Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pride Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 574 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

Both my sons go to Pride and they have wonderful teachers Mrs Swindle 5th grade is a great teacher also Mr Smith pre k teacher is an amazing teacher both my sons are Autistic and they are doing wonderful in this school. very grateful for these wonderful teachers and school staff...... Lisa Velez
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

Pride Elementary is the best school. The teachers and staff are great. The administration is available and visible on campus. Everyone there cares about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

Pride is a great school! It has excellent teachers and all of my 3 kids love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

I am glad to this is improved or parents that had there variances revoked in 2011 have not posted or there posts were removed. Just do not challenge this administration or they will boot you from the school so they can return to a high rated and well proforming school. Just ironic that there are no posts for 2011 on her just 2010 when I was happy with the school and in 2012


Posted March 6, 2012

What a GREAT, GREAT, GREAT school!!! From the Principal, Assistant Principal, Office Staff, Teachers, Custodians, every single person working in this school is absolutetly wonderful! Family oriented, always thinking of new ways to get families involved in their children's education. They have Family Fun Night, Cocoa with Santa, Math Night, Reading Night, etc. Curb side pick up is safe, quick and very organized. It is also an "A" school. How lucky are we to be a part of such a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

My boys have been going to Pride since the school opened. I have to say that I was not fond of the school back then however, they have changed for the BETTER! Every year seems to bring positive changes. They have taken contructive criticism and fixed the areas of concern that the parents addressed. The school is very family involved. The only problem I see is that the parents are NOT involved with the school. They have spirit night, Family fun nights, Reading nights, and math nights and I do not see many families attending.. A Shame!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The school got a new assistant principal this year. This makes sense provided the initial personal seemed to be to much of an independent thinker...not necessarily a bad thing, normally. Child pick up has improved this year...can't say the same for the staff. Parent, teacher, administration contact and communication is still at an all time low. Out of school activities has also improved. Evening events seemed to be more thoroughly planned and executed. I just wish the lackadaisical staff would show up and participate. It seems like there are about 4 or 5 teachers in the school that actually have an interest in teaching, everyone else is on a rest stop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

In response to the previous letter, I have never seen a staff so dedicated to the care and growth of students. I only wish there were teachers and staff like those at Pride in all of Florida's schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

I am please that my child attends Pride, I do not mind the 'Curbs Side Cub' pick up routine. I like that it is one way in & one way out. There are not vehicles going in every direction, it is easy for teachers & parents to keep track of which car the child is going into. Going to PTA & SAC meetings help me stay involved & I see the Principle & Staff show how much they are concerned with the well being of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 47%
Hispanic 35%
Black 14%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 78%56%61%
Master's degree 20%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LESLIE FRAZEE
Fax number
  • (407) 688-9503

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Learning Lane
Deltona, FL 32738
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 302-2575

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Chase Academy
Deltona, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT