Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Renaissance Elementary Charter School

Charter | PK-5 | 922 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2010

This school is excellent. The Principal and her staff are exceptional and care very much about learning disipline instilled in the students. This school received the Blue Ribbon from the Dept of Education. The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement to high levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Great school, staff and students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

My children have been going to this school for awhile. I agree with the decipline, the rules and regulations because it builds character and responsibilities for the children. The teachers for the most part have been very caring and seem truly genuine. The gifted area needs to expand further, it should be an all day gifted not pull out for for reading/math. The athelic dept also needs attention is barely non existent. No afterschool teams, i.e. football; baseball; soft baseball. All extra curricular activity has a price and is very pricie. The PTO does a great job, however you must be in the click or otherwise forget it. (politics are everywhere).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Even though the FCAT scores are good, I could not say that this school does well for the children. I was forced to remove my child as the environment was not nurturing. The principle is a career woman and that reflects in the way the school is run, a business. The dress code is strict and disciplining could be adressed differently. If you are looking for positive encouragement with a nurturing setting, than this is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

A great school, the teachers are nice and kind, the principal takes an active role in supervising school events, and there is a lot of regulation, which prevents any violence. However, the extracurricular activities are expensive, and they lack decent facilities. Just as an additional plus, almost all of the classrooms have windows, which doesn't make you feel like you're in a jail cell... Resources for 'gifted' students are very limited as well, but the teachers balance this out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2008

I have been a parent for five years. I have two daughters and two nieces in this school. All four love their teachers and have easily made friends here. It is a small school with a great family atmosphere. The children are much safer here than in any public school. They are not too strict. The rules are easy to follow. Follow them and you'll be fine. The teachers really care about their students and have high expectaions of the students and their families. That's why it's an A school for six years in a row.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

So far I really like it - they are a little crazy with the dress code - and the playground could be bigger (according to my son) But so far I am very impressed with what this school has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

I have been a teacher at this school for nine years and am very happy here. The environment is nurturing, the teachers are extremely caring and administration is very supportive of my program. The parents are always willing to volunteer and help with special projects. In my opinion and position, I believe this is a wonderful school that nurtures relationships between students, teachers and parents. I would love to see a seperate school location for the Middle School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 14, 2008

I am a 8th grader at RMCS. I love this school. Also, i disagree with all the negative comments about this school only caring about the F-CAT. The truth is we only have one class that is an F-CAT prep. Just because RMCS is mixed with RECS doesent mean we get treated like elementary students. We have our dances, dinner/formal, and end of year trip.. soo really appreciate what you have.I love all the teachers in this elementary and middle school!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2008

Worst school ever! beware... Not a great school.The f-cat scores lowered a grade.Theres room for improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2008

well i am a former student of this school. and to tell you guys the truth from my perspective i dislike this school. we get treated like elementary children. and its really not fair! i havnt seen one student at least in my grade that loves this school. its all about FCAT this and FCAT that. they dont teach the bascis and thats not right. we dont get treated like we want to be treated. some of the teachers of mine are not really happy with this school. and if you are planning on putting your child in this school i rather you think twice about your descision and your chikds academic. so to tell you the truth i have been in this school for 5 years and i still dont have one positive look at this.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2008

The teachers are all here because we are happy or else we would be somewhere else. We do so much for so little because we are happy and love what we do.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2007

We have three kids here (1st, 2nd and 8th grade) and We have been very happy with the school. They have good teachers, quality education, easy comunication with the teachers, principal and administratitive staff, great enviroment, small size classroom, discipline and security. Even they have elementary and middle school in the same building, they are very organize, and we are sure that the Principal is working to find a new building for the Middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2007

This charter school is not only a safe and nurturing, but also a structured and disciplined learning environment. Here students and parents obtain the greatest return on their investment by gaining a sense of community and family atmosphere while gaining a quality education with personalized attention not available in public schools today. Small setting offer security and intimacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

This school does indeed score well on the FCAT, but, there is more to a well rounded and quality education than that! There is overly harsh treatment for dress code violations etc and run more like a corrective center than a nurturing school as a result. The curriculum needs to address the whole child! Removed my son after going here for kinder and 1st. Busy work and practice test material a bit too heavy for charter school that supposively is pioneering educational rreform. We need to work towards learning gains and not FCAT practice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

I've been very happy with this school, great teachers so far, small size classrooms. My child has never been treated like just another number. Access to problem solving and parental involvement. My main concern is that this is all changing. Now they have added middle school, 6, 7 & 8. All in the same building. There are no plans to move the middle school. Mixing elementary and middle school children together brings a whole new set of problems. No space for kids to actually be kids. I wish the principal would consider these issues. It bring chaos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

Strict to the extreme. There is a lot of room for improvement as to creating a healthy emotional environment for the children. Only exceptionally behaved children fit well. Extremely strict in the academic area also, but mainly behavior. A school doesn't need to get ridiculously strict to be a good one, on the contrary, a more humane environment would be a lot healthier for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

I believe RECS is a great school. My son is in Kindergarten and when I volunteer for the class, I see how the teacher interacts and make them learn subjects that are difficult for their age but with patience and dedication they enjoy it. My son comes home very happy and tell me everything that he has learned that day. I am impressed and happy with the school I chose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I was extremely disappointed in this school. It is run very militantly, and not in a positive way. I have always been an advocate for academic excellance, however I believe they sacrifice manners and children's self esteem for their quest for good FCAT scores. I would also advise any families that are not of hispanic origin to look elsewhere for you and your child will not be made to feel welcome. This environment is everything but welcoming. To me this school does not care what kind of citizens its raising as long as they score well on tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

Of course there have been schools that are accused of teaching just for the FACT. Is this one of them? You bet. Looks can be deceiving. Just because a school tests well doesn't mean they actually care about each child. Believe me, they don't. Too concerned about images than the children. Just because a school has a good procedure for pick-up time and mandatory volunteer hours (which they have to do, by law - not their bright idea) doesn't mean they give children what they really need - attention. And not treating them like they are just a number. Seems more like Stepford Wives for children.Make up your mind for yourself.jsut be aware.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 92%
White 5%
Asian 1%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Female 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 83%58%61%
Master's degree 15%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ANA CORDAL
Fax number
  • (305) 591-2984

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10651 Northwest 19th Street
Doral, FL 33172
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 591-2225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Doral Academy
Doral, FL



Shelton Academy
Doral, FL


Vann Academy
Miami, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT