Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 49 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


55 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Western High School 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
This is definitely an above average high school. Is it perfect? No. But if you want your child to have an opportunity to get a quality education and also have a variety of options and exposed to a wide slice of society, then this is a great school. Is every teacher perfect? No. But there are enough great teachers here to prepare your child for the best of colleges.

Western High School 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a student
My first school in the u.s . Thanks for your all help. Even sometimes I feel not good about the condition here, but nice anyway.


Western High School 4

Posted June 25, 2014
- a student
Honestly, I have mixed feelings I came with a group so I have no social problems and yes some of the teachers are rude and don't care but some of them are really amazing. Now what really concerns me as an African American student is that this school is full of rednecks, and racism. Also, I have a lot of friend sin the LGBT community (which also includes me) and the principle is not excepting of them or anyone who is part of that community in other words he is a homophobe. He is absolutely horrible. This school would be better if it was more funded and we got a better principle.

Western High School 1

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
The student body of the school will be the next generation of scammers and schemers. I am appalled by the bullying and the blatant disregard for student welfare at this school. It was a the best day of high school when I withdrew my student and was able to enroll in a different school. Never in my life have I dealt with such mean, hateful children and worse, adults who had no desire to properly supervise them. Despite being in a new school with a lower FCAT (that joke of a standards test) rating, my child is excelling the way things were prior to entering Western. All I can say is THANK GOD FOR SCHOOL BOUNDARIES! If you have a child that struggles (even slightly as mine did) with the social aspects of high school, this is a bad place for them to be. There are a few administrators and teachers who are top notch but the student body and the trash that raised them make it a waste of time.

Western High School 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
This school has to be the worst in Broward County and the new principal is just as bad as the last three. If you set your expectations low you will still be disappointed


Western High School 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Parents beware do not send your child to this high school you will be very disappointed and your child will be abused by the staff. Principal Jimmy Arrojo is a 20 year Broward County School Board robot only interested in keeping his job and covering up for his unmotivated staff. The level of education your child will get could be compared to an intercity hood. The office staff is rude and uninterested in helping even with the most simple of tasks. Consider Private school or gaining a transfer to a different high school

Western High School 3

Posted July 22, 2013
- a student
If you know that your child will be able to handle Advanced Placement coursework off the bat, then Western may be what you're looking for. Otherwise, don't bother. The school is underfunded, undersupplied and understaffed, and its instructors below the AP level are a mixed bag at best. Administration is unorganized, unmotivated and incompetent, as virtually any faculty member would argue, and the guidance staff exists only to (sluggishly and reluctantly) process paperwork. Again, only commit to Western if you're certain that your child will excel with a schedule comprised mostly of APs. The school hosts a cadre of adequate (and in some cases, excellent) AP teachers, and the classes themselves are taught independently of Florida standards. That means in turn that the classes are rigorous and if a student were to flunk out of a class he or she wasn't ready for, it would mean having to experience the horrors of honors, regular or remedial-level courses taught by people who'd fail if forced to take their own tests. So if you think your kid can stick it out on his or her own, go with Western. But if he or she can't and you still want him or her to succeed, find a private school.

Western High School 2

Posted May 04, 2013
- a student
I'm going to be completely real and straight up about this school. If you're a student who talks too much, gets to know many people, or are very social. Do not come here. This school has a lot of problems when it comes to being social. There are many fights, but if you don't mess with people and go to school to do your work, get your grades, and leave then you won't have any problems. I'd have to say that at least 70% of the students here are involved in drugs, honestly. Besides that there are a handful of good, nice teachers, yet the majority of the teachers are rude and out of place mostly nagging about their paychecks and assigning a lot of homework. Most teachers do NOT teach, so if you're like me and actually want to go to college you're going to have to do a lot of self-teaching. Also, bullying, drugs, violence, etc. are all very common in this school. Rude teachers are also extremely common. Just try to stay out of problems and watch with who you talk to at the school and you'll be fine. Also, I'm a junior here. So, honestly consider everything I've said when making your choice of schools. Also, I am an all A student and all honors/AP classes.


Western High School 4

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
There appears to be a familiar thread throughout the reviews...the administration and guidance are lacking. We can only hope that someone from the top is reading these honest reviews and they decide to investigate. High School guidance counselors are so important in High School. Come on Western put a fire under these people and make this one of the best schools in Broward County.

Western High School 2

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
This school does not inform parents of harmful events that take place at the school such as when a SWAT Team came and had to take control of some students who were vandalizing the principal's car and protesting on the roof creating a lock-down. This school also has teacher's who are ineffective. It is also very poor (may not be the school's fault) in resources like paper and books. The teachers rarely post grades and comments on Pinnacle regularly. I also feel they are ineffective in putting out information such as Picture Day. But I have to say, you will never have a problem with this school trying to sell you a yearbook or get you to sign up for the PTA. These allegations are not due to any personal vendetta, it has just been my experience and so I recommend finding another.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western High School
1200 SW 136th Ave, Davie, FL  33325
(754) 323-2400
Last modified Western High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Western High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top