Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public district
Destin, FL
Students enrolled: 654
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

11 reviews of this school


Destin Middle School 5

Posted January 10, 2015
- a parent
We were surprised to learn we were getting a new principal last year, but couldn't be happier with Mr. Marello. He genuinely cares about his students and actually listens to their suggestions and concerns. As a parent, it's comforting to know that we have someone like him in charge over there! DMS is a wonderful school!

Destin Middle School
no rating

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
Destin Middle School is open-minded in trying new things on a tight budget.


Destin Middle School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a student
Dont listen to all the bad comments destin middle school is a very good public school with great teachers.

Destin Middle School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
This school seems like an expensive private school in that it offers a high quality education in a smaller, protected environment. Peers are offspring of mostly professionals who have instilled a few manners, so delinquency issues are practically nonexistent. Don't believe any rumors about snobbery. This is the best public middle school the area has to offer.

Destin Middle School
no rating

Posted December 08, 2008
- a parent
You couldn't find a better middle school than Destin Middle! Awesome, caring and dedicated teachers and staff and a principal that we will miss since this is Mr. Britt's last year at the school. Opportunities abound in this school and academics are challenging but definitely worthwhile for the students. The Arts are emphasized as well as sports. Great parent involvement ensures a well rounded learning community. Go Marlins!!


Destin Middle School
no rating

Posted August 23, 2008
- a student
Destin middle was a wonderful school! I had been to many other schools, but this one was the best! The teachers are very helpful and the principal is very on top of the things that go on at the school. I would highly reccomend this school.

Destin Middle School 2

Posted December 10, 2006
- a parent
I am extremly disappointed w/DMS. The core classes are good for Florida standard but they do teach to the FCAT rather than to what will be taught in the next grade for that subject.

Destin Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2006
- a parent
Our daughter is a student at DMS. This is a great school. We are extremely pleased with the quality of the academics, the teachers, and the staff. The teachers are open and willing to work with the kids to help them achieve. The band program is very strong and the band director does a super job with the kids. There is great parent involvement and great school spirit. There are many extracurricular activities for the kids, from sports to clubs. The SRO, Officer Jacox, does a super job with the kids and I have no concerns for our daughter's safety. After several years of dismal school experiences, we have found a breath of fresh air here.


Destin Middle School 5

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
Our child attends DMS. The teachers are accessible and caring, the staff is on top of the game, and the opportunities are excellent. The band director is super and does an excellent job with the kids! Academics are strong and there is tutoring available. The teachers really want the kids to succeed. We have found the staff to be responsive. The on-site school Officer is great with the kids and I feel confident in our child's safety. After many crummy school experiences, DMS has been a breath of fresh air!

Destin Middle School 2

Posted September 03, 2006
- a parent
Principal is a 'non-factor', do nothing principal, and unresponsive to parent's concerns. After school programs are lack luster, with little to no pride, discipline, and inspiration. Extra-curricular activities are dismal at best. The football team consistently posts losing records, year after year (4 wins in 4 years). The Band is also an embarrassment. Parent involvement is also dismal, because the parents feel that there is nothing that they can do to affect change. From an academic perspective, Destin Middle School is a good school. The teachers are accessible and the overall education experience is positive.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Destin Middle School
4608 Legendary Marina Drive, Destin, FL  32541
(850) 833-7655
Last modified Destin Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Destin Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top