Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

738 students|Walton
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walton High School 1

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Poor School. Needs to put as much effort into education as it does in athletics.

Walton High School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
My son has used the virtual school program twice and I have found the teachers to go beyond their job to help him out in any way that they can. He has attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, so sometimes it takes some extra explaining, some extra understanding and a little boost to his self confidence to get him through. I can always count on the teachers in the virtual school to want the best for the student and to help them achieve it. I would love to see more virtual classes in the future. Thank you, S. Reynolds


Walton High School 2

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
Teachers don't return emails, with the rare exception of just a few who actually care. Most of the newer, younger teachers don't give a flip about anything, very unprofessional. Students there have said the interior design teacher actually sends students out to get her fast food, during school hours. Mr. Hughes is a great guy, but he needs to clean house. They need some decent math and science teachers. Only a few like Yates, King and Jenkins are any good. They really need some decent math teachers. Parents can't be involved because most teachers don't communicate.

Walton High School 4

Posted August 09, 2012
- a community member
Walton high scool is an wonderful school. Every single teacher cares about you and your academics. its a wonderful experience to have the teachers that i have there. I am currently a senior and i have enjoyed every year. Mr. Hughes is a great principal. He interacts with the students on a daily basis and even at the meetings he delivers a strong message about the academics. The guidence counselor is also very great. She lets me know what i need to do to graduate or even what scholarships i can even achieve. Just a terrific school all the way through.

Walton High School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a community member
This school is an amazing plan for the future of its students. They offer the opportunity to take classes over at the WCDC (or walton career, development center) I cant think of a better school to send your children.


Walton High School 3

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
walton high is a very good school...i mean it has its ups and downs...but what school doesnt. but as far as academics...mr.hughes has brought out the best in these students..i feel that the school is improving day by day...

Walton High School 2

Posted August 01, 2007
- a parent
I took my children out of this school and drive about 80 miles every day to take my children to school in a different county. I have faith that Mr. Hughes will turn things around. He did a wonderful job with the Middle School.

Walton High School 4

Posted June 30, 2007
- a parent
The school is a good school. I do beleive myself though that it wont be like that for the next year's to come. Because of the new principal Mr.Hughes. I didnt like him when my studet went to Middle School and I wont like it now. The teachers are great. Some of the people in the office though seem to pick and choose what students they seem to like better and give them alittle more lee way with things.


Walton High School 4

Posted March 01, 2006
- a student
Walton high is a very personal and exceptionally well staffed facility. The teachers are very down to earth and provide a very comforting feeling with the way they teach.

Walton High School 4

Posted February 02, 2006
- a student
A great school overall even though administration seems to value sports more than academics. However, although administration places heavy emphasis on sports, most teachers continue to maintain high academic standards.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walton High School
449 Walton Road, DeFuniak Springs, FL  32433
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (850) 892-1270
Last modified Walton High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top