Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broward Virtual School

Public | 6-12 | 308 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 30, 2013

This has been a wonderful alternative to regular school for my gifted daughter. The teachers have many years experience teaching in real schools, but many were fed up with unruly kids and parents that didn't care. I have constant contact with her teachers who are concerned, pleasant, and qualified! There are assignments that involve talking to other students, so you do get to know your classmates. If you are fed up with the poor choices of schools we have locally, I would highly recommend BVS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

I have 2 kids , can I join them to this school next year 2013/2014 Big one will be in grade 12 , SAT 1350 last January that is before May & June exams , GPA about 3 , last certification in grade 11 term 3 " straight A " . The other kid will be in grade 6 his certification mixed of " A , B , C+ " How can I make applications for both , I have to inform you that we live now in Egypt & we all be in Florida next July 2013 Pls provide me the fees and when & how can I pay Finally I want to know required documents Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

I am a student here at Broward Virtual. I chose this school because I was bullied at my old school, like many of the students that go here. The other students are really nice and the staff is wonderful. I interact more with my teachers here than at my old school where my teachers were directly in front of me. I have a flexible schedule and learn faster without distractions. We have school days where we (once a monthly) can meet other students that go to this school. We also have many field trips and community service opportunities that are not only fun, but educational. At first my mom had her doubts about sending me here, but when she agreed to let me learn here, and when she saw how much my grades were improving, she had no regrets. And at the end of the day, when I am done with my schoolwork, I actually have learned something. If I were a parent, I would choose this school for my child.


Posted February 6, 2012

The substantive courses are excellent as are the very dedicated teachers. If you want good, thorough courses with one-on-one communications between student and teacher, this is the school. The principal is also one of those, "Okay, let's figure out how to make it happen," people. And it is free. They are also well into new service and social organizations. If you have a fast learner, an athlete, artist or child with another special talent this is the program that allows your child to practice their talent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

Broward Virtual School Earn Your Broward County High School Diploma Online *Courses offered at no cost to residents of Broward County. *Fully accredited, public virtual school serving students from 6th to 12th grade. *Accepting homeschool, private or public school students. *Offered by The School Board of Broward County, Florida. *Allows self-motivated, hard-working students to pursue their educational goals in a more flexible environment. Visit us online for more information at www.bved.net or call 754-321-1100 for more information.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Hispanic 23% 29%
Black 11% 23%
Asian 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 85%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 14%53%61%
Master's degree 79%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 7%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Christopher Mcguire
Fax number
  • (754) 321-1115

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Virtual school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6600 SW Nova Dr
Davie, FL 33317
Website: Click here
Phone: (754) 321-1103

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Seminole Middle School
Plantation, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT