Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Quiet Waters Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1437 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2014

My school was QWE. I can't even put this school in words--- it was THAT excellent. The staff and teachers provided care and love and I looked forward to going there everyday. Students were not just statistics of the school but people who were cherished by the QWE community. I will always remember the great times I had at the school! QWE FOREVER! Previous Student: Aakansha M


Posted August 23, 2013

Quiet Waters Elementary School Quiet Waters Elementary School is TOP NOTCH! My child's fifth grade teacher, Mrs. Werner was the absolute BEST! She met all of my daughter's needs throughout the year. Her FCAT scores soared, but more importantly, her self-esteem and confidence skyrocketed! I could never thank Mrs. Werner enough for what she has done for my daughter. She is definitely a small needle in a LARGE haystack! (One of a kind and very hard to find!!) The administrators are absolutely phenomenal too. Miss McConaughey and Mr. Hartner are the BEST around. My daughter Still talks about Miss McConaughey and Mr. Hartner and their kindness! I can never thank Mrs. Werner, Miss McConaughey, and Mr. Hartner enough for what they have instilled in my daughter. She will always look back with appreciation to her brilliant fifth grade teacher and unforgettable administrators who have touched her heart and soul and helped her become the confident and successful child she is today! Thank you - A very appreciative parent!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

QWE is by far the best elementary school in Florida! Hands down. The principal is amazing. I've never met anyone like her. She takes a personal interest in each of the students at the school and as big as it is, she knows them all! I have two boys at this school currently. My oldest has had three teachers. All of which have been excellent. I've had no problem with communication between myself and the teachers. I do agree with the parent who mentioned that there is a huge influx of ESL students and that for some reason parent participation is not great with them. But we do have an amazing PTA and those that participate put their heart and time into making all the events and fundraisers great! The only thing that I can say wrong about this school is that there is a dress code and I would like to see that more of the kids follow it. This again is a parent issue. It amazes me when the adults set the example of not following the rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

Wonderful staff, principle is excellent! There is an influxe of ESL students coming into this school district, which is becoming a burden on teachers responsibility to teach and converse in English to these children and their families. In turn the this is bring down the school as a whole. The teachers are fantastic but the school has more than the 18 children per class, overcrowding is now an issue. Special subjects have been eliminated and there are no real extracurricular activities to speak of. The parent involvement is down as well, it's the same faces. The immigrant parents are becoming less involved with the school and defiant to the rules of this County and school. This schools staff is wonderful but ... I would give this school a 6 to 7 out of 10. I do agree with previous comment I also know of students that do not live in boundary for this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My son is in first grade and I'm very satisfied with the school. His teacher is a little too strict for 6 yrs old kids, though.We miss that 'bond' between teacher-student this year.School has been very corcerned about being overcrowded and keep close track of student's address&school boundaries.The Principal is great.I'd like to see more extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

The school is user friendly, and very helpful. My two grandchildren attend and they love it.


Posted December 2, 2009

I have twin boys who attend the pre-k program for 4 year olds and they love it. Their teachers are awesome. Mrs. Abrams and Mrs. Bush are excellent teachers for children of this age. I am so happy I chose this place as a starting place for my boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

My Child is in the second grade at QWE and loves it. My husband and I are very happy with the school. We would however like to see more Extracurricular Activities. My child was very upset this year as there is no longer an art teacher so that special was taken away from the students, this was her favorite special. I would like to see an art teacher put in place so the kids can have this special back. I also feel they need to check on were some of these kids live, as I know of at least 3 that are not in the district but use someone else's address, not fair to the ones that pay taxes for their child to attend the school that is over crowd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Our school has highly qualified teachers & Staff who are dedicated, warm and caring. We have the best Principal who sets high standards and takes the time to address each child by their name. Our school is the largest Elementary in Broward County and the students show great pride in wearing their uniforms and keeping our campus tidy. I am a proud parent of Quiet Waters Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

I am a student at QWE. I love this place! The teachers are excellent and the gifted program is superb. The teachers in our advanced classes are the best and teach us what we need to become a sucess. I actually find myself looking forward to going to school on mornings and weekends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2007

My children are learning and growing with your excellent staff. I love quiet waters and will send my 2 year old too, in another couple of years so get ready for another one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

Wonderful school. My daughter loves it. Lots of programs to keep kids motivated. The admin staff knows most kids by name. Great musical/drama programs and you should see the art these kids produce! Very overcrowded and kudos to the staff for dealing so well with the conditions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

FABULOUS school! Our son excelled in virtually every area, had a lot of encouragement and support, and the administration is phenomenal. Wish every school could be this good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My 2nd grader loves Quiet Waters. The staff seems like they know each child individually and my daughter feels very comfortable there. I wouldn't change anything! Her school work is great which shows that she enjoys her days there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

I am happy with the quality of academic programs but would like to see more sports and other extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

This is the third year at Quietwaters for my children. From the start it felt like a second home. The children are addressed caringly and by their first names by all staff and faculty. I would like to see more extracurricular activities available. But the school has an 'A' rating, in spite of major growth lately, and they have managed to maintain a safe and caring environment in the process. I am pleased with most of the teachers, and the administration works well with the parents when we have a questions or concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

I have three children and all have attented Quietwaters.I have had a great experience at the school.The staff is wonderful. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2004

Not a great school for gifted children, but they appear to be good for average children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2003

I was actually a student at QWE...It is a great school and I loved going there. The teachers are outstanding and I would reccomend it to all.


Posted June 18, 2003

Quiet Waters Elementary School is a consistent, high performing public school. The principal is caring and has good rapport with her staff. The parents are very involved and the School Advisory Council diligently works on the school's improvement plan. This school is an 'A' rated school and a member of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. The school spirit is terrific!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

226 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

226 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

222 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

205 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 38%
Hispanic 36%
Black 19%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 115%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 226%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 44%53%61%
Master's degree 55%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LORI MCCONAUGHEY
Fax number
  • (754) 322-8140

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4150 West Hillsboro Boulevard
Deerfield Beach, FL 33442
Phone: (754) 322-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT