Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 934 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

This is a warm, inviting, safe and great local school. The staff all truly care about their job and more importantly the children at the school. From the ladies in the front office, to teachers, up to the principal. The principal runs a fantastic school, is always visible and available. Parent involvement is highly encouraged and it shows. I feel so lucky that this is the school my children get to go to. A great school all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I'm new here, but I've heard very good comments about the school. I hope to be as good as they say
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2012

My children attended Silver Shores for several years. The experience was incredibly disappointing. Early in their school careers, both my children were identified by the school as high-achieving. Despite functioning 2 grade levels ahead of their peers (reading and math), minimal was done to accommodate their learning needs. Sadly, their academic potential was entirely wasted while attending Silver Ridge. During the time my children attended the school, we were extraordinarily active in the school community. It became evident that what was occurring with our children was not a single isolated incident. It was the standard ill-informed method of operation at the school. While the social environment at the school was fair (not great by any means), there were also repeated scenarios where the school was ignoring bullying and other negative forms of student behaviors. Our children have been privately schooled since leaving Silver Ridge....WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! The instruction they receive is meaningful, and they absolutely love learning! While we are happy for our children, it does sadden us that so many families are "stuck" with a substandard school like Silver Ridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

Amazing School. My daughter has Special Needs and the staff and administration have gone so far above and beyond to take care of her and my family. PTA is constantly involved and hard working. Teachers have been inventive and caring. Even with the tough standards set by the FCAT, Silver Ridge Teachers go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Everyone from the principal to the lunch staff are absolutely amazing to work with. My daughters experience as a student is most memorable and us as parents assured that our child was given the skills to move on to her next chapter in life. Middle school. We are truly blessed to have our child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

It is an excellent school because of the community atmosphere and the parent involvement. The teachers are great and they use all the latest technology and tools to help the students succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The teachers are exceptional and my son actually enjoys going to school. I am in constant communication with his teacher and know exactly what is going on in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Great school. My children love it! What is better than having your children enjoy education. Priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Great school in a great neighborhood with amazing, dedicated teachers and parents! Even if private school cost me nothing I wouldn't switch! Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Both of my children love this school...they both have had amazing teachers, we are so blessed!! They have received amazing educations here and are thriving!! It truly is the best in the west :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Silver Ridge Elementary has the perfect combination of activities that make a well rounded student. The entire staff works hard to do what is best for the kids and the parents are very involved and dedicate a lot of their time to help in our childrens education....this combination makes a great school. 'It takes a village to raise a child,' that is the motto here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The faculty all put so much effort into helping the kids learn and enjoy there days at school. The school has so many fun things that they do that help educate the children while they enjoy themselves and there are alot of parents that donate alot of there own time to help the teachers and students in making the school what it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

Great activities for children to learn and great teachers. Me grandson loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

Excellent school! The teachers, administration, staff and parents all work as a team for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

As a teacher at a Weston school, I have chosen not to bring my children with me. They attend Silver Ridge and have been for the last six years. The staff is amazing and the principal is easy to approach. I have never had a bad experience and find the office staff friendly and helpful. Personal best and courtesy are staples of the curriculum where every child is valued for their ability. Awesome ESE staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Excellent school. Wonderful teachers and principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Excellent afterschool program, chorus, math club, library club, debate-high parental involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

This has been a great school for my daughter. They really focus on academics and self-esteem. I wish they taugh all the way through high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

Silver Ridge is truly a school where the students, teachers, and families all play an important role. Academic expectations are high and the students know what is expected of them. From kindergarten through fifth grade studetns are able to stretch their learning to their ability by participating in discussions and hands-on activities in addition to traditional reading and writing lessons. There are music, art, and P.E. specials, but there are few special programs for the regular student body. Aftercare students have some sports and dance programs available however. The level of parent involvement at Silver Ridge is very high. From volunteering at the classroom level to spending time on PTA parents are ready and willing to do whatever is asked. Silver Ridge is repeatedly awarded the Five Star award which includes not only parent volunteers but students volunteering in the community. I feel lucky to teach at Silver Ridge.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 21, 2005

This school is truly innovative, diverse and a pioneer in education. The teachers are all very involved and communicative with the parents. It is prepared to and handles children with special education needs as well as handicapped kids. My son started Pre-K as part of a special program through FDLRS for speech delayed and has made leaps and bounds. I am convinced that Silver Ridge is the reason. The classes are not over-crowded and the teachers are wonderful. It is my belief that Silver Ridge Elementary is providing the level of education one has to pay to get for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 30%
Black 9%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%53%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9100 Southwest 36th Street
Davie, FL 33328
Phone: (754) 323-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT