Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

790 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
80 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Morikami Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a community member
My daughter is in 5th grade. Started off in Kindergarten. For fly by readers...this school is AMAZING!!!. If your child gets through the lottery then grab this opportunity. This school is a perfect platform for little ones starting off. A few things one should consider while narrowing down on a Elementary school. Principal - Very energetic, enthusiastic, cheerful.I have even seen her managing the car lines at times so that she can meet the parents. Teachers - Better than private schools. Cleanliness - Cannot get any better. Staff - Very co-operative, friendly. Discipline - They call it the Morikami way. Students are always with buddies never alone in school. Strict with uniform policy. Attendance and punctuality is taken very seriously as well. Homework - Just right amount so kids can get involved in extra curricular activities as well. Homework not done will not be excused unless there is a valid emergency. PTA - Very active and involved. Volunteering - Several opportunities and many school activities year round will keep parents involved with their kids class and staff. Pick up and Drop off - Very safe and strict policy. I have at times picked up my friends kids from their schools without prior authorization...That is not happening at this school. Clubs : Many active clubs to keep your kids busy after school as well. Languages - Spanish and Mandarin - Excellent teachers here too. What more can one ask for !!? Go for it.

Morikami Park Elementary School 3

Posted June 14, 2015
- a parent
Teaching is very test oriented. Lot of distracting, unnecessary events. Misleading fame. Needs some update. Special language program is not a favorite.


Morikami Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
I love Morikami! My daughter just completed her first year in Kindergarten there and it was a great year for her academically. She is reading and writing beautifully, was challenged academically, had plenty of opportunities for involvement in extra-curricular activities and most importantly she is enjoying herself. I felt the teachers were very caring, and she had a great first year. They are strict - their tardy policy is a little extreme if you ask me - but I understand it's all toward the end of teaching the kids responsibility. There is a decent amount of homework nightly, but again, I'm pleased my daughter is being challenged. I think by the end of her time at Morikami she will be well-prepared for whatever middle school we put her in. Overall, we are blessed to have had the opportunity to have her attend this Blue Ribbon winner school!

Morikami Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
First, this is my opinion which I am entitled to since it is a free country we live in and there is something called "freedom of speech." I send my child to this school and not the home school because I am choosing the "lesser of the evils." I have the right to send my child here because I pay high taxes and this is a choice school. With that said there is always room for improvement. Less teaching to the test and more teaching children in order for them to think, reason, and make good decisions is one of the improvements that would be a good one for not just this school but schools in general. Next, this school has too many students. A smaller school with smaller class sizes would be an improvement. Other parents that handle the opinions of other parents that differ from them in a mature and respectful manner would be another improvement. I think that school is better than a number of other schools but that is not saying too much. The parents that like to keep the same thing going without improvement are not progressive. Instead of attacking someone else why not put that energy into improvement. Also, research studies say homework in elementary school has no value.

Morikami Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
Morikami Elementary was described to me as a place everyone wants to be: the teachers and faculty, the students and parents. I have absolutely found this to be the case. This is my family's fourth year at Morikami. We are extremely satisfied here. My son tested gifted but on some good advice, we felt it important to attend to help him be well rounded, immersed in the IB program and to experience all we could here. We have never looked back. As we prepare now for the FCAT for my oldest, of course there is talk about "teaching to the test" but guess what? The information is real life and an important component of learning: math, reading and reading comprehension with writing. I'm OK with that! My second child is an average student but struggled with reading and her teacher addressed where we were, where we needed to be and put a plan in place to achieve it. And she is doing it. I am thankful for my children's learning, experiences, friends, their teachers, and they are safe and happy every day. Further, I am very impressed with the level of parent involvement. . People are happy and proud to be here. Apply if you can, take it if you get it.


Morikami Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a community member
I hate how parents are saying they hate the school, it's in my opinion totally rude to put it on the internet!!! Just take your students out of the CHOICE program you put them in and try a different school!!! Now, in my opinion, I loved morikami!!! I am now in 7th grade, but I went to morikami from Kindergarten all the way to 5th grade! I loved all ofmy teachers! Esspecially Ms. Sanford when I had her in 3rd grade!!! She was the BEST!! & all my teachers taught me everything I needed to know for middle school!! When I was in 6th grade, all my teachers were surprised with what I knew! While other kids didn't know how to do anything!!!!! So I rate this school a 5 with all my heart!

Morikami Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
For those parents complaining about the school, remember that this school is a CHOICE school. You made the choice to be there. You are more than welcome to leave the school and go to your home school.

Morikami Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
The review below saying they declined a child with ASD sounds like bologna. I have a child on the spectrum there and he has all the necessary accommodations to ensure he does well. I know there are several children on the spectrum there. However, depending on how severe your child's condition is, this may not be the best school for him or her because it is a very fast paced and demanding school. It is a public school, it is indeed a lottery program. I knew nobody at that school when we got in and I don't socialize much with anyone there. I applied via the choice program online and yes, it is hard to get in because hundreds of families apply. The teachers are very caring, as is the entire administration. I appreciate that the staff communicates with me frequently and via any and all means necessary (text, emails, calls).


Morikami Park Elementary School 1

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
This school is very clicky- the parents not the students. It's rediculous, if you don't have the time to volunteer like every day and brown nose the teachers and admin then you don't belong here. They made me decline my entrance for my ASD child because THEY don't take THOSE certain TYPE of kids. Is it really they can't accommodate or they're just to lazy with pre-conceived notions of discrimination. They didn't even give my Aspergers child a chance. Shameful... I was in tears, so now I have two kids at two different schools. The IB program is great and impressive. You have to work hard or you don't make it. It shows that they only want the cream of crop at this school.

Morikami Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is for people that have friends in the district so that they can get into the so called "lottery." It is for those parents that are too cheap to pay for or can't afford private school. They use standard textbooks just like every other public school even though in the orientation the principal will say they don't use standard textbooks. They don't use standard tear out workbooks pages either but they are just computer generated workbook pages. Parents are involved but I think it is to the point of being overinvolved at times. Some teachers are nice and some are downright nasty just like at any other school. I just don't see all the "bragging" points that this school is promoted upon. It is a newer school and ok inside. Good test scores but if you pick and choose students that is not a shock. I am just not impressed. School is average overall. You can find the same thing at many schools. It just depends upon your location. I see why Florida has such a large amount of homeschoolers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Morikami Park Elementary School
6201 Morikami Park Road, Delray Beach, FL  33484
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (561) 894-7300
Last modified Morikami Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top