Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plumosa School Of The Arts

Public | K-5 | 590 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2010

I moved my two kids who tested "gifted" from a so called 'A' rated School in palm beach county to Plumosa. They are both in the Dual language side of the school. The teachers actually care... something I could not get at the other 'more affluent' school. Best thing we did as parents for our kids. Their rating is not reflective of the teachers or staff and there ability to get kids to engage in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

I took my child out of a local private school and put him in Plumosa last year. It was an excellent decision. He loved the school, and he excelled. His teachers were kind and exciting. The change in his outlook and confidence was like night and day after he started at Plumosa. This school's poor rating really needs to be re-evaluated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

My child is in K, enrolled in the dual language program and caucasian. After reading the 'statistics' of the school I have to admit I was nervous. The school doesn't have the best rating, is butted up to a not so great neighborhood and is old. I visited many times before making my decision and chatted with several teachers, faculty and parents. Now more than 1/2 way thru the 1st year I am certain we made the right decision! Her dual language program is incredible and she loves it! Education thru the 'School of the Arts' is such a fun way to learn and keeps her so involved. The teachers care about us as people not just numbers. It is important for all parents to know it is not the schools 100% responsibility to teach our children. Get involved and both your children and the school will benefit! We love Plumosa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I have been the school nurse at Plumosa for the past 11 years. It is the best little school in Delray Beach, Florida. It is a small school with a family feel. And now that we are a school of the arts the children are exposed to even more wonderful activities and events.The staff really acts as surrogate parents providing that extra special feeling and caring to the children. This school should definitely be recognized for everything they accomplish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The best art and dual language program in Palm Beach County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I have been very impressed with all aspects of Plumosa since my child's first day of kindergarten this year. Both the Spanish/English dual language teachers have been outstanding! I an provided with DAILY updates to my child's progress not only by the material that is sent home everyday but through evident progress in our homework sessions each night. I'd have placed 5 stars but due to the age of the building they''ll just have to wait to the new campus opens next year and I'll be glad to credit them with the highest rating I can provide. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Plumosa School of the Arts is the best kept secret in Palm Beach County. I love the opportunity the Choice Program offers as well as the diversity of the student population and the community that supports it. With 12 arts teachers and the dual language program our kids are exposed to more left/right brain creativity than gifted programs I have seen. The 2009/10 School year is already on track for academic excellence. Way to go teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

My friends thought I was crazy to send my daughter to Plumosa's Choice Program. Now they are jealous because they have to apply for the lottery and hope to get in. The teachers are awesome. You can tell they love the kids and are committed to giving them the opportunities a good education has to offer. We are quite happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We love our school because it is small, everyone knows everyone. The teachers are wonderful with the children and our son would never want to miss a day. We are grateful that our school offers an extensive Arts program in addition to the normal schooling. This has stimulated a sense of achievement and self confidence in our child. Thanks Plumosa and thanks teachers !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

nicest school , great teachers, clean , always clean and extraordinary development envoirments for children Ed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Great art program with a wonderful multicultural group


Posted September 27, 2009

this is a great school my daughter always got picked on at trinity lutheran school and now that she goes to plumosa everyone is so sweet and loving i love this school and so should you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

My daughter started school this year at Plumosa School of the Arts. I was hesitant because of the population, but the dual language kindergarten teachers are outstanding! I am also very impressed with the arts program. My daughter goes to dance, art, and chorus weekly. The administration is very accommodating and helpful, but the office staff is a bit rude. I would whole-heartedly recommend this school to any one who is interested in the dual language Spanish program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

My kid started this year at Plumosa, and I have to admit that this school went beyond my expectations. Some of the staff is very incompetent, don't know what they're doing..but teachers are great...The dual program is very good... I'm amazed to see how quick my child is learning. and how much attention she gets from her teachers.so far so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

the school has very little control over the students. discipline is awful! Everytime i have come in to see the Principal she is never there and am forced to get answers from a very incompentent office staff. Seems so unorganized and nobody knows nothing. Frustrating place to go to. My son seemed to like his teacher but the other students bully him and there is nothing ever done to help him. Asistnat principal never called my back. Looking to transfer out of the school, even if it means moving. Do not send your child here until there is a new administation that knows what is going on
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

This school has some challenges however the teachers are very good. They are well-trained and highly skilled. The new principal is a caring person who has won the respect of the teachers and who is constantly making great improvements to the school. Teachers now have support from administration with concerns to discipline issues in the classroom (with the old principal they they did not). I'm sure you will see many improvements in the future. As for programs, the school already has a great Dual Language Program and when the new school is built in two years, it will be a magnet school of the arts. In case you would like to know--I am a teacher not a parent. I also can tell you that school grades are not everything. I worked for many years in an A school--Plumosa is better .
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2005

The facility is outdated and my daughter's experience here was mediocre at best. Her teacher was apathetic, but the gifted half-day program was very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

I am aware that the school is located in a low income neighborhood. I currently live in the state of Texas and my niece who lived here in Texas for several months now unfortunately attends Plumosa Elementary. At Plumosa she discovered that the kids in her grade were far behind in their learning. I am concerned about the kids foul language and fighting that goes on. Nothing is done other else than a 'serious talk'. My niece now talks like she grew up in the ghetto which she did not. She is terrified b/c nothing is done whenever someone tries to fight her. Which at that age, it should not be occuring. Please make the addition of bettering this situation. If it is to occur again then I will make sure the school is broadcasted on TV, and notified, for having a lack of responsibility on all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

This school was highly disappointing overall! The principal was one of the most unhelpful that I have ever come across, my son had personal problems last year and after trying to discuss these issues on numerous occassions with his teachers, school counselor & principal we were made empty promises that were never fulfilled. My son was also assaulted by another child & nothing was ever done about it. I had a therapist come to the school with me to try to discuss my son's education & wellbeing with all personel involved with him & was advised by her to just try to get through to the end of the year & search for another school for 2004-2005, she had never met such unhelpful school personal before. If your child does not fit into the right mold of a good student with no problems, he won't get help here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 58%
White 22%
Hispanic 16%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 157%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 215%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%73%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CATHERINE REYNOLDS
Fax number
  • (561) 330-3950

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2501 Seacrest Boulevard
Delray Beach, FL 33444
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 330-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Seacrest Christian School
Delray Beach, FL


Unity School
Delray Beach, FL



St Vincent Ferrer School
Delray Beach, FL


Gold Coast Jr Academy
Boynton Beach, FL


Gulf Stream School
Gulf Stream, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT