Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freedom Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 690 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2009

I love this school, and both of my daughters have had great experiences for the past four years. My older daughter is a fantastic reader and her 3rd grade teachers (Mrs. Leonard and Mrs. Crayne) have really fostered a love of reading. My younger daughter's Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Drury, is also excellent. The kids get so much encouragement and there are so many chances to earn special rewards based on their achievement and completion of assigments (ie., choosing certain activies, movies or pizza parties on Friday afternoon, etc). The aftercare program is also excellent, and they separate the kids by grade and have them sit down and do their homework right after school. The kids love have a lot of fun in the program and just love the women who run it. Awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Horrible experience I think there is no work in school and only work for home. My child did not get any attention as there were too many kids and I removed her from this school I did not like their system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

This school is awsome! My children love it. The staff are great especially Mrs. Bernice. She is wonderfull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

2007-2008 was our first experience with the public school system in Florida. My son is with Mrs. Crayne in 3rd grade and we all love her. She has worked wonders with him. We came to Freedom from St. Barnabas. My son attended there from preK3 through 2nd grade. I guess I was under the misguided assumption that because it was a 'private' school and a 'Christian' school that he would be in good hands. This was not the case at all. His second grade year was so horrible that he hated school and cried often. The atmosphere is totally different at Freedom. It is friendly, safe, and is not run by a few select people. Parents are welcomed to participate but it is not 'required'. If I had known what a wonderful environment he would be in, I would have made the switch much sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I love this school. The teachers and staff are very pleasant. I love every aspect of this school. Thank you Freedom for being absolutely wonderful to my girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

This school is a very clean and safe school for the children. It is in a very open and empty neighborhood. The staff there, from teachers to office staff, are the sweetest and kindest people. My son is in Kindergarten but also did Pre- K at Freedom over the summer. He loves the school and the teachers. His favorite teacher is Mrs. Depadova (I don't know the spelling). He has Mrs. Harriss right now but she is out on medical leave. He has had a wonderful substitute while she is out but Mrs. Harriss still looks at all his work and sends notes home to the parents to show she still cares. Overall this is a great school and I would recommend it to every parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2006

The teachers are superb and genuinely care about the children. Parents are welcome on campus and teachers are always available for conferences, readily accomodating a working parent's schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

Great teachers have flocked to this school! Though it doesn't offer a gifted program, my child's teachers make a great effort to offer him enrichment activities, instead of making him follow along at a snail's pace with the regular curriculum. They seem genuinely concerned with my child's education. Administrators are the greatest, and seem to know each child by name. PTA could be more active--haven't seen much going on there. Plenty of outdoor playground space. Offers music and art classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2004

When I left this school, I cried. Not just because I left My friends, but I left the deland atmosphere. The Freedom elementary atmosphere. And Plus It was A huge change from people always being nice to me...to people being rude to me( when I mean people, I'm talking about the difference from Freedom elementary to Red Bug Elementary.) I have to say this school is one of the best there is, and if your hearing this from a 10 year old's veiw, than think of it in yours.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 16%
Black 15%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%56%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1395 South Blue Lake Avenue
DeLand, FL 32724
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 943-7670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Geneva Academy
DeLand, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT