Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Western High School

Public | 10-12 | 3121 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2008

I am a freshman student currently at Western High, and I plan to change schools immediately. Overall, the school is below average. Western is a really 'drugged ' school, students smoke a lot on campus, and I've never been so exposed to drugs and bullying in my life; its so bad. There's a lot of fights, and classes are too out of control, and the school is way overcrowded because Cypress Bay Students came in. These past few months have made such a negative impact on my life, I can't take it no more, I'm transferring, without saying goodbye to my friends that I've known since 6th grade. If you are a parent, that has a kid at Western, hopefully, they don't go through the same thing I did. She or he might enjoy it, but if you came to their school yourself, I guarantee, you won't approve of some things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2008

My son has really bloomed at this school-he has enjoyed most of his teachers, and most have been very helpful in getting him through some rough spots. He has an attention problem, that most see as one to be helped, not punished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

Western High has a few great teachers, the ones that stay after school or work with students on weekends. Mostly, the teachers go to work, give lots of useless homework, go home and do it all over again the next day. My child excels because of his motivation, not the schools. The sports teams try, the band is good, drama is hard working, and debate is one of the best in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

My daughter is a sophmore, I moved to this area for the schools I am very Disappointed!! The teachers have no clue, and don't care to either. I hate to say it but if I can spare another parent of making the same mistake
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

This school is very disappointing; the students do not even have a set of math books to take home to do there homework/study.


Posted November 7, 2007

Teachers are mediocre, with exception of a few. Sports programs aren't that wonderful. I didn't enjoy it here, look into a private school if you can't move.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 19, 2007

It's an improving school. Now in my junior year. Front office went from being a disorganized hell to pretty decent. Principal is good and cares about the school. New science wing and courtyard are beautiful, and the school has all of the most up to date technology, but the aging building needs some work. Teacher quality, like any other school, ranks from terrible to extraordinary, but generally about average. Very safe, hardly any fights or gangs. Fairly friendly student body, affluent, but not overly so. Plenty of after school clubs, but many of the sports programs are terrible. About the mice- they are gone, and it was due to the construction. All and all, the school has a very safe and comfortable learning environment, and I feel that I can make something very good out of it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2007

Im a student at Western. I can't imagine a school being worse academically. Little offered for motivated students either. Building has foul smell. School has major rodent issue that has been problematic for years. Horrible school!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2007

Worst public school experience ever. Uncaring staff, unorganized front office, teachers who couldnt care less if you student achieved goals or not. More concerned with flipflops than bellies showing and awful communication with all administration! A total nighmare academically, weak education to our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

There is much to be improved in this school academically and physically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

This school's guidance and facaulty leave something to desire. Office and guidance very unorganized. Getting something done(change of schedule, conferences, etc)with regards to my son's education can be very frustrating. My son indicates student in school very segmented and stick to 'clicks'. Teachers are average. The few exceptional ones are over shadowed with those who seem to belong doing anything but teaching, due to lack of patience and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

Im a student at western. Western has some very good teachers,but happens to be very disorganized. Schedule problems between semesters can be expected,and very often,you may be left hanging two to three weeks without all four of your classes. However, most of the teachers are very good, and are very clear and easy to understand. There are plenty of after school programs ranging from JROTC programs to decent sports teams. Our band,while not the best,is improving rapidly, and parents do actually show up to after schools meetings and the like.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2005

I am a student at Western High and I would just call it an average school. Some teachers are great at teaching(Mr.Cox, Mrs.McClain,Mr.Serdenes)and make it fun, while others are boring, give too much work, or don't teach! Otherwise, I enjoy going to my school. From reading other reviews at other schools, I have found a new appreciation for Western and take pride in all the perks that my school currently has. Taryn B.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2005

I like it a lot my child said its great so I would recommed it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Excellent support staff willing to work with parents. Schools are what kids are willing to make them....lots of good things available, but wish they had more extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

My student was having alot of difficulty with school in general. The teachers and school administrator's worked with me and we were able to turn things around. I give them alot of credit for their involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

727 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

757 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

750 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

620 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
54%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

720 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
78%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

670 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
78%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

770 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Hispanic 37%
Black 6%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%53%61%
Master's degree 49%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:40 am
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jimmy Arrojo
Fax number
  • (754) 323-2530

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 SW 136th Ave
Davie, FL 33325
Phone: (754) 323-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT