Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deerfield Beach High School

Public | 9-12 | 2375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

This school has been giving me nothing but problems. I hate this school! They claim to be "supportive" but the guidance counselor is never in his office and TEACHERS NEVER REPLY TO YOUR EMAILS. WORST SCHOOL... Don't send your child here. I am an active student here and I am very disappointed in this school. I repeatedly have to call the superintendent for help. EEWWWWW
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2014

This school is terrible! I had two kids attend school here for their freshman year, they both had to be homeschooled their Sophmore year & luckily we have moved away from that district for their Junior. Terrible teachers (except the cross country coach he's amazing and cares. My daughter got bullied from the Cheer squad for being the only "white girl" which was awful because she's an amazing gymnast and loved cheer prior to that. Admin was horrible too always whining in the office. I don't recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

My eldest son attends this Deerfield Beach High School....unfortunately. He went into this school gifted and essentially labeled as brilliant, now his weighted GPA is <1.0. Granted he chose to be a "normal" kid his freshman year (meaning he did not want to participate in the IB program). I hear nothing but horror stories about this school!!! The teachers and staff are lacking to say the least. The level of academic motivation is extremely minimal and it seems to me the teachers do not care. I refused to make the same mistake twice and I placed my next son into a different school. It will be worth driving him daily just knowing he will not be in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

I went to this school for a short amount of time but I didn't have the best experience in this school. I came from New York to a Florida school district. It was tough. These teachers don't care. They let the kids do whatever they want. I had a problem with a teacher. I have over heard her once talking about me behind my back to the class. I have tried to report her but the school took her side. They dont really help there students.


Posted May 14, 2011

It's a pretty darn good school ! People will get a good education if they pick challenging classes and show their interest in learning. Honestly, teachers only slack off when students disregard their efforts of the teacher trying to teach them. Attend this school and you WILL get a great education and you WILL get into a great college..I did (: Also the Butler scholarship is a great bonus to the students attending DBHS. I had an amzing four years at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2010

Dude, I attend this school and it's not all that good. Teachers slack off all the time and play favorites all the time. And don't get me started on securtiy. Seriously, they do not do their job. If you want to breeze through high school, come here, but don't expect to learn much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2010

Simply outstanding school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

A completely outsstanding school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

This a great school.It offers many extracurricular activities that influences are children to stay off the streets and be a big part of your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

The I.B. program offers great education to prepare a child for college. I have one son graduated I.B. and did great in college and two more children currently doing well in the program to prepare for college in the next few years. The butler scholarship is a great bonus for the school. Deerfield I.B. guidance,I.B. teachers and the program is one of the best in the Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Deerfield Beach High offers an incredible array of programs suitable for all level of students. It has just become a Total Magnet High School where students can explore 'majors' through 22 career Pathways. Career counseling is of utmost importance at Deerfield, exposing students to both college-based and technical-based careers. This allows students (and parents) to become acquainted with many high-paying careers that do not necessarily require a college education. Students are taught about finances and the realities of what they need to know once they graduate. The opportunities are boundless at Deerfield. Sports, Academics, and special programs abound. Deerfield is unique in that it offers a scholarship to every graduate, regardless of whether they choose to go to College or a Certificated Trade school. The teachers are excellent and they devote much time to each student's individual needs. Deerfield is a super High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2004

This school has a great program magnet program called IB. Its amazing and it prepares students for college. I encourage parents to look into it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 2, 2004

My problem is they don't seem to care. My daughter has some problems and they are just letting her fall through the cracks. And I let them know about this when I enrolled her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Some of our teachers do not care about the students. Their record keeping on attendance is inaccurate. They do not care about solving problems just making their numbers look good, which by the way, doesn't look good still.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

587 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

555 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

569 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

534 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
43%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

524 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

401 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

602 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 49%
Hispanic 23%
White 22%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 79%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%53%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JON MARLOW
Fax number
  • (754) 322-0780

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

910 Southwest 15th Street
Deerfield Beach, FL 33441
Phone: (754) 322-0650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Highlands Christian Academy
Pompano Beach, FL


Bright Horizons
Pompano Beach, FL




International Prep School
Deerfield Beach, FL


Premier Academy School
Pompano Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT