Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Zion Lutheran Christian

Private | PK-12 | 410 students

Academics, athletics, character building and leadership development

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Deerfield Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

This school gave me anxiety. The kids here so absolutely disgusting. Throughout my years here I only found like 4 people I actually like. I remember there was a huge cockroach in the CAFETERIA! That is completely unsanitary. I felt like I had no freedom to do anything. People would even get yelled at for not recycling. The odors in the bathroom were repulsive. The stench made my eyes water. As for teachers, I only liked 3 of them and this made school VERY tough! I think my friends would agree with me on this review..


Posted April 10, 2014

Education is terrible and way behind. Administration in need of new leadership. Not at all a Christian atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

As a former student of this school, I feel that this school has good intentions, but falls drastically short of said intentions. They display themselves as a good Christian school that molds yound individuals into mature, intellectual, and faithful adults. However, the faculty themselves are not qualified to fulfil this task. They often lie and take sides in disputes without listening to the entire scenario (as a moderator should do), and they tend to abandon those who are struggling, rather than help them. Not to mention that a large portion of the staff and student body is not actually of the faith that the school defines itself to be.As i stated, they do have good intentions, but they have a loong way to go before they can live up to their words.


Posted July 25, 2011

I am not sure if I agree with the school being rating one of the best when it comes to steering Young Adults in the right direction. The administrators and especially some of the teachers are not compassionate as Jesus is. In most cases, I ve been told that teaches have gone as far as to discourage children by telling them that they would never amount to anything, which I know is all a matter of opinion. Some of the teachers and administrator have gone as far as lying, and this is not right. Zion could be a wonderful school, if they could get there act together. Children are the future and as adults it is our responsible to steer them in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Wonderful school with wonderful Lutheran Christian atmosphere! From pre K to High School...Zion Lutheran Christian School has it all!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

We have been at Zion Lutheran for many years. While there have been bumps in the road the school is in headed in a great direction. There is a Great High School / Middle School Principal and Administration. There are good Teachers. My child has top scores on the annual national SAT testing. Would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

I feel very fortunate to have found Zion Lutheran Christian School when I moved into the area one year ago. I found this school to be very supportive, caring , nuturing, disciplined but most of all safe! The adminstrative staff is extremely supportive and accomodating. The teachers are great! The academics and athletics are well rounded. I am very happy with this school and recommend it highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

As a parent, my experience at Zion has been favorable. The high school faculty are brilliant, truly dedicated to the students and passionate about their profession. Administrators are sincere, helpful and professional. Zion has been a positive experience. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

The review just below this one is not accurate, at least regarding the high school. Many, if not most, of the high school teachers are former public-school teachers, and are certified. Also, while the school may have been somewhat disorganized in previous years, the new principal, Mr. Kemp (a former public-school principal with many years of experience) has greatly improved the situation. I am very happy with the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

The teacher's are not certified. The school is very unorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

We are very happy with Zion's Pre-School and will be sending our kids to their Elementary School too. So far we have experienced the 3 and 4 year old classes and think they are great. Lots of extra activities to keep it interesting and fresh for both students and parents, plus the teachers are nice and the kids are great. Plus really good academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I agree with the positive comment submitted earlier. My daughter is in 9th grade and is very pleased with the school. Mr. Kemp, the new Principal, brought some changes that started to bear fruits. The staff is courteous and very helpful. The teachers are good, but I am hoping for a more rigorous curriculum in 10th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

Our children have been at Zion Lutheran since infancy and we've seen them learn and mature not only mentally but, physically and spiritualy. The staff strives continually to teach and encourage the children to be their best. While the school has gone through changes like any other school does, it remains a school dedicated to continue to to reach out and embrace it's students. Most recently Zion's adminstration added Mr. Kemp as their High School Principal. He comes with many years of experience and is making a tremendous inpact in the High School. Zion has also up dated their security and technology and it is continuing to improve on those areas daily. We are proud Zion Lions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I have been at Zion for 17 years. I had one child start at age 3 and graduated in 2006. He is now attending college at a Florida University. My other child is in the middle school. His SAT national achievment scores have always ranked him in top percentile for his age group. Most of the teachers are great some not so great as you would find in all schools. As a whole the school is a safe place to send your child. The Athletic department runs a strong program that has had alot of success this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

My daughter graduated from Zion in the class of 2007 after attending the school for 12 years. While I felt her early years in elementary and middle school were good and productive, High School was another story.Total lack of direction by the board and office,numerous headmasters or none at all for periods of times, high turnover every year of mediocre teachers.Church had interim pastors and finally the last one left.Finally her last year they lost the core of good teachers and coaches. I feel she got out just in time. Web site has not been updated in over a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

The school lacks direction. Homework is terribly lacking, and assignments are not challenging. Children in the middle school are tested on HIGHLIGHTED material in a chapter, not the CONTENT of the chapter. How anyone with eyes can rate this school highly mystifies me. Jeez, we had a recent graduate have no clue how to say MAGISTRATE at a graduation function as if it was never heard in a classroom. Some teachers are wonderful, but seem to be driven out. High school enrollment for 2008 I believe is around TWENTY! It would seem that the majority of parents whose Children attend Zion agree with me and would rather take chances elsewhere. Finally there is WAY too much foul language used around campus to be tolerated in a Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

I am horribly disappointed. The framework for a great school is being hidden under a very non-professional management. The quality of the academics and athletics is poor. Families are being driven out. I cannot believe that there will be enough enrollment for the high school to remain open.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

Zion Was a good school until this year. Now it is falling apart. The teachers are great though. Athletics are a disapontment to me. It is not chalanging. Dissaponted
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

Zion is an amazing school. While it had gone through some difficult times in the past year, there clearly remains a dedicated, highly qualified, able, caring staff of teachers and administrators who truly care about our children. Zion is making sigificant and highly innovative improvements in technology, with a full middle school honors prgram and additional AP classes in the high school. I wouldn't send my child anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

Zion is the best school in Broward County! We have two children in the elementary school, including a 5th Grader who can't wait to enroll in Zion's middle school next year. The school uses Saxon for reading and math, and is constantly updating their curriculum. They have one computer lab for the elementary school and a seaparte lab for the middle/high school, with brand new Dell computers. Based on my children's standardized test scores, my experience with the teaching staff, and the involvement of administration, I have no doubt that my kids are getting the best possible education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 44%
Black 13% 29%
Hispanic 12% 24%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • The Rev. Paul J. Schweinler
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran
Associations
  • FCIS
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (954) 421-4250

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

959 SE 6th Ave
Deerfield Beach, FL 33441
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 421-3146

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Saint Ambrose
Deerfield Beach, FL






Hope Lutheran School
Pompano Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT