Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Conservatory Prep Senior High School

Private | 9-12 | 23 students

We are best known for arts-integrated curriculum.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Davie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $193,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

I have to say that Conservatory Prep Senior High School has been a wonderful experience to my son and our family. Having a child with ADHD inattentive type in a traditional setting was not productive for anyone. Conservatory Prep was able to turn my son's learning experience around a whole 360 degrees. He was even accepted to all the colleges he applied to. Without this experience at Conservatory Prep the care of the teachers, the one on one attention, the small class sizes this would have not been possible for him. I would recommend the specialized learning to anyone that is struggling in a traditional setting, after all this is their future that is at stake! Understanding what the childs needs are important, but even more important is showing the child how to be all they can be despite those needs is a gift given to these kids. Creative hands on learning makes it feel like your not even learning. My son has said that many times, Wow I get it! He found that doing it, acting it out, writing a story, etc. other than reading it in a book works for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

This school is one of the best kept secrets in So. Fla. The teaching method is not for all, just those kids who think creatively & outside the box. Its for the parents of those kids who want to give them the opportunity to experience the subject matter of each class as it relates to that of all the other courses they take. No opportunity to teach is wasted by Dr. Weiner or her staff. My daughter has undergone a total transformation academically, socially and personally since attending Conservatory Prep. Dr. Weiner & her staff recognize that given the academic freedom to explore, investigate and create, she and most other students discover their potential and apply it with unfettered enthusiasm. It has been my finest moment as a parent when I enrolled my daughter at CPSHS three years ago! For the first time, I can actually envision attending her college graduation some day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

My daughter went from not being interested in school, although she is an A student, to discovering that learning can be fun. She now excels because she wants to and is highly motivated. The school did it !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

This school will probably change the way you think about education and your creative child will prosper in ways you cannot imagine. Our daughter in completing her second year of high school in this extraordinary school and headed for college
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

Conservatory Prep Senior High School is a progressive, private high school located in the heart of Broward County, in Davie, Florida, focused on nurturing inquisitive learners through a college-preparatory curriculum. Our teaching methods incorporate experiential learning and the integration of the performing and visual arts. Our school is designed to meet the needs of gifted and creative students who think out of the box, with fresh ideas. We offer a small classroom setting where students learn for mastery of content, rather than preparing for a standardized test. Students learn about the American Revolution through theater, art, music and culinary arts from that historic period. Students engage in English class while also drafting original screenplays and receiving instruction in film making. Physics is presented through a scientific exploration of the powers of superheroes, while geometry is conveyed through an examination of artistic masterpieces and natural designs. While we utilize the arts as our primary methodology of teaching, we also integrate problem-based learning into many of our classes, and concentrate on developing students' research and writing skills.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 7, 2012

It changed my daughter for the good and I highly recommend the school of your child's interests are not just homework but life skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

This is not a school just an expensive day care! The school gets an F- very bad school!


Posted September 13, 2011

This is a terrible school. It does NOT teach. There is no homework, no studying, and you do not learn anything in class. The teachers are not supportive of the students. Their philosophy of "teaching through the arts" has failed. Their chemistry course in 2009-10 school year, "Chemistry through Cooking," taught no chemistry and very little cooking. In their "Geometry through Architecture" course in 2008-09 school year, they taught no Geometry and almost nothing about architecture. This school is a waste of your time and money.


Posted September 9, 2011

Very bad school they can't even show you how you get graded! A's if they like you or F's if they don't.


Posted March 7, 2010

I graduated from Conservatory Prep last year and I am currently a Freshman on full scholarship to the Wilkes Honors College. I was also accepted to the Honors College at FAU, UCF, USF and UNF. Conservatory Prep completely prepared me for college. Even though the school is very small, you will make friends for life. Teachers love us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2010

Cons Prep is amazing. The teachers really care about us and the other students are unique individuals. Since the school went away from the online schooling 2.5 years ago, the classes have been challenging, interesting and anything but boring. I am a senior and was admitted to all 5 schools to which I had applied.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2009

I went to this school for a total of 3 months, then I had to leave and attend another private highschool. The online curriculum is unstructured and other kids and I just sat on our laptops all day facebooking and myspacing. The 4 seniors that graduated the year I went to Conservatory went to community college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

I go to this school, and overall it's one of the most life-changing schools if you stick to it, and make the adaptations for it. Truly this is not a school for highschoolsers, but for individuals who do not wish to deal with the absurdity of the whole social status of highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 18% 29%
Black 12% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Fairchild Gardens
  • Model United Nations Yale, William and Mary, FAU
  • Broward County Fair

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
  • hebrew

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20
School end time
  • 3:20
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Wendy Hirsch Weiner
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (954) 321-1817

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Montessori
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
  • hebrew
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Wilkes Honors College
Honors program at University of South Florida
Flagler
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5850 South Pine Island Road
Davie, FL 33328
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 680-5808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Broward Academy
Davie, FL





Cooper City High School
Cooper City, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT