Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Ridge Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1813 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2008

Coming to Indian Ridge over 12 years ago was like dying and going to heaven. Most students were polite and courteous. Staff was profession and enthusiastic about education. Principal believed in strong discipline. A dream school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 14, 2008

this school is a very good school. When I started Indain Ridge I hated it. This school is very safe, but sometimes there are physical fights. There are a couple negatives. The school always complains about the money. Also, the school is very strict. Some of the teachers need to lay off the work. Also, I didn't like 6th grade. It's stupid because everyone hate's 6th graders. If a eight grader or seventh grader passes a sixth grader they would make fun of them. It's really retarded. Also, the uniforms. It gets really annoying. If you get in trouble you get IBM. IBM is like hell. Overall, it's ok school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2008

This school is amazing. Great teachers, great teaching skills, great. pricipal, great, activities, great pta, and great dicipline and safety.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2008

this is an awesome school the only thing I don't like about it is that it has uniform. and it is a very strict uniform policy. the kids should express themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

Not so happy with the admnistration of this school. No consideration or attention given to needs of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

This school is really good academically, yet is very strict. Staff is rude to students, the six month i attended I never met a nice staff member. It can also be very boring and dull. Don't get me wron, the school is the best in academics, the enviroment is so safe and driven towards learning, yet it can get very boring for the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

I am currently in Indian Ridge in 8th grade. I like my teachers except the class arrangments. If you ask to change one class, they go crazy. I love drama, that is one of there amazing programs. technology is also a very good put together class. The one thing this school can work on is asking for money. They ask at least 50 dollars per year for various fundraisers and such. There end of the year dances are a ball i heard. The teachers really care and put effort into there work. I like the school. I reccomend it to everyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2007

It is the best middle school that i have ever attended! it is amazing with the other students and teachers! Tey are all just the best groupe of people i have evr met!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2007

this is a great school academinc wise ,yet some of the teachers and staff are often rude and nasty when asked questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

I love this school. It has great teachers in this school was the first time i ever got staight a's and b's. all we need is a dance team
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2006

One of my children has been through and my younger one just started Indian Ridge. One was in advanced placement and the other is an ESE student requiring some assistance. I can't express enough how impressed I am with that school. Very clean, very secure, and well run. The teachers and staff have always gone out of their way to assist me and my children. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

then school is very good at integrating technology into the curriculum. they are also very aggressive in keeping kids in advanced placement tracks on task and so a good job at identifying those students who are under achieving. The sports activities and other extra-curricular programs are not as agresively pushed as the academic programs are. There is a high amount of parental involvement in the classroom, and teachers are not bashful about calling for a conference if they see a need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

This has been a very good school for our two children. The academic programs are very good, and their is a high level of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

My son is now entering the 8th grade at Indian Ridge. He was full of anxiety about going to middle school. Within 1 short week he felt welcomed, safe and comfortable. Kudos to the staff. In elementary school he was always a 'good' student. However, since entering Indian Ridge, he has excelled and is now a fantastic student. He has learned so much and has sincerely liked if not loved all of his teachers. Whoever is doing the hiring of teachers there is doing a great job! The school is a clean, safe, encouraging environment. It has been a blessing to us, to have our son at Indian Ridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

I am not a parent, but I am a previous student from Indian Ridge Middle School. I have been out of school for quite sometime and I do know that the school system is most definitly excellent. The teachers take part of your life and show great leadership for our future educators. If you are looking for a great school to send your children, Indian Ridge Middle is 'A' rated.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2004

Wonderful teachers and a great support staff. My daughter feels very safe at school and there is great communication between teachers and parents. Wish they would offer more extra-curricular activities but not many schools have a budget for that anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

My son feels proud and confident at Indian Ridge. He gives alot, because they expect alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

As a grandparent of a child who has just completed his first year in Middle School, I am very impressed with Indian Ridge. The concept of having the teachers follow the grades through is wonderful. This way, there is a consistency of rapport. Teachers know the students much better. The choices of electives are outstanding. Really a terrific school!


Posted June 16, 2003

We have our son enrolled in Indian Ridge. Both my husband and I and also are son are very happy with the school and it's teacher. I have received total cooperation from the teacher who even returned my phone calls when I had concerns over my sons work or test grades. I highly recommend this school for your child.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

535 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

537 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

560 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

630 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

506 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

613 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

614 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

602 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

688 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 53%
Hispanic 35%
Black 6%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%53%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 6%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. FRANK ZAGARI
Fax number
  • (754) 323-3385

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1355 South Nob Hill Road
Davie, FL 33324
Phone: (754) 323-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




American Academy
Plantation, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT