Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dunedin Highland Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1103 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2014

I don't think it is that bad I had an older brother go there and DHMS is better than a lot of schools and you people should be happy to be able to go to school and its probably not the school you want to go to but be happy and great ful to get an education because a lot of school's have poor poor poor education but just be happy or greatfull and stop complaining if you are.


Posted June 5, 2014

This is the worst school I have ever dealt with. All three of my children attended this school. My youngest started in the Fall as a 6th grader and in week two she was punched in the face for the sport of it. Girls especially fight each other, just to fight. The school does little to help. I have been to the middle school 7 times this year and found the administration to be lazy. The teachers aren't any better. My oldest daughter was in 8th grade this past year and was struggling in one of her Reading classes so I contacted the teacher and asked what I could do at home to help. The teacher's response was so rude and uncaring that I was actually taken aback. At the end of the year I signed my youngest daughter up for Pinellas Virtual School and said goodbye to DMHS once and for all. Horrible school!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

My son started 6th grade in the gifted program this year and the quality of the teachers and the level of communication is great. The Principal is very enthusiastic and tries to get all of the kids involved in school activities. The school spirit and kilt rewards program are great. The school is very clean and the meetings very efficient and professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I have gone to this school for 3 years i have to say the first year was bad but then the new principal came and changed everything but we sacrificed our freedom to wear whatever we wanted I'll give the school 4 because I think the dress code is to strict


Posted July 9, 2012

All these comments about how bad this school is makes me mad. this school is one of the best i have attended. Teacher are great at teaching, yeah they push you but is because they care. I t is an amazing experience to attend this school even if i attended it for a year. trust me i moved around alot. been to more than 10 schools and states, and Dunedin middle and high are both amazing schools to attend :D


Posted March 22, 2012

Recommend strongly not going to this school if you want a real education. If you do get stuck in this school keep to yourself and youll avoid the fights.


Posted March 2, 2012

I go to this school now, we have a new principal and things are really good. Ya there are fights, its middle school drama. There have been alot of procedures put in place to protect students. There is also the Gifted Program, There has never been a fight in our building. I dont know what teachers you had but mine care. I would tell anyone to go to this school, i love it.


Posted February 25, 2011

I went to this school last year and it was the worst experience of my life! I am an A student who loves learning but the teachers here intentionally try to fail you, the kids are violent and there are fights everyday. Teachers, administrators, and principals stand by while students are beaten or violated. If you are a good kid, you get in trouble a lot in front of others so you can be made an example of. PLEASE DO NOT PUT YOUR KID THROUGH THIS. These people are imbeciles!


Posted January 7, 2011

Ugh....horrible, horrible school. The teachers are rude, disorganized, have a lack of planning...if you're getting beaten up, they just walk around with their hands behind their backs, chin up high, thinking, "Kid, I'm getting payed just to stand here. Do something yourself!" Oh, the fights that happened there...every day. LITERALLY. More that 2 fights a day, almost all of them got somebody badly hurt. There was a LOT of smoking going on, too. The kids are VERY unfriendly, the halls crowded, (I gave up on having a locker...no time to get through the crowd!), there's little time to eat lunch, nevertheless find a seat.People abused me physically and verbally. I abhored getting up in the morning to go here...and all of this happened within 3 months. I'm so glad I'm out of that school.


Posted November 30, 2009

I love Dunedin Highland Middle school it really cool. I have a lot of cool teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2009

I am currently a seventh grade student at DHMS and it is the worst school I have ever attended. The students are scary, and if your child isn't a good fighter don't send them here. The teachers do little to nothing to stop abuse and bullying happening two feet away from them. The instructors move way too fast in the lessons for me and I've always been an A+ Student, and they laugh when you flop. Go to another school if you are able.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2009

I love this school, i'd never go to any other school here in pinellas county, the other schools are o,ld and smelly, although this school is 6 years old, it still looks and feels brand new! I enjoy the new Principal, and the kids and all the teachers. DHMS is where it's at :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2009

i have had so many good times at this school. the teachers, classes, and events are amazing at this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2009

I just graduated from Dunedin Middle School. Sad to say, if you want your child to succeed then put them in advanced classes, or the Fundamental program. I think that it will become the Scottie program. I wouldn't choose to go to another school if I had to choose. The teachers are awesome as long as you behave and the KILT program that we have is a good reminder of how the staff cares. We have great electives, sports teams, and the academics kick butt! Our principals have to be strict like any other school, and yes, we have created a not-so-good reputation, but since I've been there I have overcome a lot of things. It all depends on the people that your child will choose to hang out with. It isn't the school's fault...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2009

My son is finally going to be leaving DMS and it won't be soon enough. The teachers are disorganized, insincere and disinterested. I'm a teacher myself and I'm horrified at the lack of accountability from the administration. Do they have any idea what type of lesson plans some of these teachers have? Please don't send your child to Dunedin Middle if you have any other choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

i love dhms its a great school. all schools have their fights and the teachers are rally nice. my child has a lot of choices there too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

Im a student at dunedin highland middle school, im in 7th grade & people dont know how to control their behavior. The teachers teach you stuff you learned like in 4rth grade the halls are to crowded & you never have time to eat lunch you only have 5min. to eat it. Most school allow flip flops! this school absouletly doesn't. This school has to many rules & there's alot of bisbehaving kids that act like 2yrs olds.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2008

Is a good school, but they some teacher that are bad potatoes and it make the school look bad. The school has a lot of extracuriculium activities. They need to updated about bullies and take out those bad potatoes(teacher) and it will be a good school. Those teacher that bully kids by putting in the spot not good. Those matter taking care of and will be a great, awasome school that included officer too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

If you have a choice where to send your child to middle school, I cannot emphasize enough to not choose Dunedin Middle. My son has attended here for the last two years for 7th and 8th grade. Prior to Dunedin, he had always been a straight A student in advanced classes. Since coming to Dunedin, his grades dropped, teachers do NOT communicate, you only learn of issues twice a year when you receive a report card, and truly the integrity here is far inferior to that of Palm Harbor Middle or even Safety Harbor Middle. I will have to hire a tutor this summer to help bring him back to speed for high school. I'm so sorry I didn't do something sooner. I hope this review helps a few parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

My daughter is in 6th grade at Dunedin Highland Middle School. She has had and is having a great school experience. From the teachers, principals and guidance counselor- all are extremely professional and caring. My daughter is really enjoying learning there and is being challenged. The communication with the teachers and administrative staff has been swift and very effective. I highly rate this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

373 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

371 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

326 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

427 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Black 22%
Hispanic 22%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%60%61%
Master's degree 44%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. CHRISTOPHER W BATES
Fax number
  • (727) 469-4115

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

70 Patricia Avenue
Dunedin, FL 34698
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 469-4112

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Live Oak Academy
Clearwater, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT