Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blue Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 684 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2012

This is not a very good school. I went to it and I did not like it. Some teachers were good but others weren't. The staff people were worse. I hope this school becomes better than it was when i went there.


Posted October 8, 2010

I have two grandchildren who attend Blue Lake Elementary school and i personally think it is a wonderful school the teachers there are amazing not only are they great teachers but they truly care about their students. wouldn't want the kids going anywhere else


Posted July 19, 2009

Blue Lake Elementary provides for my children a safe and caring envioronment. I love the strong leadership provided by both and Principal and the Assistant. The teaching teams are terrific. It is definitely a family oriented school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

Administrators and teachers truly care about each student at Blue Lake. This is a safe and loving learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

School provides many meaningful extracurricular activities. You can see a true comeraderie among many of the various grade levels and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Overall rating for this school is three stars. My son attended grades K-2[first grading period]. The teachers were great and willing to work with my son to bring out the smarts in him. But the administration [principal and assistant principal] needs some help as to how to appropriately discipline children. I feel that especially in the early years that suspension and detention does not work for the young ones because at times they still do not comprehend what they have done is wrong. The administration may feel that it is our responsibility to teach our kid s right from wrong but when we send our kids to school, how can we control what poor habits are obtained from other kids and adults?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

My two children excelled in this caring environment..my 3rd grader received 5's on her FCAT's!! We love the newly renovated - state of the art rooms and the loyal staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

Both my son's went to Pre-k full time language class here for speech problems.They came out ready for K at our zoned school and with a solid foundation toward reading.The teachers were wonderfull and the other staff was great.They realy care about the kids here.The extra programs and big heart's are what set' this school apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

The environment is wonderful teachers and staff they are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

Wonderful! I love the teachers, and they are so good with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 40%
Hispanic 34%
Black 22%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%56%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. WILLIE WILLIAMS
Fax number
  • (386) 822-6765

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

282 North Blue Lake Avenue
DeLand, FL 32724
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 822-6760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT