Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eugenia B. Thomas K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 1629 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2010

The school is really good and you have a biligual personnel,All the teachers are really good and whe you need to talk to them you just need to make an appt. ..and like they told at the beginning the gifted class is hard but you have the option to be part of it or not ..also if your child goes to public school has to take the FCAT so for most of the kids if not big of a deal my son have the maximun score in each one ....Overall EBT is a great school...with the rest of the public schools that .wehave in Doral area that is why i am living here and no planning to move
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

This school is horrible! My son was there for 3 long years. It was our worst nightmare. The kids are always under pressure and stressed until FCAT comes. My son would never bring homework from the subjects that are not part of FCAT! The principal, Mrs. Falcon, thinks she is God - don't expect ever talking to her unless she is complaining about your child. If you need her help, forget it, she does not speak with regular people. My son was transferred to the Gifted class and he spent his last 2 years at EBT there. It didn't work as we expected - it was not fun and engaging. Last year we gave up EBT and decided to try a Private School. We moved out of Doral because of the school. Our best decision EVER!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

For quite sometime I have been trying to speak to an counselor, asst. principle or principle, I have send them emails, left them several messages in the front office and no one has ever called me at all. My child has been harassed, and bullied in her classroom, and in the cafeteria by other kids that are 3 grades higher than my child, and the school system doesn't CARE!!! they demand so much from the parents, but they are NOT there to help the parents when needed. Another big issue, none of the security guards speak English, it is impossible to speak to them. This is the U.S.A, learn the language we speak here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

The administrative and security staff caters to those that speak Spanish. If you don't speak it, you will have difficulties. There is also a problem with bullying amongst students. The teachers fail to actually address the bullying in the classrooms, and when asked if the student may speak to a counselor, excuses are given. Half of the time Physical education class consists of sitting in a room taking notes or watching videos. Parental involvement is not allowed with your child's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

EBT K-8 really believes in having each individual student excell to do their best. They do care and I am very happy with their education, guidance and safety at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

i love this school it's excellent but they need to fix their dismissal for rainy days.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2010

EBt is an excellent school. I dont think they have a problem with discipline or 'too much' homework. Discipline is, yes, enforced, and I thank Ms Falcon and all her staff for it. I believe this is one of the main reasons why EBT is among the best in the area. This is achieved with firmness, determination and perseverance and not by yelling at children, as has been claimed in other comments. Yes, kids have homework almost on a daily basis, but weekends and breaks are usually more flexible. There is a great sense of community and the school makes a great effort to bring together parents, students and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

We had an excellent experience last year with our son's teachers. They are loving and smart professionals. The only issue I have with the school is the amount of homework they assign. Kids need to grow not only academically, but also socially, emotionally, and physically. Who''s up for recess?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

My children have attended EBT since it opened in 2001 and I am really pleased for the education they have received. The middle school is academically excellent, with strict discipline and very safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

This School is not as good as it used to be things changed teachers are different and being rude to the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

This school used to be better. Now it is overcrowded and alot of the teachers lost their magic touch with the student in the middle school....they do not give any compassion to the teenagers that used to be in young children in the elementary grades....instead..they are 'Detention' crazy....If the child's shirt is sticking outside the pants, no warning is given....It's a Detention for you buddy!!!! They are getting to be known around Doral!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

I find the school pretty good. They do pressure the kids with a great deal of homework, and thus pressure the parents to help their kids, but other than that, I think they are fulfilling their mission. The Principal is responsive and sensitive to on going problems and curtailing budgets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

The time that we spend at the EBT was terrible for both our son and us. The only way that the administration can impose discipline is yelling at the children frequently.My son is now in a private school and never will go back again to a school like this one. Some teachers are really rude to everybody, they shouldn't be teachers at all. Please if you are moving to this area take into consideration paying private school for the happines of your children...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

The worst school ever. The children are really unhappy at this school. If you are moving to this area please consider paying for a private school 500-800 monthly. There are other areas in miami with much better public schools. The teachers here just yell at children for everything. If you are attending this school right now be involved into the PTA because it needs serious changes, starting with the principal and some very rude teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

Our experience with this school was terrible!!! The admisnitration, including the one from the after school program was extremely unprofessional and rude. They were never available and did not take our concerns seriously. My child was a student of Eugenia B. Thomas (EBT) for a brief time. My husband and I decided to remove him from EBT and place him in a much better school were his socio-emotional and cognitive needs could be better served. We were concern for his safety and socioemotional well-being at EBT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

EBT is an excellent school, Doral is an excellent place to live, the problem is :we are too many people. Next year Doral will have a new K-8 center and a lot of problems will be solved. Is it not easy be the number 1 since the beginning and keep working with the same excellence year by year.EBT is an A school for 7 years, ergo since the first year, that means(for me) EBT has an A on principal leadership,teacher quality, extracurricular activities, parent involvement(Five Stars Award) and safety and discipline.Again, is it not easy to do it,but EBT K8 Center did it.I have seen it for 7 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

EBT is overcrowded, there are 40 children per class in Kindergarten, they don't have a break from 8:30am to 2pm (only lunch time and maybe once or twice a week to go to the playground where they can only run as it is not well equipped), and on top of that, teachers expect them to be quite for all those hours. Eventhough there are 2 teachers per class, they just divide the time, not the class, as they take turns to teach all 40 kids at the same time. That system should change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

My child has always enjoyed school and has thought of education/learning as a fun activity. Since entering EBT, he dislikes school, and looks at reading as a chore and not an enjoyable way to pass time. The school is unlike any school that I have experienced in other states or from comments from friends/relatives. The children get no recess, have at least 2 hours of homework on week nights, homework on the weekend and holidays. Even though my child was not the one misbehaving in class, he always got the same punishment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

it should be an A+ school is the best
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2007

I would not suggest this school if you do not speak Spanish. The office staff would ignore me and talk with other people around me when I would ask questions in English. The security would only speak to me and my child in Spanish. The administration was rude and would yell at the children frequently. I have put my child in private school because of their actions, the huge class size. My child was miserable, if you are moving to this district I would suggest seriously looking into private schools for your childs education. My child will never go back to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

195 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

195 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

194 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

193 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

195 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

195 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

161 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

168 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
88%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 88%
White 7%
Asian 2%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 192%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 236%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%58%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5950 Northwest 114th Avenue
Doral, FL 33178
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 592-7914

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Shelton Academy
Doral, FL


Shelton Academy
Doral, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT