Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12
Private
Davie, FL
Students enrolled: 23
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Conservatory Prep Senior High School 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a senior this year at Conservatory Prep, this is her 5th high school. To say she's not a fan of school would be a huge understatement. Since starting at CPSHS midway through her junior year, she comes home happy nearly every day. When I ask her how her day was I actually get an answer instead of grumbling. She has gone from mostly C's and D's to all A's and B's. My only regret is not finding Conservatory Prep sooner!

Conservatory Prep Senior High School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
My daughter, now a senior, has always been a straight-A student, but was also always alienated from the students at the parochial school she attended -- mostly on socioeconomic grounds. This got worse as she entered high school, complicated by depression and, ultimately, a diagnosis with fibromyalgia. It become clear that the parochial school setting was no longer right for her. Enter Conservatory Prep. Fully accredited. About 20 students. Caring and unique. Picture a school that focuses on "arts- integrated education," in which almost every class has an art component. Picture a physics class themed on the "Physics of Superheroes," based on a curriculum created by a physics prof at the University of Minnesota. Or an English class that includes theater. Or a forensics class in which students investigate their own cases. But there's more. Some students (like my daughter) just don't fit in typical schools, they march to different drummers, have been bullied or have other issues. Conservatory Prep welcomes them, cares about them and, sometimes, just puts up with them. They have a home there, they learn, they prepare for college and life. We're blessed to have found it.


Conservatory Prep Senior High School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a teacher
Imagine A day where you begin the day with yoga or circus routines, followed by writing a play or a song. A day where math is self-paced and FINALLY understood. A day where science is all about discovery and solving problems, rather than memorization for a test. A day where learning social studies includes cooking, music, dance, art and theater. Imagine . Coming to school every day without aches and pains because you no longer worried about not understanding the homework or fear of failing an exam. Imagine A place where you can just be yourself. Conservatory Prep is focused on nurturing inquisitive learners through a college-preparatory curriculum. Our teaching methods feature the Edluministic Learning philosophy of the integration of the performing and visual arts with problem-based learning. Our school is designed to meet the needs of gifted and creative students who think out of the box, with fresh ideas and who have not met their potential in a traditional school.

Conservatory Prep Senior High School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
The school has mastered a refreshing and most effective way of teaching, by utilizing art and music to drive home the fundamental knowledge that will help your child not only enjoy school but be prepared for the rigors of college. They are able to deliver superior performance because the classes are small, thus permitting individual mentoring and because the teachers are passionate about their profession. The relaxed and stress free environment allows the students to be and find themselves and nurture a passion for learning.

Conservatory Prep Senior High School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a teacher
Conservatory Prep is how ALL schools should be! Students are engaged and learning using their own creativity, ingenuity, and passion. In my 23 years as an educator, I have never seen a curriculum that matches this one. The way the teachers integrate the arts with academics both enhances student achievement as well as instills confidence. I highly recommend this program to any family who wants an enriching learning environment to set as a foundation for their children.


Conservatory Prep Senior High School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
This school is one of the best kept secrets in So. Fla. The teaching method is not for all, just those kids who think creatively & outside the box. Its for the parents of those kids who want to give them the opportunity to experience the subject matter of each class as it relates to that of all the other courses they take. No opportunity to teach is wasted by Dr. Weiner or her staff. My daughter has undergone a total transformation academically, socially and personally since attending Conservatory Prep. Dr. Weiner & her staff recognize that given the academic freedom to explore, investigate and create, she and most other students discover their potential and apply it with unfettered enthusiasm. It has been my finest moment as a parent when I enrolled my daughter at CPSHS three years ago! For the first time, I can actually envision attending her college graduation some day.

Conservatory Prep Senior High School 5

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
My daughter went from not being interested in school, although she is an A student, to discovering that learning can be fun. She now excels because she wants to and is highly motivated. The school did it !

Conservatory Prep Senior High School 4

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
It changed my daughter for the good and I highly recommend the school of your child's interests are not just homework but life skills.


Conservatory Prep Senior High School 1

Posted September 13, 2011
- a community member
This is not a school just an expensive day care! The school gets an F- very bad school!

Conservatory Prep Senior High School 1

Posted September 13, 2011
- a community member
This is a terrible school. It does NOT teach. There is no homework, no studying, and you do not learn anything in class. The teachers are not supportive of the students. Their philosophy of "teaching through the arts" has failed. Their chemistry course in 2009-10 school year, "Chemistry through Cooking," taught no chemistry and very little cooking. In their "Geometry through Architecture" course in 2008-09 school year, they taught no Geometry and almost nothing about architecture. This school is a waste of your time and money.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Conservatory Prep Senior High School
5850 South Pine Island Road, Davie, FL  33328
(954) 680-5808
Last modified Conservatory Prep Senior High School is a Private school that serves grades 8-12
Conservatory Prep Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top