Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fox Trail Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1223 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2007

Our child is in 4th grade and has been at Fox Trail since Kindergarten. On a positive note, the school is clean, safe and well organized. The teachers are some of the best in Broward County and our child has loved every one! The science and math night, hoe-down and sock hop are great community events. On a negative note, annual fund raiser is a lesson in greed and exclusion and should be discontinued. The playground lacks shade and is too hot for the children to play on safely. The front office staff is cold and uncaring. And the administration is slow to provide gifted testing and individual learning plans for exceptional students. Overall we're satisfied with the school but hope it can be improved for our children who will begin next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

I graduated from Fox Trail last year and I cried. I went there for 6 years and the school just made so easy to learn. If your child has Mrs. Wood for fifth grade, then he/she will become Very well prepared for middle school. I had her and with her, I learned so much that It will get me through all three years of middle school. your child could get into GEM with her, just like I did.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 31, 2007

I find the staff not very friendly when you ask questions. When a child needs more attention in a subject, they get lost in the system even when I requested the help from the very beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

My daughter is in 4th grade and has attended Fox Trail since kindergarten. Overall the experience has been good. The curriculum though is based on preparing the children for the FCAT which doesn't allow for the teachers to be too creative but that is a state issue. Also, the front office staff can be a bit cold at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2006

My son and I have been satisfied with the quality of his education at Fox Trail for the past 3 years. A little courtesy goes a long way and I have always found the staff helpful and kind. I am very pleased with the principal, who is always on campus, ready to talk to parents and approachable. She immediately responded with a phone call to a letter I directed to her regarding an issue I had with a staff member. I was quite satisfied with how she handled the matter, in a professional, courteous way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

Fox Trail Elementary is one of the best elementary schools that I have been in. The vast majority of teachers work extremely hard to make sure all of the students succeed. Parent support is outstanding and most of the children are well behaved and like to learn. I highly recommend this school and feel lucky to be associated with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

Fox Trail is a wonderful school with a high level of parent involvement. The school encourages family involvement with activities such as Math Night, Science Night and partnerships with local businesses. Students are encouraged to take part in charitable works. Kindergartners are offered two weeks of free swimming lessons towards the end of the school year- a terrific idea given the number of pools, lakes, canals, etc. here in South Florida. An excellent school that deserves the highest of ratings!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

High level of parent envolvement. Teacher to student ratio good. Great facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I am a parent and sub. teacher. The school is excellent. PTSA is very involved. Very pleased with the school. More P.E.and computer skills time would be great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

Well my daughter has been there for 3 years and she loves it however,she has complained about the teachers and I have tried to have talk to the teachers about these issues and I have found the teachers to be nasty and rude. I also think the the office staff is not friendly and when you call you never get call back. If you dont mind the rudness of the staff then you will like the school. I have no choice but to send her to this school due to the location where I am living. The principal should work a little harder teaching staff to be more customer friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This is my daughter's third year at Fox Trail and she is thriving. Despite the school size, the administration, teachers and staff are approachable and helpful. My daughter has loved all three of her teachers who made her feel secure and comfortable while enforcing a structured and effective curriculum. We will stay with Fox Trail until she graduates 5th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

If you like huge, cold, impersonal, you will love this school. Bigger than any elementary school I have seen. But bigger isn't always better. Unless your kid is exceptional (good or bad), they will not be noticed. Administration is not friendly. Teachers vary greatly in quality, most being mediocre. The best one I found no longer works there- that should tell you something!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

This is my child's second year here, and I couldn't have imagined a more positive experience. My child has adjusted very nicely. The teachers have been wonderful, and there are plenty of opportunities to volunteer if you want.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

We are very happy with Fox Trail, my son loves to go to school and is doing very well. We have never felt so welcome in a school, the staff and teachers are friendly and professional. Structure is the key. Fox Trail is #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

Fox trail is an excellent school. Very clean and secure. Parent volunteers are very high. The school offers meet the masters, math superstars, and publishing centers taught by the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

I have been more then satisfied with Foxtrail. My children love it and I wish we could stay here forever Thanks so much Foxtrail Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2004

Academically speaking the teachers are superior and the children are good students, as they come from educated families, thus the FCAT scores fare better than the norm. However, there is a very high staff turn over rate, and Fox Trail Elementary does not support an open door policy. It has often been said, that Adminstrative staff has on several occassions. been reported by many families, as being rude, and unapproachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 39% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%53%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lynn Burgess
Fax number
  • (754) 323-5840

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1250 S Nob Hill Rd
Davie, FL 33324
Phone: (754) 323-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT