Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Conservatory Prep Senior High School

Private | 8-12 | 23 students

Our Edluministic method, integrating the arts with problem-based learning
 
 

 
 

Living in Davie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $193,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, October 27, 2014

Imagine A day where you begin the day with yoga or circus routines, followed by writing a play or a song. A day where math is self-paced and FINALLY understood. A day where science is all about discovery and solving problems, rather than memorization for a test. A day where learning social studies includes cooking, music, dance, art and theater. Imagine . Coming to school every day without aches and pains because you no longer worried about not understanding the homework or fear of failing an exam. Imagine A place where you can just be yourself. Conservatory Prep is focused on nurturing inquisitive learners through a college-preparatory curriculum. Our teaching methods feature the Edluministic Learning philosophy of the integration of the performing and visual arts with problem-based learning. Our school is designed to meet the needs of gifted and creative students who think out of the box, with fresh ideas and who have not met their potential in a traditional school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted Monday, October 27, 2014

The school has mastered a refreshing and most effective way of teaching, by utilizing art and music to drive home the fundamental knowledge that will help your child not only enjoy school but be prepared for the rigors of college. They are able to deliver superior performance because the classes are small, thus permitting individual mentoring and because the teachers are passionate about their profession. The relaxed and stress free environment allows the students to be and find themselves and nurture a passion for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, October 27, 2014

Conservatory Prep is how ALL schools should be! Students are engaged and learning using their own creativity, ingenuity, and passion. In my 23 years as an educator, I have never seen a curriculum that matches this one. The way the teachers integrate the arts with academics both enhances student achievement as well as instills confidence. I highly recommend this program to any family who wants an enriching learning environment to set as a foundation for their children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2014

I have to say that Conservatory Prep Senior High School has been a wonderful experience to my son and our family. Having a child with ADHD inattentive type in a traditional setting was not productive for anyone. Conservatory Prep was able to turn my son's learning experience around a whole 360 degrees. He was even accepted to all the colleges he applied to. Without this experience at Conservatory Prep the care of the teachers, the one on one attention, the small class sizes this would have not been possible for him. I would recommend the specialized learning to anyone that is struggling in a traditional setting, after all this is their future that is at stake! Understanding what the childs needs are important, but even more important is showing the child how to be all they can be despite those needs is a gift given to these kids. Creative hands on learning makes it feel like your not even learning. My son has said that many times, Wow I get it! He found that doing it, acting it out, writing a story, etc. other than reading it in a book works for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

This school is one of the best kept secrets in So. Fla. The teaching method is not for all, just those kids who think creatively & outside the box. Its for the parents of those kids who want to give them the opportunity to experience the subject matter of each class as it relates to that of all the other courses they take. No opportunity to teach is wasted by Dr. Weiner or her staff. My daughter has undergone a total transformation academically, socially and personally since attending Conservatory Prep. Dr. Weiner & her staff recognize that given the academic freedom to explore, investigate and create, she and most other students discover their potential and apply it with unfettered enthusiasm. It has been my finest moment as a parent when I enrolled my daughter at CPSHS three years ago! For the first time, I can actually envision attending her college graduation some day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

My daughter went from not being interested in school, although she is an A student, to discovering that learning can be fun. She now excels because she wants to and is highly motivated. The school did it !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

It changed my daughter for the good and I highly recommend the school of your child's interests are not just homework but life skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

This is not a school just an expensive day care! The school gets an F- very bad school!


Posted September 13, 2011

This is a terrible school. It does NOT teach. There is no homework, no studying, and you do not learn anything in class. The teachers are not supportive of the students. Their philosophy of "teaching through the arts" has failed. Their chemistry course in 2009-10 school year, "Chemistry through Cooking," taught no chemistry and very little cooking. In their "Geometry through Architecture" course in 2008-09 school year, they taught no Geometry and almost nothing about architecture. This school is a waste of your time and money.


Posted September 9, 2011

Very bad school they can't even show you how you get graded! A's if they like you or F's if they don't.


Posted March 7, 2010

I graduated from Conservatory Prep last year and I am currently a Freshman on full scholarship to the Wilkes Honors College. I was also accepted to the Honors College at FAU, UCF, USF and UNF. Conservatory Prep completely prepared me for college. Even though the school is very small, you will make friends for life. Teachers love us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2010

Cons Prep is amazing. The teachers really care about us and the other students are unique individuals. Since the school went away from the online schooling 2.5 years ago, the classes have been challenging, interesting and anything but boring. I am a senior and was admitted to all 5 schools to which I had applied.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2009

I went to this school for a total of 3 months, then I had to leave and attend another private highschool. The online curriculum is unstructured and other kids and I just sat on our laptops all day facebooking and myspacing. The 4 seniors that graduated the year I went to Conservatory went to community college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

I go to this school, and overall it's one of the most life-changing schools if you stick to it, and make the adaptations for it. Truly this is not a school for highschoolsers, but for individuals who do not wish to deal with the absurdity of the whole social status of highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 18% 29%
Black 12% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 20% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 80% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation florida State University
Florida Atlantic University
Florida International Universi
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
School psychologist
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Hebrew
Spanish
hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Fairchild Gardens
  • Model United Nations Yale, William and Mary, FAU
  • Broward County Fair

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Latin
  • Spanish
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
  • hebrew

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20
School end time
  • 3:20
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Wendy Hirsch Weiner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (954) 321-1817

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts-integration
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Waldorf
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Latin
  • Spanish
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
  • hebrew
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Community service
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$20000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Wilkes Honors College
Honors program at University of South Florida
Flagler
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 20%
4 year college - 80%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5850 South Pine Island Road
Davie, FL 33328
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 680-5808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Broward Academy
Davie, FL





Cooper City High School
Cooper City, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT