Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

3,133 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Western High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Please feel free to share with your entire staff.... THANK YOU!!! You guys are great!

Western High School 5

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
We live in Weston and were very afraid based on people comments about this school... I have to say... They all are so wrong!!! My daughter is on 9th grade and she can't be happier! Great teachers and great classmates!! #GoWildcats


Western High School 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
This is definitely an above average high school. Is it perfect? No. But if you want your child to have an opportunity to get a quality education and also have a variety of options and exposed to a wide slice of society, then this is a great school. Is every teacher perfect? No. But there are enough great teachers here to prepare your child for the best of colleges.

Western High School 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a student
My first school in the u.s . Thanks for your all help. Even sometimes I feel not good about the condition here, but nice anyway.

Western High School 4

Posted June 25, 2014
- a student
Honestly, I have mixed feelings I came with a group so I have no social problems and yes some of the teachers are rude and don't care but some of them are really amazing. Now what really concerns me as an African American student is that this school is full of rednecks, and racism. Also, I have a lot of friend sin the LGBT community (which also includes me) and the principle is not excepting of them or anyone who is part of that community in other words he is a homophobe. He is absolutely horrible. This school would be better if it was more funded and we got a better principle.


Western High School 1

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
The student body of the school will be the next generation of scammers and schemers. I am appalled by the bullying and the blatant disregard for student welfare at this school. It was a the best day of high school when I withdrew my student and was able to enroll in a different school. Never in my life have I dealt with such mean, hateful children and worse, adults who had no desire to properly supervise them. Despite being in a new school with a lower FCAT (that joke of a standards test) rating, my child is excelling the way things were prior to entering Western. All I can say is THANK GOD FOR SCHOOL BOUNDARIES! If you have a child that struggles (even slightly as mine did) with the social aspects of high school, this is a bad place for them to be. There are a few administrators and teachers who are top notch but the student body and the trash that raised them make it a waste of time.

Western High School 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
This school has to be the worst in Broward County and the new principal is just as bad as the last three. If you set your expectations low you will still be disappointed

Western High School 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Parents beware do not send your child to this high school you will be very disappointed and your child will be abused by the staff. Principal Jimmy Arrojo is a 20 year Broward County School Board robot only interested in keeping his job and covering up for his unmotivated staff. The level of education your child will get could be compared to an intercity hood. The office staff is rude and uninterested in helping even with the most simple of tasks. Consider Private school or gaining a transfer to a different high school


Western High School 3

Posted July 22, 2013
- a student
If you know that your child will be able to handle Advanced Placement coursework off the bat, then Western may be what you're looking for. Otherwise, don't bother. The school is underfunded, undersupplied and understaffed, and its instructors below the AP level are a mixed bag at best. Administration is unorganized, unmotivated and incompetent, as virtually any faculty member would argue, and the guidance staff exists only to (sluggishly and reluctantly) process paperwork. Again, only commit to Western if you're certain that your child will excel with a schedule comprised mostly of APs. The school hosts a cadre of adequate (and in some cases, excellent) AP teachers, and the classes themselves are taught independently of Florida standards. That means in turn that the classes are rigorous and if a student were to flunk out of a class he or she wasn't ready for, it would mean having to experience the horrors of honors, regular or remedial-level courses taught by people who'd fail if forced to take their own tests. So if you think your kid can stick it out on his or her own, go with Western. But if he or she can't and you still want him or her to succeed, find a private school.

Western High School 2

Posted May 04, 2013
- a student
I'm going to be completely real and straight up about this school. If you're a student who talks too much, gets to know many people, or are very social. Do not come here. This school has a lot of problems when it comes to being social. There are many fights, but if you don't mess with people and go to school to do your work, get your grades, and leave then you won't have any problems. I'd have to say that at least 70% of the students here are involved in drugs, honestly. Besides that there are a handful of good, nice teachers, yet the majority of the teachers are rude and out of place mostly nagging about their paychecks and assigning a lot of homework. Most teachers do NOT teach, so if you're like me and actually want to go to college you're going to have to do a lot of self-teaching. Also, bullying, drugs, violence, etc. are all very common in this school. Rude teachers are also extremely common. Just try to stay out of problems and watch with who you talk to at the school and you'll be fine. Also, I'm a junior here. So, honestly consider everything I've said when making your choice of schools. Also, I am an all A student and all honors/AP classes.

Nearby schools

Western High School
1200 Southwest 136th Avenue, Davie, FL  33325
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (754) 323-2400
Last modified Western High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top