Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

American Heritage School - Boca/Delray

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Delray Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $71,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2009

Terrible School. Administration is non-existent and teachers generally do not care and are not good or enthusiastic. I would not want to go back there ever
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2009

Our daughter attended American Heritage from fifth grade through high school graduation. She has completed her second year at a competative college university with continued success and honors. Heritage provided her with a strong academic background and opportunities for personal growth including honor society memberships and choral audition and training that culminated in a performance at Carnegie Hall. I highly recommend this school that is led by a headmaster with integrity and a teaching staff that is professional and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

I transfered my son to AH from a public middle school this year. It was the Best thing I ever did to help my son. The special ed. program is awesome! The principle deans and teachers constantly kept in contact with me. The school has great programs for the students to get involved in. AH teaches the students in academics and also to take responsiblity for their actions. I highly reccomand this school. My son loves to go to school now! He wants to get good grades because of the staff and teachers caring about him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

I've been going to American heritage for almost 11 years now. This school is defiantly the best school to send your child to. Excellent campus!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

American Heritage is one of the finest schools in the nation. There is a great sense of family among the students and the administration. They place high priority on well roundedness, personal integrity, civics, fine arts, athletics, and not just SAT scores. This reflects their repsect for long term personal success and includes a very high percentage of Ivy League/top school placement as well, not to mention turning out some of the nation's top athletes. A strict but friendly school, hiring teachers with fine educational backgrounds, and promoting higher education, harmony, morality and hard work, but in a well balanced environment. The students are achievers and very pleased with their school! They should be too, as they have just about everything with the latest technology and infrastructure. AH is a very well run school, oriented to bring the best education and experience to your child. AH's grade: A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I had my daughter go to American Heritage and it is the best school my daughter has ever been to. It is a great school. My daughter skipped 1st grade there. She is doing better than sh ever has before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I recently moved to Boca Raton, Florida over the summer. We decided to try out Donna Klein Jewish Academy for our son, and it was a huge mistake. We then transferred him to American Heritage school and it was a great success story. Our son is a striaght A student no, and although he is in two acadmey classes he is doing well and exceelling in everything.It is very nurturing, caring, and helpful environment and is what a private school should be for a large tuiton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

The kids at this school made me more miserable than I ever have been in my life. I was so affected that I nearly committed suicide, and I have recently left the school. The kind of treatment I have received will be traumatic memories for the rest of my life. If you would like your kids to be neglected by teachers,and outcasted by students...this school is the perfect place. I am not saying this as a joke, or effect... This istrue and from the heart.... I am sincere in my opinion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2007

I recently graduated from AHS after attending for three years.I have nothing but positive things to say about the school. It is a great, safe environment, with caring and dedicated teachers. I feel that they did a great job preparing us for college and beyond;I feel confident entering college as a pre-med student. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a quality education in the south Palm Beach County area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 16, 2006

We are in the process of placing our two children at American Heritage and so far we are very impressed with their professionalism, dilligence and superb administrative staff. Our kids were tested and evaluated and we heard immediately that they were accepted! No bureaucracy here. The school sits on 40 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. The entrance is very pretty and striking. The security guard monitors everyone who wishes to enter the school grounds and is very helpful. They have a list with tons of extra curricular activities available. Anything the kids wish is there. Also, if your child is advanced in a subject, they place him/her in the next grade's classroom for that subject. American Academy (for students with mild to moderate disabilities) mainstreams the kids for a few hours and has a small 12 kids classroom with two teachers. We are impressed and are going to sign up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

School experience is personal, teachers available. Headmaster available to parents at any time. Small classes, great long term teachers. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a private school. Everyone cares and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 44%
Hispanic 20% 24%
Black 16% 29%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6200 Linton Blvd
Delray Beach, FL 33484
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 495-7272

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Carver Middle School
Delray Beach, FL



Omni Middle School
Boca Raton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT