Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Atlantic High School

Public | 9-12 | 2152 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2007

The jury is still out on Atlantic High for our family. We have children in the IB program and the teaching and communication appears to be sub-standard. Try and find contact emails on the school website. This makes communication more difficult than they need to be. Response from teachers to e.g. requests for lesson plans etc. is non existent. Sports is a joke. Drop off and pick-up is a nightmare (and this is a new school!).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

Atlantic Community High School in Delray Beach, Florida is ranked 25th out of the top 100 High Schools in the USA (Newsweek, 2006). I have had one daughter graduate from the IB Diploma program and another in her 1st year in the IB program. I have taught at Atlantic for the last 6 years and have been extremely pleased with the school. Atlantic has some very dedicated teachers and administration. I am very pleased with the location, academics, and people that I work with and teach my children. They go out of their way to help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

My daughter just graduated from Atlantic's IB program. I'd have to say that the IB program has one of the best curriculums available for students. Being in the IB program allowed her and her peers to get into top tier schools that their peers in other high schools (who had the same grades) couldn't get into. The IB program focused on studying and research and had some of the most interested teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

We are moving to NC and have looked around for an IB for my daughter and, honestly, there is nothing out there like Atlantic High, especially after the move to the new facility. The teachers are great as well as the staff (the only problem is the access!). We will miss it! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

I am a past student of Atlantic High,class of 1993. I have gained alot from this school.The teachers were nice and focused on the students achieving their goals and grades. The JROTC programme is a plus. I was tutored under the leadership of Col. Calderon and Sgt. Breckner.This experience thought me to be descipline andgave me the courage to conquer my fears and face responsibilities. My guidence teacher was always concerned when I had a concern and she dealt with it and it was smiles of joy at the end of the day. I appreciated the care and treatment that I had recieved from Atlantic, that it brings tears of joy when I hear the name call. I recommend anyone to entrust their childs education in the care of Atlantic. They will fly like EGALES in the future. I am now a CEO, of Transportation in the Bahamas.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 20, 2005

Great school! Academics are the best! IB program is a rare find in public school! Dr. Weigel is a great role model and principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

Academics are excellent at this 18 outta the nations top 100 high schools. Extracurriculars are decent not great. Parent involvment is bassicaly null.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2005

My child is in IB. I am thrilled with the program and with the impending move to a new site it's everything I would want for my child. The guidance counselors are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

Great school. My daughter went there and now she is attending Harvard. The IB program is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

Parent of a junior honors and freshmen honors students. The buildings are shabby, but if you look past that, it is the best kept secret in palm beach county high schools. Quality education, great staff, principal really cares about the students. The colleges are well aquainted with the caliber of students hailing from atlantic. Our kids were accepted to ib, but declined in order to play 2 varsity sports, work and do clubs, community service, etc. We are not disappointed in that decision, as honors is rigorous, but not overwhelming. We love being a part of the atlantic family, and love the deep roots it has in the community. Some teachers have been there 30 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

Speaking as an Atlantic High senior and International Baccalaureate diploma candidate, I can say that this school has an encouraging environment. The teachers are very skilled and professional and guidance counselors are supportive, caring, and helpful. The AHS IB program molds well rounded individuals who are prepared for college and the real world. Atlantic High offers IB, AP, and honors courses that are both rigorous and stimulating. Also, The extracurricular activities available are so varied that each student can find a club or activity which they can enjoy and which fits his or her needs. I have been quite satisfied with my academic career at Atlantic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2003

I graduated from the International Baccalaureate program at Atlantic in 2000 and my sister is graduating from honors classes in 2003. I am currently in medical school and still pull out some of my high school notes for reference... my teachers at Atlantic were incredible. They knew their subjects, enjoyed teaching, and spent as much time with me as I needed to learn the material. My chemistry teacher spent her lunch break with me on more than one occasion to help me through the class. I have no reserve saying the teachers at Atlantic are hands down the most caring instructors I've ever had. There are extracurricular activities for any sport, hobby, or interest you can imagine. Some students can be rough or violent at times, but the administration has a handle on that. I didn't feel completely sheltered, but I never feared for my safety. Overall, Atlantic High should be ranked one of the top schools in Florida.


Posted August 22, 2003

Atlantic High pays more attention to who is wearing a short skirt rather than providing a good education for the kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 31, 2003

atlantic high school has been great to me it is the best school i can say that really focus on student education than what they can get out of the students of the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

559 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

520 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

524 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

514 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

366 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
20%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

533 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

415 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
71%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

532 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 54%
White 24%
Hispanic 12%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 86%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%73%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. ANTHONY LOCKHART
Fax number
  • (561) 243-1532

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2455 West Atlantic Avenue
Delray Beach, FL 33445
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 243-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





TLC Christian Academy
Delray Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT