Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mark Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 
 

Living in Delray Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2012

Love this school! My child has been here through junior high and has really blossomed as a student, as an athlete, and in her faith. The teachers are helpful and really help the students get ready for the next level. The kids all seem to get along well with each other, and any issues that may arise are dealt with quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

I graduated from St. Mark and now my children attend. I am very active in the school and know exactly what's going on. There's always some parents who will never be happy and think uprooting their child is the solution to their own problem of being unable to hear constructive criticism about their kid. It's a small school with one teacher per grade. If you can't get along with one, be an adult and suck it up. There are excellent teachers who not only teach, but care for our kids 7 hours a day, 5 days a week. After graduating, I attended a Catholic High School, and obtained my RN in college. There are expectations for the children's futures. It's not IF you are going to college, but WHERE. There's a list in the school office of graduates and their status at their High Schools. 90% are on Honors. Some have received academic scholarships for college. So St. Mark must be doing something right. It is a wonderful place to raise your child while giving them a great Catholic education. I've met many lovely families there, and am still friends with the "kids" I graduated with. For low tuition, the excellent education, and the "old school" atmosphere, St. Mark is an easy choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

This school is awesome. It has great children that are fun to be around. The atmosphere is great with a church next to it that the children go to worship God on Tuesdays. The administration is very nice and they have wonderful education here. One of the examples is a former student here is now the "Director of Legislative Affairs" for the state of Florida, under Jeff Atwater, the CFO. Overall, it is a great school and it is fun for the kids.


Posted November 6, 2009

God be with you if you send your child to this school. Very poor administration dont go to them with a problem because they will tell you it's your child. The VP is never seen i wouldn't know her if i fell over her. Teachers dont want to be bothered if your child needs any extra help so your child better keep up or o'well this is mostly 6-8 grade the lower grades the teachers are good. The class size are low and very cliquish mom's who wont even look at you if your not one of them. And if it's one of their kids who is a problem it will never get address. I am so sorry i sent my children to this school. i have to finish the year but i will be looking for a diffrent school come summer. i can go on forever about this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

Very poor administration lacking in educational experience. Academics are low compared to public. If you want a good education, St. Mark is not the place for you. Overcrowded classrooms and frustrated teachers having to deal with poor administration and disrespect. This school is losing enrollment due to parents seeing that St. Mark is lacking in alot of areas crucial to their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

The tuition at this school is low when compared to other local school...but the expression you get what you pay for applies here. The school suffers with poor administration and overly involved cliquish parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

Grat school overall. Would not hesitate sending your child here. Far exceeds FL public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

School's greatest strength is it's diverse mix of students. Tuition is very inexpensive. Class sizes are way too big. Other resources are strained as well. Has many students with problems that go on for years unaddessed. Both learning and behavioral problems. This impacts the learning environment adversely.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2007

St Mark is not the school for you if you child has any learning issues.The teachers have been there for so long they really don't care.my children left and attended a well know private school & they were so far behind it was a embaressment.It is a very cliquish school.The education is not worth paying a dime.Please do your research,too many kids in a class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2007

Poor structure in middle school Religion and Social Studies classes. All other teachers are qualified and do a good job teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2006

Nice school. Good teacher to student ratio. The only complaint I have is that there are two fee structures for tuition. Catholic and non-Catholic. You can guess who pays more. Doesn't seem very fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Great School if you are concerned with religious education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Nice, small, catholic school with individual attention, good teachers and a great curriculum.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 42%
Hispanic 20% 29%
Black 18% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Palm Beach
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Pope John Paul II High School
Cardinal Newman High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

730 Northeast 6th Avenue
Delray Beach, FL 33483
Phone: (561) 723-9934

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Poinciana Elementary School
Boynton Beach, FL


Galaxy Elementary School
Boynton Beach, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT