Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Dover, FL
Students enrolled: 2,152

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Strawberry Crest High School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
The principal has been talked about here a few times as being a dictator. That sounds like kids who are used to getting away with being lazy, late and disrespectful. Mr Brown runs a tight ship however it's a safe environment and as a father of teenagers they all need discipline to help them be independent not co-dependent. Sounds like cry babies not getting their way when they misbehave to me. I say buck up and be more respectful of others. Life is not all about you and your imagined problems kid. Pay attnetion and maybe you will be able to hold a job and be a productive member of society one day.

Strawberry Crest High School 4

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Florida's education system is No. 5 in the country, according to the latest annual "Quality Counts" report, released this morning by Education Week, the newspaper of record for American education news.


Strawberry Crest High School 4

Posted May 01, 2013
- a student
The school environment was really safe! Fights were unheard of and drugs were nowhere in sight. The principal does act like a dictator but in return you never have to worry about crime. The school itself is very clean and has updated technology. Everyone has so much school spirit and unlike many other high schools- you'll be questioned if you DON'T go all out for pep rallys! The reason for the missing star is that I didn't like most of my teachers because they assume you don't try if you don't understand something and fail a test. However they do push you to do good on standardized tests and for the most part, they succeed. Class size is also too large for my taste. Overall, I think you really get the high school experience without all the illegal stuff and I reccomend it.

Strawberry Crest High School 1

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
This school is one of the better schools in this area, but that said, Florida is ranked 48 out of 50 states for schools. Staff and administration are extremely unfriendly. They forget who is paying for their salary. The IB program offers an alternative for smarter students, but I don't really see the point of it. Honors programs in other states are much better than the IB program. As a parent, I feel very unwelcome at this school and do not feel that the administration or staff want parental involvement. School also does not encourage students to be active in more than one extracurricular activity.

Strawberry Crest High School 5

Posted July 02, 2011
- a parent
Strawberry Crest has a wonderful administration and Great teachers at the school. Having 3 children that has attended high school in Hillsborough County, I would say this is the absolute best school that I've encountered. The school's administration has set a culture safety and student accountability that has student attention. Parent of students in attendance will appriciate staff's dedication.


Strawberry Crest High School 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
The IB program, teachers, and students are GREAT! Would like to see more encouragement from faculty for students to join clubs.

Strawberry Crest High School 4

Posted February 28, 2011
- a student
At Strawberry Crest, I can mainly talk about the IB program. I find it to be great, the teachers (IB) amazing. Although there are quite a few lockouts, and the bathroom policy is very harsh, I still feel the charger pride!

Strawberry Crest High School 3

Posted December 27, 2010
- a student
I enjoy Strawberry Crest High school but there are several things lacking. The AP's are very nice people, but the principle acts like the schools a jail and treats the students as such. Most of the teachers are excellent, with the exception of a few. I hear complaints a lot about lockouts and the immense pressure the principle puts on the students if they're late because they're stuck in traffic. Why can't students just call in like a work and say they will be 5 minutes late once and a while? Its ridiculous.


Strawberry Crest High School 1

Posted September 14, 2010
- a community member
The Students at this school are so disrespectful and the administration does not help with anything that you need to find. I Rate This school so poorly because the school in general is horrable.

Strawberry Crest High School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
so far, so good. Some teachers here are incredible, very dedicated to making this a wonderful learning environment and a protected, safe place to be. Some others are collecting a paycheck, jsut like everywhere else. But i am hopeful that since all the teachers are new to this building, review of the teaching staff will take place. The facility is a beautiful place, and the staff memebers are friendly and helpful. More parent involvement is needed BADLY. I think that no one knows where to start and that is not a good thing. There is a computer system in place to track student progress; that needs to be utilized better by the teaching staff-I am not sure how but parents should be able to see progress on at least a weekly basis. Maybe a data entry person could be utilized, as is done in the medical field.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Strawberry Crest High School
4691 Gallagher Road, Dover, FL  33527
(813) 707-7522
Last modified Strawberry Crest High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Strawberry Crest High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top