Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

R. J. Longstreet Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 401 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2009

Our little school by the sea is really a hidden pearl! And, after a multi-million dollar renovation, we are better-looking and higher-tech than ever! Some of the teachers have been at Longstreet for 30+ years. There is tremendous parent and volunteer involvement (an active PTA), and our current principal is outstanding. We have a wide variety of students, socio-economic and ethnic diversity which lends itself to a feeling of 'global community.' I feel my children are very safe, well taught and genuinely cared for. The 'story book carnival,' a Longstreet tradition, has been going on since I attended 30 years ago. Wow! If you are are moving to the area or can apply for a variance to attend our little pearl of a school, please call and visit. I know our principal gives tours to prospective students and their respective adults. I'm certain you will be impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

We love this small beachside school. My child has been at Longstreet for 2 years and we have truly loved it. Wonderful administration, active PTA and caring teachers make for a great combination. Simply a very pleasant learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My daughter has been going to Longstreet since kindergarten, And each year it seems it gets better. The whole staff goes above and beyond what I've seen other schools staff do. Its a great feeling knowing that when my daughter is not home she is at a caring, and nurturing enviorment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Wonderful school. After a horrible kindergarten year at another school, I was apprehensive about 1st grade. But the caring and involved staff, and particularly his excellent teaher, helped to make his first grade year a huge improvement. We never felt out of the loop or uninformed either, they kept us well apprised of anything that was going on. I can't praise his teacher enough, she went out of her way to give him more challenging work and work with him on behavior issues, not to mention meeting with us frequently. I only wish I could send him there again this year, however, thanks to another move, we're stuck testing out another new school. I know that the skills my child acquired at Longstreet will help him handle the change, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Longstreet is a wonderful school with a diverse student population. The administrators and teachers have such passion for what they do that we felt it was the best choice for our child. We had the option of attending another school but we thought that supporting our local school was more important than anything else. Success is partly based on what you put into it and this school is flourishing b/c of teacher, student and parent involvement. We are happy with our decision and we love Longstreet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

My two boys transfered to this school about 1 month ago from another school here in volusia county. My oldest is now in second grade at the old school he was haveing a hard time. His grades were dropping ect. As soon as he was placed in this school his grades are coming back up and he is trying his hardest again. My youngest is in kindg. and he was the same way now he loves school again. They are being normal at home again instead of wild and having attitudes. I love the difference and soo happy to have my boys back. The school has made a major difference in thier lives and I'm sooo happy we moved and they now have the opportunity to attend this great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

This school is an older school but it is small compared to the other over crowed schools in Volusia County. The music, art and PE departments are top notch. Great small feel. Everyone knows you. Very involved in community. Good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My child is in Kindergarten so this is our first year, and first experience, with Longstreet. The faculty is amazing. Each and every teacher from the Principal down to the Cafeteria staff seem to care about the general well-being of the students. The student population is more transient than average with a high number of children/families moving into and out of the area within a given school year. This concerned us at first but then we realized that it is a natural part of life and could be a good learning experience for our child (helping new kids, etc). Many of the teachers have spent 15 or more years at the school and many activities are geared toward family participation which makes for a wonderful learning experience and a great school community. We are very pleased with Longstreet and look forward to our second child attending too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Great school. My child loves it. The teachers abd administration care for their studuents and all inform parents of what's going on. I'd recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Black 13% 23%
Hispanic 10% 29%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%56%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Bonnie Gyarfas
Fax number
  • (386) 756-7281

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2745 S Peninsula Dr
Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone: (386) 756-7280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Warner Christian Academy
South Daytona, FL



The Chase Academy
Daytona Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT