Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

S. D. Spady Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 626 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2009

the PTA folks are fun...our administration cares for the kids, the kids are thriving...we are eco-friendly, academically focused and culturally diverse...we have families from many different nations who synergize each day to help make our school better....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

They have a great sac! The teachers want to be there and do a great job letting the kids progress at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Because of the Montessori spirit, the loving and nuturing atmosphere and the focus on well-being and green living
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Great Montessori program with awesome, caring teachers and staff. Warm, friendly, inviting atmosphere for parents & caregivers to paticipate in their childrens elementary school years. Thank You Spady for being a Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

The montessori program is wonderful. Great teachers, helpful staff & the friendly atmosphere on campus. Plus my children love going to school. They really like their teachers & classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

S.D. Spady is a fabulous school with wonderful teachers and administrators that bring out the best in alll of our children and challenge them educationally!! I love Spady!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

individualized care for it's students, and a caring private school feel. plus 3 year olds are accepted!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

My son comes home daily saying school was great. And then the difference: he actually tells me what was great about it. Hope to get my daughter in too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

for the past 7 years i am blessed to proudly say that my children attended/attend one of the best school in the state, they have great teachers except for some little minor problems here and there but no situation is perfect but for the most part its been wonderful, great nurse wonderful principal and vice principal and best of all GREAT philosophy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

thru out the years ive had two kids go to this school,they have done excellant job,helping me deal with my childrens needs.very pleased with this school,i tell everyone about this school,,but turly believe they need to give awards out it helps kids to want to learn,,all kids like awards,,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

My kid has been for one year there. She is going to 1ths Grade. She loves the school and her teacher. The teachers are so good. The only thing that I am concern its about the comunication in between the diferent departments in the administration. There arent comunication in between parents , teachers and PTA. They are not in the same pat or line. Its like everybody are working in something diferent but nobody knows about the other people and what are they doing. I guess the Administration should try to do something about it. These kinds of issues are allways because the personality of their liders. So maybe they need to think about this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

My daughter just turned 5 and has been there for one and a half year. She is in pre-K and can read at a 2nd or 3rd grade level. I don't do much extra at home except provide material for her to work on when she wants to. I credit Spady for any success she has enjoyed. More importantly, Spady has instilled a love of learning in her that I never possessed as far back as I can remember.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

While my child is doing well in her class I find that she is far behind her cousins her age that attend school outside of Florida. The no dicipline approach, and the second chance theory should be rethought.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

I absolutely love this school. I notice my children are intellectually much further ahead then other children their age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I found that Spady was not appropriate for my child. Children have different learning styles- and the free flowing anything goes atmosphere does not offer the structure and discipline that some children need. I found the academics to be not challenging enough and my child was bored. The most disturbing is that I found the administration to be unfriendly, distant and deceptive. The office staff at the 1/2 year point- still did not even know my name or the name of my child- I found this off putting and not warm or friendly. We left Spady mid- year for a private school, as I can not have my child lose a year of education and on a bigger issue feel that the administration did not have the best interest of my child at heart- rather their own agenda. Everyone has different standards for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I have 5 kids there. I can afford to send them anywhere but CHOSE to send them to Spady elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

Seems like the school is having a difficult time coordinating the Montessori approach with the FCAT approach. I'm not as enthusiastic as I was when my older child attended 8 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

This is my daughter's second year. She loves her school and so do I. I am still ecstatic that she got in. She's doing great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My daughter just started with SD Spady this year and I'm so happy she is in this school. It is a Montessori school which is great for kids to gain independence. They just started a new handwriting program which is fabulous. I just can't say enough good things about Spady.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. I have four children and one who is truning 15 this year went there since he was four, i hav eone there now in 5th grade and hopefully my two youngest will be accepted there. Mr. Clark is an awesome music instructor whom goes the extra mile with your children to ensure that they meet any and all potential they may have, he is pofessional in that he does official auditioning so that onl the best of the best is a part of his chorus. Since my daughter has been ther she has sang in, 'Carnegie hall', 'Kravis Center' etc. The academics at this school are montessori based and there is something to be said for a program where your children can work at their own pace and get ahead as they feel ready. Jordan who is now in 9th is in all advanced classes. Thanks SD Spady.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Black 30%
Hispanic 17%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%73%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. RONA TATA
Fax number
  • (561) 454-7801

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 Northwest 3rd Street
Delray Beach, FL 33444
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 454-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trinity Lutheran School
Delray Beach, FL



TLC Christian Academy
Delray Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT