Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Reading Edge Academy

Charter | K-5 | 312 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2006

I am not sure what to think about this school anymore. What it appears to me is that a group of people got together and decided to open there own school, because they or their children did not fit in in the real world. I think something is wrong with the administration. Have you ever telephoned the school, they cna't even answer a telephone correctly. Perhaps they should take a few lessons in manners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

My Son has been in the school for three years. He has ADHD, and had trouble in kindergarten. We decided with his teacher to hold him back, and wow what a difference. The teachers and principal really care about the children. We love this school and could not be happier with his progress. He is now in 1st grade and doing exceptional. He now is confident and absolutely loves school. This school requires you 30 volunteer hours, which I think is great because then you really know what is going on in the school. It feels like a big family and I am happy that we found The Reading Edge Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I am very impressed with the progress my daughter made in one year at Reading Edge Academy. The school has a family atmosphere. Your child is not a number to them. I am so glad that I found Reading Edge Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Reading Edge is geared to help the children, my child is reading far beyond his years, but they do not keep the parent well informed, One really does not know what is going on in the school. They are very busy and hardly answer questions in full. The staff does seem to know what is going on, they all do care about the children, all in all it is pretty good. My child does like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2005

I have never met a larger group of people that care about children and their educations.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2005

I am not at all happy with Reading Edge. They are short staffed in the teacher department- music teachers acting as aides, etc. The front office staff is not very friendly to the children. The school is way too politicaly correct- giving the classrooms room colors instead of grade numbers and you can forget about seeing a letter grade on your child's report card as they only give checks and minuses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2004

This is a great school! My daughter looks forward to going to school every day since she started here at Reading Edge Academy. The Staff and Teachers are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2004

What I like most about this school is that the classrooms have no more than 20 students per class. Classrooms have 2 teachers per class. The teachers seem to take the time needed with each child and are willing to meet with parents when needed. Overall I'm very happy with the school my child has attended this school since kindergarden and is now in the fourth grade. I only wish the school had a middle school and high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

I love this school! My son is currently finishing up Kindergarten with Ms. Winks. He has been so much more focused and eager to learn since attending this school. He is able to read just about any book he picks up. He can write his own stories and 'illustrate' it. My husband and I are both on the PTA Board and feel very comfortable with everyone and everything we've encountered. I highly recommend this school and cannot wait until my daughter starts Kindergarten in August, neither can she!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2004

Amazing school, teachers are very committed and great to work with. My children have improved so much since being here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2004

Reading Edge has teachers and staff who are excited about their jobs, creative, and willing to go the extra mile to make sure no child is left behind. They have not only provided my children with an exceptional education, but also a lifelong love for learning. The classes are small. Individual attention is given. Great parent involvement and school spirit. Our kids have never been happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2003

The Reading Edge Academy changed our lives. My child struggled through years of regular public school because he didn't 'qualify' for help but needed it. The Reading Edge Academy meets the needs of all children across the spectrum, from SLD to Gifted. Individualized instruction, committed and caring teachers, and an outstanding staff have made all the difference for my child. Thank you, Reading Edge.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 28%
Black 13%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/AN/A
Female 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 89%56%61%
Master's degree 11%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. MARGARET A COMARDO
Fax number
  • (386) 668-8443

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2975 Enterprise Road
DeBary, FL 32713
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 668-8911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Enterprise Elementary School
Volusia County, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT