Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ronald W. Reagan/Doral Senior High School

Public | 8-12 | 2097 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2009

I am a student at Reagan. I believe this is one of the best schools in Miami. It has great teachers, classes, and administrators. The school is clean and very modern. It has various facilities and state of the art equipment. It is certainly an amazing school. I love going to this school and everything works fine. The academies are properly managed. To this day I have no complaints. Keep up the good work Bisons.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

The best education that enlightened me to be a thinker
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2009

The school is above average. Most teachers are extremely dedicated, and the principal and vice-principals are always walking around and checking into classes. The only complaint I have is the emphasis that the school places on the Cambridge Academy because that takes away from those of us who prefer AP classes. I do not think that there are enough to fully challenge a student who does not wish to be a part of the Cambridge Academy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2009

I'm sorry, but many of the students that post very negative reviews here are spiteful because they fail to grasp simple concepts and have disturbingly low fcat scores. Though, I will agree that the math department is strongly lacking in good teachers. This however is not a good excuse for giving the school a horrible rating. It's common sense, and while being bad teachers, they do manage to get simple concepts across to even the least intelligent of the students. The english department is strong and the music and arts academy is extremely dedicated. The science and social studies departments have good teachers with a vast knowledge of the subjects they are teaching. The Cambridge academy is very challenging as well. My only other complaint I have is that I feel that the principle is lacking in leadership skills and/or the ability to properly manage the school. Bentolila simply doesn't care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

I am a math teacher at Reagan Senior High. I am truly thankful for working at a school where the administration fully supports a learning environment with no interruptions so that its hard-working, dedicated teachers may provide students with the best education possible. It is no wonder we are the only non-magnet 'A' high school in the county and our students excel in all areas. (Our latest numbers show that 94% of our math students are at grade level or above.) We are proud to say that we are a great team of administrators, teachers, and students - Go Bisons!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 9, 2008

The school is very good. Some teachers give too much homework, I think they believe their class is the most important (Art History is one them, it is elective, so don't take it). I came form a private school and Reagan is much better. They need to improve the Sport activities, the level is still low, but I think it will improve over the time, coaches are very nice and very dedicated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2008

I was a student here 2 years ago, and i'm so glad I left this school. Yes, its true the school is super hard, strict, and clean. But does this imply the students are learning? Certainly not! By going to another school, I realized that hard classes do not necessarily teach you much. Rather, great professors and moderate classes will encourage one to learn more. As far as the good reviews, they only come from parents that have the mentality 'hard=good', which in the real world is surely not true.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2008

This school is great! The Cambridge program is very good, the school is clean, the discipline is strict, the uniform is very good. the teachers are very good and very motivated and the Principal is a true leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

The reason this school is the best in Dade is simple: the Principal and Assistant Principals. Great job! They really care and show it by being involved in everything. You can't visit the school without seeing one of them doing something. The teachers I have dealt with seem to care as well. I have found only one counselor that doesn't care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

really excellent school best in dade county
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

This is an amazing school. They do not concentrate too much on the FCAT. As a matter of fact most of my teachers don't like the FCAT because it stifles the learning process. I in the most rigorous courses at the school, go out every weekend, have time to myself, always finish my homework on time, and get only a's and b's. In addition, there's a great Cambridge program. I have been an honors kid until I came to this school and its not challenging at all, the AP program is also rather exhausting it burns you out and truly takes up your time. Cambridge doesn't do that at all and despite what others may say the cambridge program is recognized in the US, especially in FLorida and the top univesities in the US, also around the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2008

im a student in reagan and so far i havent learned much. i admit it. it is a ver clean school bathrooms are spotless and the principle is doing his best. but the school is oly two years old cant really be judged yet. teh school focues to much on the fcat and nothing else. tell you the truth i havent learned anything. all the knowledge i have is from from middle school the math teachers overall are horrible. and so is the english program. for the first time i ended up not passing my fcats. and the homework they give us is too much. for the past two school years i ahvent had time to go out and enjoy my life due to all the homework my weekends are usually packed with projects. theres betetr schools out there
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

I have only been attending Reagan for one year going on my second and I have had many different experiences but with each learning a bit more about the school and the attitude they take with each problem. At the beggining of the year I was in the Cambridge acadamy. That was a serious waste of time and a load of homework. You don't learn anything and i dont recomend it unless you are planning to go to the university in England because the universitys here dont even look at it. As soon as i got out i began to enjoy going to reagan. Teachers are always there for you and Rodriguez is always walking around. It is one of the few high schools in which the bathroms are spotless and there are very few fights. I am proud to say i attend the only non magnet non charter A schoolindade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2008

I had my child in this school last year and was amazed when he came home to say that the teachers used the F word and other words of the like, in class. Teachers only care to teach FCAT lessons, because that is what they are pushed to do. They really don't give much attention to anything else. Students were allowed to practically do what they wanted in class. If you are parents who don't really care if your child goes to a good university or care about what they become life, then keep them here, but if you do care about the future of your children and you want them to be well prepared to be admitted to any university of their choice, to be well rounded individuals, I advice you to think twice about enrolling them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

My son attends to the Cambridge program. Although he has a good grade point average it has been a very awful task to keep the good performance due to the teacher mentality and approach of just care to cover the material for the FCAT. They give a lot of homework, much more than they can explain in the classroom. They do not support the student needs and they are subjective in their grading. Teachers as well as students should be evaluate, but by the same students they teach each quarter and work with them to improve their quality as an educator specially in Mathematics and English. The program needs better educators committed to the development of the academic and human foundation of the future professionals. Lastly, the school needs to improve the track and field and baseball facilities to ensure the safety of the students that practice sports on it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

Reagan/doral high is by far the worst school that I have ever atended. The laziness of the majority of my fellow students is only to be outdone by the unbelievable display of incompitence by teachers. Don't be fooled by what the other reviews say because the truth is that the reason that they are ranked as one of the best schools in dade county is because they have only been in operation for two years and no one has taken the time to acctually se how this school opperates. I an sebastian riera and i am ashamed to say i am a student at reagan/doral high.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2008

This school is excellent. It has great facilites, the teachers are well trained and really care for your child's education. The students are motivated to learn. My son is in 10th grade and is enrolled in the Technology Academy and doing fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

This school is the best high school in Doral! You may have heard tht it is very strict but they only do that for our own good, the administrators only want us to get used to how it is going to be in the future. They help us understand that we need to do our work, get good grades, and understand our responsibilities. I love RRHS no matter what, and i appriciate every thing they do for us, the students, even though some may not like it; but they sure will appriciate it in a couple of years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2008

Reagan high is not great at all especially since the administrators only care about the fcat scores and nothing else. And because of that we have tons of fcat practices and hardly time time to do our own classwork and homework.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2008

This school is amazing. The teachers there know what they are talking about and have a high standard education. This school picks out the best of the best basically because a student who will suceed needs the best. The cambridge program is like an AP program at any schoold, the diffrence is that the Cambridge is flexible and lets you do what you want to do and learn broadly about diffrent situation not just focusing on what a board member wants you to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

574 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

498 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

490 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

486 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

370 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
38%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

540 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
54%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

444 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

528 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 89%
White 9%
Asian 2%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%58%61%
Master's degree 44%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. BENTOLILA Y JACQUES
Fax number
  • (305) 805-1901

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8600 Northwest 107th Avenue
Doral, FL 33178
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 805-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Hialeah Gardens Middle School
Hialeah Gardens, FL


Shelton Academy
Doral, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT