Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Summit-Questa Montessori School

Private | PK-8 | 390 students

Our school is best known for excellent Montessori education.
 
 

 

Living in Davie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $76,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2008

I went to this school for 10 years, and i feel that it more then prepared me to enter other school settings and feel that I have above the average social skills. I learned about every aspect of life, about ethics and morals, as weel as getting an amazing education. I was able to be very successful is high school and graduated with honors. I credit this school, and my parents for putting me in an environment like this, with all of the academic and personal acheivements I have made. I don't think that this environment is for everyone, but it is more about the parents commitment, and them having an open mind, then the school not providing the proper foundation for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2007

Wow hard to say. Yes it is a holistic approach but not sure the kids are getting the basics like money and how to tell time. Your kids are safe here and they will have close friends and the teachers will get to know them well and yes the campus is nice despite all of the construction. Pre-K teachers are the best Ms. Jane and Ms. Sylvia are real stand outs. They are though a for profit corporation and you can't help to be reminded of this when tuition and fundraising season starts. I have always felt my children got a good foundation in Pre-K but the book is still out on lower elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

My child hated this school. Felt lost and uncared for. Previously a good student, lost self esteem. Judy, as well as other's do care. They are overworked and lost themselves. My child was left behind on a field trip due to poor communication. Some teachers, in my opinion, do not care or are exhausted. This is not, I repeat, not, a 'whole child' education. Preparing a child for an IVY league college is great but there should be more. I am not sure that every child can do well academically here but even if they do, that is ALL they will get. Knowledge without ethics or morals is dangerous. Buyer beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

My boys, twins, attended Summit from age three through 6th grade when we moved out of state. They were so well prepared to attend the number 1 schools in New Jersey that the teachers all wanted to know where they received their previous education. I am very proud to say they were recently admitted to all the colleges they applied to, including Cornell, Brown, Georgetown and Princeton. The essay they sent with their applications spoke of their Montessori education at Summit and how that prepared them for life. Nothing in life is perfect, but Ms. Judy makes sure it is as perfect as it can get! I will be forever grateful for the education they received at Summit. It has shaped their lives forever. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

Our child compleated the 8th grade here. She was not well prepared for High School and has had a struggle. Students need more instruction on how to take notes from a lecture, study for test and move about from one class to another. We kept our daughter here only because she had long standing friends. I urge you in the very least to do a great deal of research/observation before sending your child here. The 'democratic' approach to learning is poorly demonstrated here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

Our child attended the middle school here. The discipline is futile. Their is terriable communication between teachers. Children are poorly supervised. The environment is lovley outside but the classroom is void of any beauty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

The best school in South Florida with the most caring teachers and assistants. I don't feel there are too few kids in the middle school. Every one of them have their own unique personality and are not afraid to express themselves around their peers without feeling uncomfortable or outcasted. They share a bound I would have loved to have had the opportunity to build when I was their age. And it is remarkable to watch them mature into the outstanding teenagers they become. Assessments are necessary in any private school especially after a hurricane season like last years. I doubt you would be able to find another private school that didn't have an assessment last year. My son wishes they would expand faster so there is a high school ready for him when he graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2006

My daughter graduated in 2005 from Summit-Questa Montessori School. She started in pre-school and completed the middle school program. I chose the school for it's excellent reputation, nationally recognized staff, and it's dedication to the wholistic education of each individual child. There is great emphasis on the importance of community and parent involvement is high. My daughter was accepted to the #1 High School in Florida, St. Thomas Aquinas, and is excelling in college. I would highly reccomend this school to anyone who is looking for a school that not only has national acreditation and a high standard of academic excellence, but in addition seeks to allow each child to discover their gifts and talents in order to achieve their highest potential Jane
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

My Granddaughter was a student @ Summit-Questa for 12 years. She graduated from Questa Middle this June and is well prepared for the challenges of High School. Summit-Questa has provded her with an environment that allowed her to grow to her fullest potential. I rate it the top Montessori School in South Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2006

This is one of the best schools in South Florida. Low teacher-student ratios, excellent teachers, beautiful 10 acre campus with all kinds of animals and gardens. The school is a true Montessori school, in fact it is an accredited Montessori teacher training center. My children have never been happier going to school. I recommend it to all of my friends without reservation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

My two children have been in Summit Questa Montessori School since 1996 and I only have good things to say about this wonderful school. I have complete faith in the teachers and adminstration and strongly support the programs. It is a warm, safe and nurturing environment. The school has highly qualified and experienced teachers with a very low teacher-student ratio. The school is growing and we look forward to the completion of the schools expansion and athletic additions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

This is overall an excellent school thanks to the Montessori program. Recently, though, a construction project is withdrawing funds from the school budget, resulting in fewer teachers/more assistants with no relevant education and higher costs. Additionally, assessmants were levied and will be expected in even higher amounts the next several years. The ongoing construction will also make the school less attractive for students. The sports program is minimal. arts and music classes are offered, but have not yet produced great talent. The school might be great again at a later time, but right now you would be investing in the future of the school, not the future of your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

Probably the best in South Florida. Touchy feely, holistic approach. Fabulously woodsy and environmentally minded. Group approach teaching leadership. Downside: too few kids in the middle school leads to almost sibling rivalry.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 15% 29%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 5% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Arabic languages
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Japanese
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Judy Dempsey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AISF
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (954) 584-7816

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kayaking
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kayaking
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Gardening
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
390
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
550

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
VPK, McKay and Step Up

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St Thomas
Nova University
American Heritage
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5451 SW 64th Ave
Davie, FL 33314
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 584-3466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wesley's Academy
Plantation, FL



AEF Schools
Davie, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT