Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fox Trail Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1223 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

Fox Trail Elementary is a great school, with awesome teachers, and great staff leadership. Staff has a genuine concern for all the students !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

Greatest school in the area. Very smart & safe location next to police and fire station. PTA makes you feel welcomed. Wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

Great school, we did K thru 2nd grade... but too many kids, very rude office staff (be prepared) horrible car congestion at both drop off and pickup, good stuff too... lots of parental involvement, good principle, security like Fort Knox,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Fox Trail is absolutely amazing. We moved into the area a year ago and my husband and I, both having been employed in the administrative aspect of education, were a bit concerned as the school was so large. However, we have been more than impressed. Ms. Burgess, the principal, runs the school impeccably. The teachers are top notch and the atmosphere is that of a family. My friends in other states and counties, even those that home school, are absolutely amazed at how much my son has learned (thank you Ms. P and Ms. Stransky) I would recommend this school to anyone ... It is a true gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My kids have been attending Fox Trail since kindergarten and my daughter is now in 5th Grade with my son in second year of middle school. The school encourages parent participation, the Principal is second to none, the teachers and Staff are awesome.I can't imagine a better school forms kids to obtain their elementary education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

The teachers are great but the office staff is horrible. They are mean. cold, condescending, and just plain rude! They do nothing to help parents or students. Hire a new staff and this school will be great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I have 3 children in this school (grades 2,3, and 5). Over all, the teachers are caring and willing to help. There are a few stand out teachers, that go above and beyond your expectations. The parking is an issue, as well as the pick up/drop off line. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because the front office staff are cold, there might be one person in there that ever cracks a smile. They are less than enthused to see anyone walk in and ask for anything. They do their job (most of the time) and nothing more. If you have a conference, forget getting there on time. They REFUSE to open that door until exactly 7:30, and sometimes later, even when they know there is a line of parents a mile long needing to get to a conference. If they fixed the front office, the school would get 5 stars no doubt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

Excellent school in all means. My son is in 5th grade now and is being at Fox Trail since kindergarten, he loves each of his teachers through the years, wonderful staff, great parent community and a challanging and appropiate curriculum. Just love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

I certainly dont know what the teachers teach there but I hope they arent careless! When I first walked into the front office a student was talking major profanities! And such words made me drop my mouth wide open! Also the front office staff is quite cold and impatient. I felt really uncomfortable just being there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

Fox Trail is an excellent school. I have two children that attended there, and one that is currently attending. The teacher's are excellent and very fair in meeting each child's needs. It is a great and positive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

Fox Trail is an amazing school. My daughter is in third grade. I have only positive things to say about this school. The teachers my daughter has had since Kindergarten have been second to none. All of them have been able to taylor the curriculum to meet her needs. She tends to be top in her class but is not gifted. The teachers keep her challenged and she LOVES them! She can't even say which is her favorite teacher she has loved all of them. The principal cares about each student and is very approachable. We LOVE Fox Trail elementary. We moved to this area for the school and I will not move until both of my kids are through. My son will start next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

Fox Trail is a Great School, my daugther is very happy there, they are very well organized. My daughter is in 3rd grade and she is learning everything very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

My son went there in Kindergarten for the yr. of 06-07 and had Miss Leung. She was a wonderful teacher. We only have wonderful things to say about Fox Trail!! We moved after his first year and we miss this school a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

I am very satisfied with this school, I was very hesitant to move my son from the private school where he was in, unfortunately they didn't have programs for gifted children, so I had to make a hard decision and after researching I found out that Fox Trail was a high rated school, now I know it is. I must say that the professionalism and expertise of his current teacher is more than comparable with the teachers at the private school. My son can day dream sometimes and his current teacher has been able to keep him focus by using his competitiveness to get him back on track, her strategies have paid off big time! The discipline and constant communication with the parents is a big plus! I am glad my son is in the right hands! He loves his new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

this school is the best school eva!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

I have three children and they have and are still going to Fox Trail Elementary. It is a great school with highly qualified and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

Fox Trail Elementary is an excellent school My grandson is in second grade and has been in this school since kindergarten. All his teachers and those I have met there are superb. I am happy he is in this highly rated elementary school.


Posted January 30, 2008

My daughter is in first grade at Fox Trail Elementary. I am extremely happy with all aspects of this school. She is reading on a second grade level and is encouraged by her teachers. The PTSA is very involved in school events, and fundraising to make this school one of the top rated schools in the county. Technology at the school is very important. Every teacher has a prominthean board to present to their class via their computers. My daughter uses the computers in her classroom every day. I would like to say I am very happy my child attends Fox Trail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

My daughter attends Fox trail and had come out of a private Pre-K school. I moved specifically so my daughter could attend this school as she has five cousins and friends that attend as well. The teachers are caring and the facilities are second to none. School uniforms are mandatory and my daughter loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

My daugther is attending Fox Trail Elementary since Kindergarten (she is in 1st grade) I have to say there are a lot of teachers and staff there that are very nice and helpful , there are some that are not. I do love this school , taking out the parking hassle, there are limited parking space, I truly beleive the school should increase parking so parents can get out of the cars and walk their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 39% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%53%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lynn Burgess
Fax number
  • (754) 323-5840

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1250 S Nob Hill Rd
Davie, FL 33324
Phone: (754) 323-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT