Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John I. Smith K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 1369 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

I think that the teachers are wonderful. They want every kid to do their best. the rigor of the home-learning is a follow-up of the days instruction. I am glad that my kid gets work that relates to grade level skills and not busy work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

Mediocre education, lousy teachers and the facilities are completely run down. The school provides a traditional education which does not prepare the kids for the real world. Unfortunately, some parents seem to be thrown-off by the school's rating because it is an A school- but if you actually research the FCAT test scores they are all under 80%, many in the the mid 60 percentile. Also, there are very little resources (music, art, technology, physical education) for the kids to actually be getting something more than just a basic education and the parents have to be on top of their kids homework for them to actually learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

Well, I guess they try their best, they have a excellent tutoring program, and a couple of people like Mrs. Noland that they really care for the kids, but I personally think that it's not enough, they shohave a more specific or detailed program for kids with learning disabilities, I hope that in the future it could be one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

The school is great and my daughter seems very happy and doing great, but some things must change. Security is very weak and school seems a but unprotected. Also, there must be a radical change in dismissal, it is total chaos!! All other schools have car loops and parents dont even have to get out if their cars. That way is safer for our kids and faster to get out if its all in order! They should assign volunteers to help with dismissal traffic. School buses tend to block the exit and nobody does anything to help or change that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

John I Smith offers amazing education in a nurturing and caring environment. Parent involvement is high in this school. They offer amazing after care programs which give the kids options for staying active after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

Mi experiencia con la escuela no pudo haber sido mejor. Viniendo de una escuela privada, estaba preocupada al ingresar en el sistema publico. Pero JIS no ha sido mas que apoyarme, aliviar todas mis preocupaciones y ayudar a mis hijos en todas las areas. Nos estamos mudando ahora y me siento muy triste de dejar esta escuela. Las maestras son muy buenas, y la subdirectora Piloto es maravillosa. Mis hijos no se quieren ir. Es una escuela que merece mucho mas reconocimiento que el que se le da.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

My experience of John I smith is excellent ,excellent teachers that that are good at teaching the students. It has a wonderful gifted program that help the kids get good grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

This school is horrible in all aspects. The teachers don't teach, do not care about the kids and are not prepared. There is no communication with the parents, very little use of technology and the after school programs and after care is a joke. The facilities are old, run down and filfthy. Quite honestly there is nothing positive or remotely positive I would say about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

This school is disgustingly dirty. The bathrooms reek of urine. The floors and walls are filthy. There's mold growing on the tiles of some classrooms. The walls desperately need to be painted. The paint is peeling off. Definitely does not look like a school you would find in the Doral area. There's NO discipline whatsoever. They mix the little ones with the 6th graders. There's no computers. Some of the "teachers" should definitely not be teachers and the administration is terrible. Absolutely would not recommend this school. It's a shame, because this USED to be an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

We moved from Hollywood, so the situation is Hollywood Central Elementary to John I Smith. This has been one of the worst experiences we ever had. I could spend hours describing the whole ordeal and the big mess this school divers its day to day activities, but instead I will focus on the wort issue "Teachers". I don't want to generalize, but sadly our third grade daughter's teacher is somehow (and this is our point of view based on our personal experiences), not qualify to teach anything. I had to spent a lot of time with my daughter everyday to teach her what she is suppose to learn in class, and even though it is impossible to get a good grade from her teacher. She is used to get good grades from her previous school and most important we used to get a good teacher/parent communication channel over there. Here, at John I Smith, impossible. Her planner is never checked, we seldom get her homework revised by her teacher (what we get a lot is medium to bad grades from here). Trying to get a conference with her teacher, a monumental task (on top of that, her teacher does not get emails). She (teacher) has no right ask for her students excellence over such a deficient teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

The teachers are Okay, the level of education is great, the school is safe (no violence), the people at the office are helpful and bilingual, and my kid is happy ... but the walls are dirty, the little playground looks dirty and old , and the public restroom signs have to be replaced (the one between the cafeteria and the media center) ... "women" and "men" are already plural and don't need a "S" at the end ... a big grammar mistake like this one, placed on the wall of an elementary school for every kid too see, doesn't look too good ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

We have had our kids in this school for 4 years now and are very happy with the level of education, teachers and students. They also have great Spanish, Art and Music Teachers. We have been 'lucky' every year to get excellent teachers. This year was the first time we were very disappointed with one of the classes/teachers. Fortunately this school has a principal and AP who will listen and try to find a solution to any problem you present and our situation has now been resolved. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

The education is "good", but no space in bilingual program, only for few, then the infrastructure is poor, dirty walls, landscaping need to be attend, class rooms walls dirty, bad lights in bathrooms, the park for the little ones is old!.. lunch for after care program is just a juice and a bag of chips?..please it has to be better...I'm sick that I pay school board taxes, and the school is not in the conditions..We need to be sure that our kids are in a good enviroment with good education...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

My kids are going to JIS for a littles while now. And I have a Excellent teacher for my kinder children, she is very caring, involved and active. Now, the other teacher for my 1 st grader , OMG, the opposite. The office staff are great, principal and assist principal are very involved. So I think it is all about the teachers commitment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

i loved this school my son is doing great and the teachers are great too. we are really pleasant to has this school in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

This is a horrible school! The teachers don't teach. I have to spend hours after school teaching my kids what they didn't learn in school so that they can get a passing grade. The teachers just love to hand out bad grades without making the effort to show the children what they expect from them. I send notes to the teacher and she never responds. I had to speak with the AP about it.. When I asked her if the teacher would email me, she said that they can't "force" teachers to use email because people falsify emails. Imagine that! Look at what they are worried about . . This school is horrid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

Amazing school with wonderful dedicated teachers and a very active, involved Principal. We are very happy so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

I am highly disappointed in this school. With the high ratings, I assumed my son would be receiving an acceptable education. My son came from a school where he was honor roll, straight A's.. never even had a C grade in his life! After attending this dreadful school, he was barely able to maintain a C in any subject... If I were the teacher, I might take that a bit personally... I frequently attended parent teacher conferences with little achieved from them; I even applied to be a volunteer.. I constantly asked about it, and was told I'd be sent an e-mail about it, which never happened. This school has no desire to team up with parents with a mutual goal of teaching our children, rather, they push parents out at all costs and the real victims are our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Pro: teachers are well prepared. Curriculum is strong, particularly bilingual program. Various after school activities to pick from. Strong emphasis on academic performance. Con: front office staff is not very friendly or knowledgeable. After school teachers are too young and I'll prepared to handle young children, often yelling at them or responding inappropriately, disciplining through intimidation. Bullying tolerated and not dealt with properly by teachers. My daughter reports something to me practically on a daily basis (name calling, food stealing, chastising). Teachers are obviously not trained well to handle bullying. Landscaping needs work. Classroom chairs are broken and need replacing. Playground is unkept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

I totally disagree with the parent who commented that Ms. Hines is not accessible! She has made her self very much available to me on the few times that I've needed her input. And it is very usual to see her at parent pickup greeting parents and getting a feel of the flow. My only real issue is the the lack of coordination with the parent pickup and some very few teachers who dismiss their students late, which really slows down the process. That and the PE coach sometimes is too busy socializing when he should be calling students' names. The teacher at the entrance should stand further down the line which seems to expedite this process. Parents should also never be permitted to park in the middle of the road in the parking lot to walk and pick up their kids. This happens on a daily basis, especially with the older High School siblings. Just selfish behavior on the parents setting horrible examples! Michelle Rousseau
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

193 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

193 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

203 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

203 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

203 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

209 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 85%
White 9%
Asian 3%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 33%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 6%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10415 Northwest 52nd Street
Doral, FL 33178
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 406-0220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Shelton Academy
Doral, FL



Shelton Academy
Doral, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT