Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Parkway Christian Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 306 students

Our school is best known for our caring family environment

 
 

Living in Davie

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 28 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

Parkway Christian School is a very nice, well-rounded school. We have a middle school student and a third grade student. Both are achieving their academic goals set by the teachers and us. Whenever there has been a concern, we have always been encouraged to speak to the teacher or any of the administrative staff. The teachers know each of their students. The students are challenged and taught to be responsible for their achievements, actions, and character. We appreciate the extra after-school activities for the elementary students as well as the electives being offered for middle school. Both allow a great opportunity for the students to explore their interests and try new ones. While the reviews, weather they are 5-stars or 1-star, only tell the opinions of their story, a tour of the school helps to get a better idea of the school and if it is a right fit. We choose this school after we did a tour. Both the kids felt very at ease and we knew this was the place for us. We are very blessed to be a part of the Parkway Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

My school is excellent. It is a Bless in our son life. We only can share positives things about the school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

I had attended this school from 7th and 8th grade and let me tell you that the staff was anything BUT welcoming. if you haven't been going there since you were younger, forget about being treated as equal as the other kids at that school. the punishments that I would receive were quite radical compared to other students in the school who had committed the same crime. the staff treats it's students like "family", but I don't know how good that can be. they were always in my business and wouldn't leave me alone as if they personally knew me, I didn't feel comfortable with the administrator asking me about my "love life" as if she was my aunt or something. the point of the matter is, is that everything is taken to the extreme at this school, the staff (not including some of the teachers) can favorite kids and it's noticeable and brings the child down, heck, I would know. oh, and if your child is a little different and has their own sense of style, don't bother sending them here unless you want your kid to be antagonized for being original.


Posted September 17, 2013

My children have attended Parkway since 2007. My older daughter has since graduated from Parkway and was accepted at Archbishop McCarthy High School, where she is a senior now. My younger daughter is in middle school. We love the small class sizes and fantastic learning environment. They have expanded their technology use by allowing the students to use Ipads and Kindles for books, notes, research, which is great as they can access their school books as ebooks and not have to carry huge, heavy backpacks. The staff is amazing and very responsive to any questions or concerns at any time. We searched many schools before we made our decision and would highly recommend Parkway from Preschool all the way to 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

To reply to the May 24, 2013 post. I guess when the school had their little "Open House", twenty two people logged n and rated the school on this site? What did they hand out the website address to everybody? The administration played favorites while my children were there and I'll bet they still do. The "Do as I say not as I do" philosophy has no place in a Christian environment. The school is supposed to be non-denominational but leans in a very specific direction. I want my children to know they should treat everyone how they want to be treated at all times, not just when they feel like it or it benefits them. What good is an open door policy when they don't really listen to you or do what they want regardless of what you've said. The school is average for academics but not what we were expecting for spiritual education.


Posted May 24, 2013

This post is to address the one posted on March 27, 2013. The school held a school wide event (preschool, elementary and middle school on February 14, 2013 where students and parents had the option to express their love and appreciation for the school or visit with Adminstrators on the spot to express concerns. Not one person had anything negative to say and the support for the school was strong. The staff has always had an open doir policy and continues to improve the program while inviting parents and students to be a part of the process.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 24, 2013

This school has been nothing but dedicated to the success of its students. The staff goes above and beyond in all that they do. The mission of the school is sound and delivered. The staff follows through on their commitments to the families. Way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2013

22 five star reviews all on February 14, 2013. the next newest is January 2013 and then March 2012. It appears that someone is padding the stats to falsely increase the community ratings of the school. That should speak volumes about this school. My children have been gone from Parkway and have realized just how bad the issues were/are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

My family has been at parkway Christian school for nine years. This year my son graduates the eighth grade. The education and moral values that he has received is priceless! If I did not have another child continuing in this school I would be heartbroken. I have no doubt that my children are not only being prepared to enter into competitive high schools and college, but also have grown as Christian young adults that I am so proud of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

This school is amazing!!! My girls have received a quality education as well as a great foundation in Christian principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

This school is not only a strong educational instruction ,but has guided my children emotionally with a Christian base. Our family has had several children at this school. This school has become almost part of our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

I am a student here at parkway and I love it. I changed schools in fourth grade. This was the first school I toured and I said to my mom this is the school I want to go to. The main thing I love about parkway is the teachers. They always find fun ways to help you learn. My teacher will always give us some crazy word on our spelling test as a bonus word . I love parkway the best school ever.


Posted February 14, 2013

PCS is a warm and caring school that my daughter loves attending. The teachers are very understanding and administration always communicates with us. We are so blessed to have found Parkway Christian!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

This school is great! I love how we get out 2 weeks earlier than public school and our teachers are great they are not boring like other teachers, they are fun and they teach very well. Our athletic department is amazing. I highly recommend this school for middle school


Posted February 14, 2013

We researched many schools before choosing Parkway. This school was the most well rounded. The kids are learning in a very loving and nurturing environment. The small class sizes allow for more specialized attention to the kids. My child loves it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

My family has truly been blessed to have found Parkway Christian School. It is a loving, caring and safe environment. The benchmarks that have been set for Parkway far succeed other private schools in the area. When choosing a school you must look at the complete package. As a former educator, I can't say enough about the curriculum at Parkway. I also love the character traits that are taught at Parkway. They strive for the well rounded student. My two daughters began their education at Parkway starting in Pre-K3. They continue their education one in middle school and one in fourth grade. Life at Parkway is a fabulous place to be. It is the complete package.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

Parkway is an excellent school, providing the students with high quality education in a nurturing environment. I transferred my children from a highly rated public school, and I could not be happier with my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

We have 2 children at PCS which started in grade 7 and 4. Our 8th grader has always achieved in grades and sports but wasn't challenged until PCS. She has been involved in volleyball, basketball, and soccer. I feel the school taught her how to study and learn the material which has prepared her for high school. Because of PCS, our 8th grader was accepted into the advanced High School academic programs. My 5th grader is thriving at PCS. The teachers are the main reason why he is doing so well. They are very loving and patient, but require your best and get it! He is achieving and absolutely loves going to school. The school offers a music program and opportunities to preform on stage, which most kids take advantage of. Lastly, PCS has taught my kids how to pray and have a relationship with Jesus, versus memories a prayer. Parkway has been a blessing to our family. We only wish we started at PCS in PreK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

Great & amazing place to grow, learn and share. I love this school because my best friend, advice and coach ( my daughter love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

This school is exactly what I was looking for. The teachers have been wonderful. Very helpful and caring. The older kids treat the younger kids with respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 21% 29%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 2% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Nicole Koski
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Disciples of christ
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (954) 424-6761

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Lunch room
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 S Flamingo Rd
Davie, FL 33325
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 424-6425

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT