Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morikami Park Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 808 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2006

Morikami Park was home to my daughter from Kindergarten to fifth grade. Her mother and I were blessed to be able to have her attend such an excellent school. From the quality of the curriculum, programs, to the caring and dedicated faculty our child truly had a world class elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

From people moving to Florida, you will only find 5 schools with the International Bachelor Organization certification. Amongst these five, there's only Morikami rates with 94% FCAT and is within the Boca Raton area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

Nice environment - very academic, not enough recess or special activities to break up the day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

Academically rigorous program, caring staff, welcomes parent involvement, well-run administratively, good school-to-home communications, stresses inquiry based learning, IBO certified Primary Years Programme, strict discipline, uniforms, well maintained building and good level of supplies for teachers due to PTA strength, Rivals area gifted magnet schools in test scores but is open to all students based on lottery system. Writing FCAT scores were 13th in the State in 2004-5!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

Good academic atmosphere. Great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2005

We have two children at MPE and it's a fantastic school. It seems more like a private school than a public one. The kids have access to so many resources, not the least of which are parents who are very 'into it' and support everything the kids do, both academically and in other school activities. The teachers get everything they need in terms of materials (high tech copiers, clean, new textbooks, etc.) and help from the parents (there are lots of volunteers). They all learn French and Spanish; the signs around the school are in multiple languages; the IB program is inquiry based and centered around units, so all the students in each grade learn the same thing at the same time. It's a very interesting, effective system that our kids really love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

I have had two children go thru the IB program, it's wonderful. I wish Morikami went through 12th grade. The specials are great and there is tremdous parental support and volunteers. I'm going to miss Morikami this year as my son graduates. You feel like your at a private school! Keep up the excellent work Morikami!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

This school is one of the highest rated in the county. It's international baacalureate program and its dedicated teaching staff make it a must for area children to get the best public education around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

We love this school. The teachers are excellent. The principal is very detailed and runs a tight ship. The students are respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

great school. Really hard to get into but well worth the wait. Wish it went to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

Morikami Park Elementary is an exceptional school! No child will 'fall through the cracks'. They pay attention to each and every child. Parents are highly involved and teachers are always available to speak with a parent about his or her child. The units of inquiry give children a well-rounded, holistic education and make learning more fun and interesting. At Morikami, the staff is not just concerned about strictly academics, but also care about the qualities of each individual (creativity, empathy, respect etc.) It is an incredible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

I think Morikami Park has to best academic possible for elementary students in the area. They have Spanish and French!!!....The parent involvement is the best. In allI wish there was more scholls like Morikami park Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2004

Great school, well run, nice staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

All three of my children have gone there since the school opened. I love the school, all teachers were great. You have to buy a uniform but is is easy and the kids don't seem to mind. The school is beautiful, well kept, and all indoors. The classrooms are large and bright. The principal seems to support the parents all said its a great school and I feel lucky to have gotten in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

My daughter is in mrs Miller class.She is doing very well,I wish the school board would build a middle school with the same method of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2004

Parents: You could not ask for a better school to start your child's education. Morikami is giving my child an educational head start in a future that most certainly will be demanded it. Morikami's teaching program is simply 'mind blowing' to me compared to what I remember of my first years of school. My child is learning French, Spanish, technology, music, arts, math, and reading skills that have simply amazed my wife and I. Yes, Parent participation is key, but what school shouldn't be. The teachers are dedicated and love what they do. Mrs. Orlove is 'The Best' kindergarden teacher, and I am proud to have my child in her class. Mrs. Orlove's dedication and love-of-job surpasses anything I have seen at any teach level. Morikami is exceptional. Take a tour, ask questions, apply, and if the lottery powers come your way...you won't regret a single day. Thank you Morikami.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

My kids have been/are attending since Morikami opened. It's a wonderful school with excellent teachers who work extremely hard for everyone. Some children & parents may find the school intimidating, but it's a model school and what it provides is so much more than any other school can offer in Palm Beach County Public schools. I am very pleased to have had 2 children already finish at Morikami and my 3rd child is doing very well too. I wish there were more schools like Morikami available to all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This school has a beautiful campus and spends more money per child since it is a special school. They teach above grade level and do not tell you that. They teach mainstream and if you don't fit that type you will be lost in the shuffle. The principle is not well liked and I believe inaffective. Several teachers have left while a few should have they lost some really good ones. The classrooms are not broken down into groups by ability. You either follow one way of teaching and if you can't keep up or if you are bored, you are lost. There is a lot of homework. I pulled both my children from this school. I was disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2003

I am very pleased with Morikami Park Elementary. My daughter is in the 1st grade and loves her teacher Mrs. Tribble. We were very excited to get in last year for Kindergarten. The teachers are very enthusiastic about teaching and parent volunteers in the classroom are always welcome. My daughter loves taking spanish and french and tries to teach me what she has learned. Unfortunately, we are relocating to Orlando, FL. I hope to find a school as great as Morikami Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Hispanic 20%
Black 12%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 29%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%73%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6201 Morikami Park Road
Delray Beach, FL 33484
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 894-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL


Addison Academy
Boca Raton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT