Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deltona High School

Public | 9-12 | 1685 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

Deltona is a great school, although every now and then you realize its not a big school and then you begin to envy other school but It still is great. How you ask? this year they really cracked down on the writing situation AND THE WHOLE SCHOOL ENFORCES IT EVEN CLASS THAT DONT HAVE TO DO WITH WRITING. Their band program is also another great band the blue brigade probably not the best band but it is one of the best, now do you see why DHS IS THE BEST HIGHSCHOOL EVER (AND I MEAN EVER)


Posted October 27, 2013

I am now a senior at this school I must say although the fighting has lowered a lot its incredible how our school as a whole is making improvements oh and CLASS OF 2014!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2013

Deltona HS has become a smaller school which provides the opportunity for teachers, guidance counselors and administration to get to know the students and make them feel important. When a school gets too large, no one has time to help you. All three of my children have gone to this school and there is definetly a difference from when it was over crowded years ago to now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

this school is very great. the school has great programs. which university doesn't have. i was zoned for university and didnt get my variance form accepted for deltona. i was greatly disappointed and wanted to change but i guess it dident turn out so i had to go to university but deltona is very nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2010

There is not enough room to answer all the comments made here in order to defend DHS. I've been a parent with the school for 4 years and will be for another 3 years. I'm also a substitute teacher there. Deltona is no different than in other school in the state- WE do have good teachers there, teachers who go the extra mile. What I have NOT seen are parents (unless its sports) getting involved. Where are you? Respect and responsibility starts at HOME, NOT school and when we have to be the child's parent as well as teacher it punishes all students. So get a grip parents- help us to help your child to make their dream come true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Because it is the home of the Wolves. The students are great and the teachers are friendly.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 31, 2009

Deltona High School is a place to put your child if you want them to 'graduate'. They push kids through, giving them grades they do not deserve, allowing all work to be made up the last week of the quarter or semester and passing kids with Bs and Cs who get 60s on their semester exams. It is a joke and anyone who actually cares about their child getting an education and being prepared for anything after high school should take their child out of that school immediately, as things are just getting worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

I'm a junior now graduating in 2010 and to tell you the truth i love Deltona. I guess it's the mind set you have when you come to school. Yea, there are crowded hall ways and fights, but seriouly... welcome to the real world. I am so incredibly scool spirited and yes im excited to graduate but I'm really going to miss it. I would never wanted to have my high school experience anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

Im a sophomore at this school. It has some brilliant teachers, but the students seem as smart as bricks. Its unbelievable. The stupidity of the other students drives me insane sometimes. They need to care more about school. They need to challenge themselves. They need to do something, they make the good students look bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2008

I Am a current Junior at DHS... and i must say it is a very great school for Academics.. but not so well on the population and crowding. some of the schedules i have had makes it hard to have a life at school. between classes it is hard to get from one side o the school to the other with in 8 minutes. I have seen my fair share plus more of fights here. but Over all it is a pretty descent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

I found that Deltona High has a couple new programs that my child is really into. The orchestra teacher is amazing as well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

I studied there and i found the experience amazing...i still miss it alot
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2008

As a parent of a former student and a current student, I find a considerable trend towards the positive. Yes, the halls are crowded, but this is not Deltona High School's fault. Yes, two lunches have the students hurrying to eat, but is it because they are socializing instead of getting to lunch? Mr. Marks does a great job of leading and the students know him and will talk to him. Any public high school will have quality teachers and staff AND the other types. I do think that there are more parents attending athletic events than there have been. But do the parents get involved any other ways? I contact the teachers since I am the parent and they have more than just my son if I concerned about anything about the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

As a student going into my senior year at Deltona High school I must forewarn others of the things I have seen around campus: -More than my fair share of fights. -Un-caring guidance consolers and faulty systems leaving you with out the classes you really need in order to graduate on time. -Favoritism in class rooms. -Over crowded hallways. -And of course the two lunches where they try to cram nearly 3000 (1500 per lunch) kids in and out in 40 minutes. Instead of making it like all other crowded high school in this area and having three. ...Over all Deltona High has not improved since the moment I stepped foot into it in 04-05 and that's sad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2007

I think this school is a verry goood learning environment... Go Wolves
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2007

I have very mix feelings about this school. I have had two daughters that have graduated from there and one nephew. It is very over crowd, and the grounds are not very appealing. My son is going to attend this year as a freshman, he is in honors classes, and has very good grades but has heard stories from his sister's about fights breaking out and missing lunch or getting lunch and having less then 2 min. to eat and tossing it in the garbage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

Any school is what you make of it. Yes DHS is overcrowded- stop moving into the area! Once parents teach their children RESPECT and get involved, the school will look better and morale will improve. Don't blame the teachers & administration for everything. What are you doing to make this a great school?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 18, 2006

Deltona High School is and 'alright' school. It could use some cleaning up and it's a little overcrowded. But, overall it is an improving school since principal, Gary Marks, has been working there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2006

I think Deltona High School is a great school yes,is overcrowded The School Board should build another school to help with the overcrowded problem My Son was in the ESE and did very well the teachers and Paras did a great job with the kids they are very helpfull and kind and patient. The Pricipal is great he's doing a great job I've had a meeting with him and when the meeting ended I had a good feeling that he was intrested in my problem and would do his best to find a solution He seems to be very involved in the school's activities.The kids and teachers think the world of him and Ilike it to that he has an open door policy he truely care about the students the Former principal kept his office closed. I'm glad my son goes to D.H.S. Hope my other son will go there to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I think that this school do a lot better the new prinicipal Mr. Mark has done an awesome job over the last two years. Parent involvement needs improvement, and they need to clean the school. Over crowding is pretty bad here
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

387 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

405 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

402 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
32%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Hispanic 37%
Black 13%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 61%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%56%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SUSAN FREEMAN
Fax number
  • (386) 789-7089

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Wolf Pack Run
Deltona, FL 32725
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 789-7252

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT