Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walton High School

Public | 9-12 | 670 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Poor School. Needs to put as much effort into education as it does in athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

My son has used the virtual school program twice and I have found the teachers to go beyond their job to help him out in any way that they can. He has attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, so sometimes it takes some extra explaining, some extra understanding and a little boost to his self confidence to get him through. I can always count on the teachers in the virtual school to want the best for the student and to help them achieve it. I would love to see more virtual classes in the future. Thank you, S. Reynolds
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

Teachers don't return emails, with the rare exception of just a few who actually care. Most of the newer, younger teachers don't give a flip about anything, very unprofessional. Students there have said the interior design teacher actually sends students out to get her fast food, during school hours. Mr. Hughes is a great guy, but he needs to clean house. They need some decent math and science teachers. Only a few like Yates, King and Jenkins are any good. They really need some decent math teachers. Parents can't be involved because most teachers don't communicate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

Walton high scool is an wonderful school. Every single teacher cares about you and your academics. its a wonderful experience to have the teachers that i have there. I am currently a senior and i have enjoyed every year. Mr. Hughes is a great principal. He interacts with the students on a daily basis and even at the meetings he delivers a strong message about the academics. The guidence counselor is also very great. She lets me know what i need to do to graduate or even what scholarships i can even achieve. Just a terrific school all the way through.


Posted May 23, 2012

I'm a former student of this school. When I moved here and entered this school, I was soon extremely disappointed in the school. The teachers a horrid. I had a science teacher that spent half of the year on just the first five chapters of our book. Not only that, but he neither majored or minored in science and had little knowledge of the subject. I found myself tutoring many of my fellow students. This was last year, 2011. I find it sad that one of my teachers did not know that ignorant was not equivalent to the word stupid. I'm glad that I switched schools to go to Collegiate in Niceville. I saw no future for myself at Walton. I wish I had more space to continue on about the lack of leadership from the principal. There is a lack of academic programs and focus on academics overall. There is more focus on sports than academics. I found myself in my freshman year taking freshman classes with seniors that kept failing. They also only offer two foreign languages, Spanish and French, for sophomores and up. That's quite inconvenient if you're wanting to get your two years foreign language out of the way so you can take other classes towards college. I would never send my children here.


Posted September 21, 2009

This school is an amazing plan for the future of its students. They offer the opportunity to take classes over at the WCDC (or walton career, development center) I cant think of a better school to send your children.


Posted May 6, 2008

walton high is a very good school...i mean it has its ups and downs...but what school doesnt. but as far as academics...mr.hughes has brought out the best in these students..i feel that the school is improving day by day...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

I took my children out of this school and drive about 80 miles every day to take my children to school in a different county. I have faith that Mr. Hughes will turn things around. He did a wonderful job with the Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

The school is a good school. I do beleive myself though that it wont be like that for the next year's to come. Because of the new principal Mr.Hughes. I didnt like him when my studet went to Middle School and I wont like it now. The teachers are great. Some of the people in the office though seem to pick and choose what students they seem to like better and give them alittle more lee way with things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

Walton high is a very personal and exceptionally well staffed facility. The teachers are very down to earth and provide a very comforting feeling with the way they teach.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2006

A great school overall even though administration seems to value sports more than academics. However, although administration places heavy emphasis on sports, most teachers continue to maintain high academic standards.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

194 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
68%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
49%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 75%
Black 14%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 82%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%68%61%
Master's degree 20%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

449 Walton Road
DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 892-1270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cornerstone Church Academy
DeFuniak Springs, FL


Galilean Academy
DeFuniak Springs, FL


Walton Virtual School Full Time
DeFuniak Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT