Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George W. Marks Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 526 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2013

I went hear when i first started school10 school years ago. I thought this school was a terrific and kind school


Posted July 2, 2009

After all, it's DeLand's one of the oldest schools. Disappointed with the administrators. They don't seem to listen to students and teachers about their needs. Other than that, teachers are great. They work very hard to make sure students are where they are supposed to be. The school has many activities throughout the schoolyear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

I attended George Marks and my daughter did also, this is an excellent school with teachers who care
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

Great school the teachers are very nice i would reccomend it to any parent.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My experiences with George Marks Elementary school have been excellent. The administration and teacher quality, the school climate (including the ability to create an environment free from bullying which supports both tolerance and diversity) and availablity of resources have all been great. Both of my son's have had outstanding teachers who have had a major influence on their love of learning - Mrs. Manning (2nd) and Mrs' Phillips & Furley (4th) have all exemplified the patience, committment and tenacity that build young scholars. I couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

I believe this used to be a good school. I am, however, very disappointed. It is not as good as everyone thinks it is, and I am happy my kids are elsewhere now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

The best school in deland by far.. My daughter attented there k-4... We moved to al thats why were not there anymore...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

Our child has attended G.W.Marks for 5 years. I was impressed from the first day when I saw the Principal out in the street directing traffic.One summer my daughter's picture was in the paper and the principal took the time to cut it out and mail it to us. Thats the kind of example she sets. They have one of the few elementary concert bands in the country and last year ranked #1 under a band leader who donates his time to have the band. My daughter scored 95 on her 3rd grade FCAT last year so I would say she has been taught well. We love the school and its staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

My son has Mrs. Joiner for his K teacher and she has been wonderful teacher and she is very structured with the students. George Marks Elementry School also has the YMCA after-school program which is Christian base and it is held at the school. In addition, it has fundays when school is out. The school is very formative and caring when it comes to their students. I like the home calls on extra events, early realease, and etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

We are pleased with the school and particularly with the music program. We've just returned from a terrific holiday concert. Our daughter is now playing the trumpet, and she is energized by the quality of the band experience. She practices her trumpet every day without being reminded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

I took my son out of this school and what a relief. I was excited to be a part of the school until I started knowing what really goes on. The teachers are subpar and staff is as bad. Glad those days are behind us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2007

I think this a very good school. It is very organize. The principal is very good on remembering which child belongs to who and their name. She is very personable and make everyone feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

This is a great school, but going down fast. Art is a plus with 2 different teachers. Too many brand new to teaching teachers are going to hurt the reputation of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

As a regular volunteer at George Marks Elementary, I can say this school rocks! The music, art, and ESE department are exceptional. The music department is the most amazing I've seen at the elementary level. Now to the teachers...they are the hardest working bunch of teachers around. Go by after hours and you'll see what I mean. They're smart, dedicated and kind. (I've seen the second and third grade teachers' style up close.) While we all know the FCAT is important, it's not the beginning and end at this school. The office staff is super friendly and helpful while still keeping the students' safety a priority. The weak link is if you have a child that speaks a different language. While these teachers are highly skilled they don't meet with students very often. Your child will likely have a great learning experience at GME.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

This school has been a very disappointing experience. There is a lack of parental involvement at the school which is very sad to see. I have volunteered and could not believe the lack of respect for the students from not only the teacher but other staff members as well. Overall totally disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

George Marks is an excellent school where staff constantly goes above and beyond to ensure student safety and academic excellence. I am proud to send my child to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

George Marks has a long reputation as one of the top schools in the area. The long tenure of many of the teachers and the principal have enabled the school to maintain a consistent level of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2004

Excellent School. It has been rated A for 3years in a row. Very diciplined atmosphere but has loving teachers very dedicated. Teachers ask to be placed here in this school. There is special ed services and full time gifted classes for the accelerated student. Children and grandchildren have gone here and we are truly grateful to this school for good instruction and a good administration
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 20% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%56%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Kate Godbee
Fax number
  • (386) 822-6636

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 N Garfield Ave
DeLand, FL 32724
Phone: (386) 822-6630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Casa Montessori
DeLand, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT