Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

840 students|Volusia
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Daytona Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted February 25, 2016
- a community member
I want to thank my son for being so patient with his teachers and being so smart because he has extreme patience with these women and he seems to rise above it all without any problems.

South Daytona Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 25, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are ineffective because they throw everything on the parents. If you want your child to have a good education they tell you to do it yourself.


South Daytona Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 25, 2016
- a community member
Here's the thing about their homework. Most of it's average but much of it's pointless. Many of the problems ask the students for their opinion and it's been my experience that if the teachers don't agree with YOUR OPINION they will mark it wrong. My son has brought math and english homework home and the pages were misprinted so much so that instead of reprinting them the teachers asked the students to rewrite the questions or problems themselves and then answer them.

South Daytona Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 25, 2016
- a community member
This school only does the basics. No more and no less. That I can say. Your child can get a higher education through tv and the internet.

South Daytona Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 25, 2016
- a community member
This school places all responsibility on the parent. Your better off teaching your child everything you can on your own because that's what the teachers expect.


South Daytona Elementary School 1

Posted February 25, 2016
- a community member
I read these reviews and I strongly disagree. The teachers are extremely lazy, education is average if that and if your single father like me let me tell you right now DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL!!! THEY DO NOT LIKE SINGLE DADS AND THEY'VE MADE THAT PERFECTLY CLEAR!!! He's gone to this school for 2 years now. His grades are excellent but the lessons and homework are printed off of a website. I don't call that a higher education. The first year I requested a conference with his teacher at least 5 times and directly asked her for a conference and she said she would get back with me and NEVER DID. She was out almost the entire year having babies and every time I did see her that was her excuse for not having a conference with me. My son is now in 2nd grade. He now has 2 lazy teachers and again his grades are great but he's not being challenged enough and their response to him finishing before everyone else in his class is not to move him up or give him more work but to make him sit quietly until the rest of the class catches up to him. I take issue with that. NO ONE AT THIS SCHOOL SEEMS TO CLAIM ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE WORK THEY DO. His teachers were very confrontational when I met them for a parent/teacher conference. I told them my child isn't being challenged enough and they needed to allow him to do more and somehow they took that and told me flat out "Well, that's a job for his parent it's not our job to do that" I let them know "Yeah your his teachers it is your responsibility to teach him all you can" They quickly shot that down and again tried to place the blame on me and it concluded with them informing me that my child is a B+ student and if I expect him to learn more than I need to teach him more myself. That type of response from a teacher to a parent is unacceptable to say the least. My child just recently tested gifted and I went today to have a conference with them and another woman and right off the bat once the woman realized I was a single parent and that no woman would be joining me they quickly down played my child's score when I was told by the school psychologist that he scored a 135 and the requirement for gifted was 130 and higher. When I told them it's not right that they use my status as a single parent against my child I was told to leave. My child will not be attending next year UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!!!

South Daytona Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
Great school, great communication and a pleasure to be at. I was so happy with the school when my two girls went there, that I applied for a position in the office. Go Dragons!

South Daytona Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
The dedication of the teachers and other staff is wonderful!!


South Daytona Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
All of the teachers, admin, and staff are very pleasant and helpful! GREAT SCHOOL!

South Daytona Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
I actually moved out of the whole school district. I seen too many kids including my own going thru school not learning anything. they believe they are a daycare and the parents are supposed to be the teachers. But dont speak your mind they are a very tight click.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Daytona Elementary School
600 Elizabeth Place, Daytona Beach, FL  32119
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (386) 756-7180
Last modified South Daytona Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top