Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK, 9-12|Public district
2,320 students|Volusia
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deland High School 1

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
This school is filled with teachers who could care less if their students succeed. During freshman year I was very Sick and was in the hospital for 2 weeks. Instead of excusing me from assignments I could not possibly make up, they gave me 0s. Thus lowering my GPA to a mere 1.7. Teachers also do not allow makeup work due to their rotten attitutes. Additionally, the students are very immature and the administration is weak. As before mentioned, there are very little substitutes and students are forced to sit in the cafeteria with hundreds of other students. I would never recommended this school to ANYONE. I am switching to FLVS so I can actually get an education .

Deland High School 2

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff I have met are very kind and some demonstrate interest in the students. However, having come from Lake Brantley HS (Seminole County) I have to admit Deland HS made me want to move right back! I think it's very sad that as a community and school we don't do much to improve our children's education. As parents and adults (staff) , I think that we should give a damn and set a high standards for our kids. If a student wants to cut class, pick fights, use horrible language then they have no need to attend the school. Give the kids that actually want to succeed a chance to get ahead! I can't understand why the City of Deland hasn't invested more money in their HS , to be quite honest I think the city should build a separate HS. Parent


Deland High School 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a community member
If I didn't have to give a star, then I would rate this school a zero. They left me completely uninformed up until registering for my senior year. I now have to take 8 classes instead of the normal 7. That was until I found out they also got rid of French 2, meaning I will have to take that online this summer while I am a camp counselor. In December I was told not to take the PERT because of my FCAT scores, then when I went to register for senior year I was told I am being pulled from my AP courses and placed in remedial classes for "skipping" the PERT. DHS has taken me from a 4.0 student to a 3.0 student and the teachers here sure know how to leave you feeling like an awful person. I would definitely never suggest DHS for your student.

Deland High School 1

Posted April 22, 2014
- a community member
I've read a few comments from students who claim they made great academic achievements at this school, but their grammar is horrible! If your grammar is terrible, then maybe you aren't doing as well as you thought you were. Anyway, this school is terrible. With 51 health violations? Count me out. The students? Apparently not the best. In 2011, Examiner.com states that 8 fights, each involving 20 or 30 students broke out. Not hard to believe, considering I went to DeLand High my freshman and sophomore year. Everyone always wanted to fight each other. Not very mature. I also think that if teachers and the principal will allow all of this to go on, they aren't amazing at controlling students or enforcing the rules. Plus, when I went there, there were hardly any substitutes, they just sent classes to the cafeteria. The teachers put in charge of watching over students in the cafeteria don't even do their jobs. This all just adds up to students easily sneaking in and skipping class. This is just based off of what I've seen first-hand.

Deland High School 2

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
This school is a perfect example of the blind leading the blind. No one gives a rip! I am looking into where I can move my child. Horrible.


Deland High School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a community member
I am a sophomore in the engineering academy at the school. I have been very successful there, and it has shaped me in very positive ways. A lot of scary stories come out of there, and I admit I have my own. Some people see Deland, and automatically turn there nose up at it. Maybe it's the fact that it pulls from all walks of life, and actually has somewhat mixed demographic. what ever the reason, I am not entirely sure. It has taught me how to deal with all kinds of people. I have met lots of friends there; It has a large since of community in my opinion. I am enjoying every minute of it. Lets go bulldogs!!!

Deland High School 2

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Geometry Math teacher is uninterested in teaching, but enjoys get paid for nothing. Students are not learning.

Deland High School 2

Posted April 21, 2012
- a parent
My child had a poor experience at this school. The administration and teachers do nothing to control the profanity in the school. My child was also attacked by students in the physical education class. The action taken by the administration is always- after the fact. This school needs to seriously consider a program to help students understand how to respect themselves and others. I would not recommend this school to any middle school student.


Deland High School 5

Posted December 16, 2010
- a parent
My son attended and played on the football team '09. He received a scholarship to college and was greatly helped by the Principal (Mr. Moyer), Athletic Director (Mr. Clements) and his Coach (Kevin Pettis). My wife and I also attended DHS...Bulldog Pride

Deland High School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2010
- a parent
I went there, and so did the rest of my family. Go Bulldogs!!!!

Nearby schools

Deland High School
800 North Hill Avenue, DeLand, FL  32724
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. (386) 822-6500
Last modified Deland High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top