now trying to improve their art and sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

Great care, individualized student-centered, challenging yet safe environment, dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

Nothing but complaints, unless you/your child is one of the favored few, most of whom are picked in kindergarten and are undeserving of their elevated status. My parents regret choosing University School, and I regret their sending me there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 13, 2005

Though the quality of education may be slightly superior to that of a public school (and inferior to many other private schools, ie: Pine Crest, St Andrew's) most of the intelligent students are naturally bright and have not had their intelligence cultivated by or fostered in this environment. The higher-ups in the administration have little personal contact with parents and lead me to believe that they are clueless. Little funding for athletics (terrible facilities); exponentially more money for theater. Nothing but regrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

Variety of advanced classes are available for high acheiving students. There is a low turnover of teachers and the majority of them have advanced degrees. The school is generally more academically oriented than athletic or fine arts oriented. The administration is accessible to the students and to their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

I love the school, the teachers are of the highest educational level, the children are extremely intelligent, parents are as well-all are professionals. Your child must be mature and function at a high level independantly in an open classroom setting. The homework is excessive, but this is a prep school! The level is 2-3 years above public school level. I am confident my child will graduate college as very successful person! Well Worth the tuition if you can afford it !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I'm pleased with the school and my children are happy and that is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

this isnt a bad school. but the expectations that the students are taken for are high. the principaling in the upper school is more controlled, yet more relaxing than the middle school, which is expected. the teachers are of a high quality, but the students seem to interact more with the teachers in this school than anyother school the students respect the teachers because the teachers respect the kids. almost every teacher is also a guidence councelor. they help kids with problems in there personnal and social life. i rate this school a 4 1/2 out of 5.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 13% 29%
Black 6% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NALS
Fax number
  • (954) 262-8977

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3375 Southwest 75th Avenue
Davie, FL 33314
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 262-4413

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Broward Fire
Davie, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT